Dictionary of Economics by Jae K. Shim; Joel G. SiegelAt last, a dictionary of economics you don't have to be an economist to understand! Balanced budget multiplier, gross national product deflator, Laffer curve, index of consumer confidence, Clintonomics...terms like these keep cropping up in the media with ever greater frequency. And, as often as not, when you look them up, you get explanations that only a professional economist could decipher. Now, the Dictionary of Economics makes the vocabulary of economics accessible to everyone. Written by lexicographers and financial experts Jae K. Shim and Joel G. Siegel, it supplies you with everything you need to acquire a solid working knowledge of these and more than 2,200 other economics-related terms, including: * Clear, detailed, jargon-free definitions, written in plain English * All important new terms and slang as well as traditional economics terminology * Loads of examples and applications drawn from the worlds of business, finance, and politics * Clear, easy-to-read diagrams, charts, graphs, and illustrations that make it easy to understand even the most complex economics concepts * A practical real-world focus geared to the needs of businesspeople and concerned consumers--not economists An unfamiliar term such as balanced budget multiplier, Keynesian economics, or bond ratings crops up in a political speech, news item, or business discussion. Being the sort of person who thinks it important to stay on top of the ideas and events that shape your world, you: * Look it up in one of the many "popular" economics references now out on the market, where you quickly become lost in a maze of obscure technical jargon, abstract formulations, and other undefined terms. Some time later, you wearily close the book, knowing less than you did before you opened it. * Look it up in the Dictionary of Economics by Jae K. Shim and Joel G. Siegel where you find detailed definitions, in plain English, complete with practical examples and applications, diagrams, charts, graphs, and everything else you need to acquire a working knowledge of more than 2,200 essential economics terms. Moments later, you close the book knowing for certain whether or not to be insulted the next time somebody calls you a diehard Keynesian, or how concerned you should be about a recent slump in the index of consumer confidence. Accessible, easy to use, and practical, the Dictionary of Economics is the first dictionary of its kind you don't need a degree in economics to use. Accomplished lexicographers and financial experts Jae K. Shim and Joel G. Siegel define more than 2,200 essential economics terms clearly, simply, and with a minimum of technical jargon and economic theory. This dictionary is written especially for businesspeople and general readers who want to keep abreast of the latest economic trends. It's packed with practical examples and applications drawn from the worlds of business, finance, and politics, and it provides detailed definitions of all important new terms as well as traditional economics terminology and everyone's favorite, slang. Whether you're a small business owner, a manager working in a for-profit or not-for-profit organization, or simply someone who wants to know more about the economic trends that influence nearly every aspect of modern life, the Dictionary of Economics is a valuable resource you don't want to be without. Among the more than forty books Drs. Shim and Siegel have collaborated on are the Dictionary of Personal Finance and the Dictionary of Accounting Terms.
This is a wonderfully stimulating and comprehensive collection of essays on development economics. It deserves to be on the shelf of every serious scholar of development economics and to be closely read by graduate students working in the area.
"Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video."--About screen.
Provides access to several EIU publications including Country Reports, Country Monitor, Country Commerce, Country Finance, and EIU ViewsWire. Information is presented as analysis, briefings, commentary, or forecasts.
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors.
Handbook of Econometrics by James J. Heckman (Editor); Edward E. Leamer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-12-14
As conceived by the founders of the Econometric Society, econometrics is a field that uses economic theory and statistical methods to address empirical problems in economics. It is a tool for empirical discovery and policy analysis. The chapters in this volume embody this vision and either implement it directly or provide the tools for doing so. This vision is not shared by those who view econometrics as a branch of statistics rather than as a distinct field of knowledge that designs methods of inference from data based on models of human choice behavior and social interactions. All of the essays in this volume and its companion volume 6A offer guidance to the practitioner on how to apply the methods they discuss to interpret economic data. The authors of the chapters are all leading scholars in the fields they survey and extend. Handbook of Econometrics is now available online at ScienceDirect -- full-text online from volume 1 onwards.
Trading Economics provides its users with accurate information for 196 countries including historical data and forecasts for more than 20 million economic indicators, exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices. Our data is based on official sources, not third party data providers, and our facts are regularly checked for inconsistencies. TradingEconomics.com has received more than 646 million page views from more than 200 countries.