Economic Indicator: United States Economic Indicators
A Subject Guide to Economic Indicator
Data
For more US economic data, please go to Economics Research Guide.
Reference Books
A Handbook of Economic Indicators by
Every day brings new reports and statistics on the economy, but most of us find it difficult to fit these indicators together to form a coherent picture. This book should help non-economists, whether journalists, managers, students, or investors, to do just that. Nine chapters explain in straightforward terms the role of households, businesses, governments, and foreign interests in the economy, and how their economic activities are measured. The author clearly describes the 'how' and 'why' of monetary and fiscal policies, and their interactions. One chapter explains how wages and employment are determined. The last two chapters look at the major Canadian and U.S. economic indicators, such as the consumer price index, housing starts, and employment data. What information do they contain? When are they released? What website can they be found at? How reliable are they? What is their significance? The author helps the reader weigh the information in the indicators in order to anticipate economic developments. For the businessperson who needs to understand the economy's impact on the 'bottom line', for the student who wants to bridge the gap between theory and the 'real world', for the individual who wants to make better investment decisions, this handbook provides clear, concise guidance.
ISBN: 9780802008787Publication Date: 1999-06-29
Economic Indicators Handbook by Get the big picture of the U.S. economy with this unique source of aggregate international statistics covering the key indicators and nearly 175 other U.S. economic facts as well as charts of long time series.
Finding and Using Economic Information : a guide to sources and interpretationDetailed information and sources for U.S. economic and financial data. Includes small sections on regional, state, and local data as well as international trade and finance.
Archive
- Blue Chip Economic IndicatorsBusiness Source Complete: 01/2006 to 08/2013
For the latest monthly forecast, please contact Watson Library. - Fed in PrintA free, comprehensive index to economic research publications of the Federal Reserve. Covers 1970s-present.
- FRASERFind older issues of the Survey of Current Business, Business Conditions Digest, Business Cycle Developments and more. Most sources back to first issue and available in PDF.
- Economic Report of the PresidentAnnual report containing texts of the President's economic report, summarizing the Administration's economic policy, and of the Council of Economic Advisers report, reviewing in detail the progress of the economy and the Administration's proposals and programs. An extensive appendix contains many long time series of statistics.
- Business Formation StatisticsBusiness Formation Statistics (BFS) are a standard data product of the U.S. Census Bureau developed in research collaboration with economists affiliated with Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, University of Maryland, and University of Notre Dame. BFS provide timely and high frequency information on new business applications and formations in the United States.
- Census: Business & EconomyThe Census Bureau produces economic data across the entire economy on a monthly, quarterly, yearly, and five-year basis.
Websites
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisProvides a better understanding of the U.S. economy by offering timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data.
- Census BureauThe major data collecting agency of the Federal Government. Using the Census Bureau alphabetical listing will often lead you to relevant data.
- Data.govData.gov is primarily a federal open government data site. However, state, local, and tribal governments can also syndicate metadata describing their open data resources on Data.gov for greater discoverability. Data.gov does not host data directly, but rather aggregates metadata about open data resources in one centralized location. Once an open data source meets the necessary format and metadata requirements, the Data.gov team can pull directly from it as a Harvest Source, synchronizing that source’s metadata on Data.gov as often as every 24 hours
- U.S. Department of CommerceThe United States Department of Commerce (DOC) gathers economic and demographic data for business and government decision-making, issues patents and trademarks, and helps to set industrial standards.
- U.S. Macroeconomic and Regional DataHosted by the State University of New York, Oswego, Department of Economics, this site contains the full text of recent Economic Reports of the President and links to various global and regional economic indicators.