Earth and Environmental Sciences Research Guide: Resources & Websites
Research Guide for Earth and Environmental Sciences.
Websites
- The Aurora Page Aurora Borealis - The Northern Lights are examined in this well-designed site with explanations, images, forecasting data, and good links to other sites.
- Burgess Shale Fossils The Burgess Shale is an exceptional Middle Cambrian age fossil location in British Columbia,Canada. Site includes description, photographs and references.
- The Dinosauria Well hyper-texted article based on the Hall of Dinosaurs at The Museum of Paleontology of The University of California at Berkeley. Includes well-developed areas such as a guided tour of Dilophosaurus narrated by the discoverer of Dilophosaurus, Sam Welles.
- El Niño Theme Page Most recent observational data and El Niño forecasts, as well as relevent scientific analyses and historical perspectives animations and frequently asked questions.
- MTU Volcanoes Page Michigan Technological University site includes animations from Mt Etna, pictures, reports from Smithsonian Institution's Global Volcanism Network, information on remote sensing of volcanic activity.
- Geologic time scale A geologic web lift to stratigraphy, fossils and fossil locations throughout geologic time.
- The Electronic Volcano An exceptionally well organized site for finding electronic and paper resources on active volcanoes.
- Radiocarbon-Related Information Sources Annotated guide to internet resources related to radiocarbon including list of laboratories, computer programs, indexes and web servers specializing in C-14.
- Geographic Names Information Service (USGS Searchable geographic name database that provides type of feature (town, river, park, etc.), county, longitude and latitude, USGS topographic map sheet that shows feature and a general Tiger map showing location of feature within the US.
- Global Change Master Directory (NASA) A comprehensive directory of descriptions of data sets of relevance to global change research. This database includes descriptions of data sets covering climate change, agriculture, the atmosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere & oceans, geology, geography, and human dimensions of global change.
- Encyclopedia of the Earth The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
Other Resources
- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
This link opens in a new window
- Gale virtual reference library . This link opens in a new window Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
- This link opens in a new window
- Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia "This is a revised and updated edition of one of the most authoritative and comprehensive sources on the world's animals. Similar to the first edition written by noted zoologist Bernard Grzimek and published in 1972, the second edition covers all types of animals in geographic areas around the world. It includes high-quality photographs and illustrations and a comprehensive index to all volumes."
- This link opens in a new window
- Credo This link opens in a new window "A collaborative research platform that supports research effectiveness and information literacy. It gives users a simplified and smart process for locating, analyzing, and utilizing the right information. It enhances this information with embedded technology features and automates the best practices of effective research. With its adaptable, state-of-the-art architecture, Literati is a flexible, long-term solution that can accommodate changing organizational needs and evolving technical requirements"--Products and services p.
- This link opens in a new window
- Treatise on geochemistry / editors-in-chief, Heinrich D. Holland and Karl K. Turekian. This link opens in a new window clio4863704
- This link opens in a new window
- Treatise on geophysics / editor-in-chief, Gerald Schubert. This link opens in a new window The Treatise on Geophysics on a comprehensive summary of the present state of geophysics. It deals with all major parts of Solid-Earth Geophysics, including a volume on the terrestrial planets and moons in our solar system.
- This link opens in a new window
Ask A Librarian
