Research Guides: Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics Research Guide: Journal Articles

Librarian

Library

Finding Articles

In addition to Scopus and Web of Science, you can also explore the following databases:

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Engineering Village is the database interface providing access to Compendex, the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world.
EBSCOhost Research Databases
Interdisciplinary database, useful for broad subject searches in popular media as well as academic sources
GeoRef
Indexes references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Materials Research Society (MRS) Proceedings Library Archive
Over 70,000 articles by some of the most eminent materials scientists who have been associated with the society over the years, including numerous papers by Nobel laureates such as Stoddart, Goodenough, Feringa, Geim, Whittingham, and more.
Materials Science Database (ProQuest)
Provides information on thousands of publications covering various materials sciences subfields
ProQuest Central
Interdiscipinary database which includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines such as business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science, as well as news and general interest items.
ScienceDirect
Elsevier's database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
SpringerLink
Provides access to thousands of science and technology titles published by Springer. This platform also gives access to Springer's journal titles.
Transport
A comprehensive source of international air and surface (road, rail, and marine) transportation information, 1968 to the present.
TRID
TRID is a free, integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 reference records of transportation research worldwide and access to approximately 64,000 full text resources.
More Engineering databases in CLIO

Browse Journals

You can search for research journals in CLIO by searching for a title or keyword and selecting 'E-Journal Titles' from the left sidebar. You can also select 'Subject' from the drop-down menu to the right of the search box. Here are some sample journal searches for various subjects of interest:

Can't find the article you need?

We have access to millions of articles, but sometimes the item you need is not readily available online. When that happens, you can try the following:

Search for the article title in Google Scholar (via its CLIO link)
Request a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan
Ask us about it (see below)

Contact a Science Librarian

Questions? Suggestions? Email ref-sci@columbia.edu