Histories of Poverty in Africa (HIS UN3789): Full Text Databases, Dissertations, Journals, & Archives

Full Text -- Economic, Health, and Other Statistical Information

Full Text Databases -- Historical Documents

  • African Bluebooks, 1821-1953. British Online Archives. Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office. (East Ardsley, Wakefield : Microform Academic Publishers, 2013).

  • Aluka-Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa (Anti-apartheid/liberation movement documents; periodicals)
     
  • Annual Departmental Reports Relating to Nigeria and the British Cameroons, 1887-1962. British Online Archives. Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office. (East Ardsley, Wakefield : Microform Academic Publishers, 2017).

  • Apartheid South Africa: 1948-1980 (Selections from UK National Archives)
     
  • Colonial Law in Africa--African Government Gazettes, 1808-1919 -and- 1920-1945 .
    British Online Archives. Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office. (East Ardsley, Wakefield : Microform Academic Publishers, 2013).

  • Confidential Print, Africa 1834-1966 (Selected CO & FO records in UK National Archives)
     
  • Digital National Security Archive (U.S. government Southern Africa policy)
     
  • eHRAF collection of ethnography (e-books)
     
  • Gallica--Voyages en Afrique (Selections from Bibliothèque nationale de France)
     
  • Hein Online (inc. Foreign Relations of the United States)
     
  • House of Commons-Parliamentary Papers (British foreign/colonial policy)
     
  • Nineteenth Century Collections--Europe & Africa (Selections from UK National Archives)
     
  • Royal Geographical Society. Wiley Digital Archives. (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2020-)

  • University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign: "Africana: A Collection of Digitized Books" -- Selected British Colonial Annual Reports from The National Archives, UK, 1800-1939
    Browse records to access the full list and full texts in PDF or plain ASCII text formats.
    The collection includes: The Gambia ; Gold Coast (Ghana) ; Kenya ; Northern Rhodesia (Zambia) ; Nyasaland (Malawi) ; Swaziland ; Uganda


    • Dissertations

  • African Theses and Dissertations -- on the Internet (Karen Fung, Africa South of the Sahara--Selected Internet Resources, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California)
     
  • The Center for Research Libraries: Dissertations Catalog (Chicago, Illinois)
     
  • Curto, José C. and Raymond R. Gervais. Bibliography of Canadian master's theses and doctoral dissertations on Africa, 1905-1993. (Montréal: Canadian Association of African Studies, 1994)
     
  • Cyberthèses: publication et diffusion en ligne des thèses (Lyons, France ; Montréal, Canada)
     
  • Proquest Digital Dissertations. (Ann Arbor, MI: ProQuest University Microfilms International, 1980-)
     
  • ResearchKenya.org: Union List of Theses and Dissertations Held by Universities and Research Institutions in Kenya. (Ruth Thomas et al., Kenya Information Preservation Society, Nairobi, Kenya)
     
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya, Digital Repository: Theses and Dissertations
     
  • Lauer, Joseph J. et al., comps. American and Canadian doctoral dissertations and masters' theses on Africa, 1974-1987. (Atlanta: Crossroads Press and Emory University for the African Studies Association, 1989)
     
  • Lauer, Joseph J. et al., comps. "Recent Doctoral Dissertations." In ASA news: for African Studies Association members. (Atlanta: African Studies Association, 1981-2006)
     
  • Mémoire Online Memoireonline.com (France)
    Masters' thesis repository
     
  • Price, Helen C. et al., comps. Theses on Africa, 1976-1988: accepted at the universities of the United Kingdom and Ireland. Published for the Standing Conference on Library Materials on Africa. (London; New York: Hans Zell, 1993)
     
  • Sims, Michael and Alfred Kagan. American and Canadian doctoral dissertations and master's theses on Africa, 1886-1974. (Waltham, Mass.: African Studies Association, 1976)
     
  • Catalogue SUDOC: Rechercher par "Note de thèse" (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpellier, France)
     
  • South African Universities' Theses & Dissertations Catalogs and Selected Electronic Full-Text
  • Thèses.fr de 1985 au présent (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpelier, France)

    • Archives at Columbia

  • Columbia University -- Archives Portal Collections

  • Center for Human Rights Documentation & Research includes records of:
    Amnesty International USA ; Human Rights Watch ; Committee for Health in Southern Africa ; Gay McDougall Papers (Namibia & South Africa) ; Human Rights Web Archive Project
     
  • The Carnegie Collections at Columbia University
     
  • Missionary Research Library at Union Theological Seminary (Burke Library)
    • Last Updated: Aug 9, 2021 12:36 PM
    • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/HIST-UN3789-001-2018-1
    • Print Page
    Columbia University Libraries
    535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
    Phone
    212-854-7309
    Contact Us
    lio@columbia.edu
    Follow Us