University Writing GS1010: Background Sources
Establishing Context
-
CQ Press library This link opens in a new window"Reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs."--About.
-
Gale biography in context This link opens in a new windowA database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
-
Gale virtual reference library This link opens in a new windowA database of full-text specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
-
Oxford bibliographies. This link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
-
Oxford reference. This link opens in a new windowBrings together digitized entries from Oxford's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning multiple subject areas.
- Credo Reference
A collection of full-text reference books. Includes a mind map feature to visualize broad connections between ideas and scholarly conversations. - International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences / editor-in-chief, James D. Wright.
An in-depth source for current social science theory on race, gender, and culture. - Very Short Introductions
Written by subject experts, this series introduces complex theories, concepts, and thinkers from a wide array of disciplines in a concise manner. Each volume contains ample bibliographic notes to help researchers move from the broad contours of a topic to more specialized sources.