University Writing GS1010: Finding Journal and Newspaper Articles
Finding Articles - Discovering the Conversation, Identifying Major Voices
Search Tip: Click e-Link in search results if you don't see full-text.
-
EBSCOhost research databases. This link opens in a new windowSelect All to search across a wide selection of scholarly databases.
-
Google scholar This link opens in a new windowUseful for broad searches of scholarly literature. Click Preferences option to link directly to Columbia's collection of e-journals.
-
OpinionArchives This link opens in a new windowCross-searching of historical and current articles from popular journals such as The Nation, Harper's, Commentary, New Republic, National Review, New Yorker, Weekly Standard, etc.
-
JSTOR. This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles from more than 1,500 peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, sciences, and social science
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowA global news database of nearly 33,000 premium sources, including licensed publications, influential websites, blogs, images and videos.
-
ProQuest This link opens in a new windowUse the suggested topics to search by subject. Good for searching current newspaper articles/editorials.
-
Book review digest plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowBook reviews from 1983 to present.
-
Nexis Uni. This link opens in a new windowArticles from newspapers, wire services; law reviews, case law, government documents.
-
Project Muse. This link opens in a new windowArticles from peer-reviewed journals. Coverage typically starts with journal issues after 2000.
-
Web of science core collection. This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index. Click E-Link to see full text.
