Research Guides: Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics Research Guide: Books & Reference Materials

Library

Librarian

Finding books in the catalog (CLIO)

CLIO (Whole Catalog)
Search the library catalog for books, e-books, journal titles, and additional databases.

This online handout has some tips about using CLIO.

You can use the filters on the left side of the screen to tailor your searches. Selecting the 'Online' option under Format will display electronic resources, including e-books and online journals; you can also search exclusively for e-books by using the left sidebar filters, or with the following link:

CLIO (E-books)

Sample CLIO search: a dditive manufacturing in construction

We offer frequent workshops on the use of CLIO. Check the Libraries' Workshops page for the next session!

E-book Platforms

Most of the individual books in these publisher sites are discoverable in CLIO but sometimes you may want to explore the source directly. You may occasionally have to filter by 'Licensed Content'/'Content I Have Access To' to exclude titles we have not purchased.

ASCE Library
Books published by the American Society of Civil Engineers
De Gruyter Ebooks
Over 2,500+ Engineering ebooks as well as thousands in other subjects, published by De Gruyter
EBSCO Ebook Collection
A platform providing access to ebooks from across all subjects
ICE Virtual Library
Large repository of full text civil engineering papers published by the Institution of Civil Engineers, based in the United Kingdom. Includes searchable archive of technical papers from 1836 to the present
ProQuest Ebook Central
A major interdisciplinary ebook platform
SAE Digital Library
Access to thousands of technical papers and e-books covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology
SIAM Publications Online
E-books and journals published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
SpringerLink
Provides access to thousands of science and technology titles published by Springer. This platform also gives access to Springer's journal titles.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks
Engineering and technology ebooks as well as a variety of other subjects published by T&F.
Wiley Online Library
Science e-books and journals from Wiley
World Scientific E-Books
Over 6,500 e-books covering Mathematics, Physics, Engineering, and many other subjects

Additional Reference Materials

AccessEngineering
AccessEngineering delivers information content from a broad range of McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more.
CRC ENGnetBASE
Provides access to the latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering. (Ignore the 'Request Trial for Collection' banner, and click the 'Content I Have Access To' checkbox on the left side)
CRC ENVIROnetBASE
Topics include the remediation of environmental issues and the science behind them. Coverage ranges from environmental protection and remediation to green and sustainable practices, biofuels, and renewable energy. (Ignore the 'Request Trial for Collection' banner, and click the 'Content I Have Access To' checkbox on the left side)
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The classic reference source, with thousands of pages about fundamental chemical and physical properties of matter.
CRC MATHnetBASE
A library of titles on pure and discrete mathematics, biology, agriculture, finance, and engineering. (Ignore the 'Request Trial for Collection' banner, and click the 'Content I Have Access To' checkbox on the left side)
CRC WATERnetBASE
This collection offers instant access to expert advice on groundwater, harbor, lake, and wastewater management. The e-references contained in this collection consider the characteristics and behavior of water from engineering, agricultural, biological, and environmental perspectives, and explore solutions from around the world. (Ignore the 'Request Trial for Collection' banner, and click the 'Content I Have Access To' checkbox on the left side)
Knovel
In addition to thousands of Engineering books and reference sources, Knovel also includes specialized research aids such as interactive equation solvers and materials property search.
Patents, Technical Reports, Engineering Standards
Our guide with links to patent databases, lists of archived technical reports, and available engineering standards

We also have hundreds of handbooks and encyclopedias -- for more, search CLIO!

Can't find the book you need?

We have millions of titles available, but sometimes the item you need is not in CLIO. When that happens, you can try requesting it through the following services:

Borrow Direct (only for physical books, no e-books)
Interlibrary Loan (physical books and scans of articles)
Ask us about it (see below)

Contact a Science Librarian

Questions? Suggestions? Email ref-sci@columbia.edu