African Diaspora & African Literatures: Home
NOTES
-
This guide contains citations for print and electronic resources available at Columbia University. Entries for print works include links to Columbia library holdings and to WorldCat records for libraries elsewhere. Most of the electronic resources listed here are ONLY accessible to patrons with a Columbia ID.
--See also: The Novel in Africa guide to resources at Columbia, as well as guides to resources on African Literature on the Internet and the African Diaspora on the Internet.
***In memoriam of novelist, comparative literature & Francophone studies professor, playwright, and essayist Maryse Condé, see Columbia's holdings of books authored by Condé ; works about Condé ; and, open access resources.
***Literary Afro Futures (2023): a blog article, bibliography, and book exhibit in Columbia's Butler Library Lounge, Fall 2023.
***In memoriam of creative writing and English professor, essayist, feminist, novelist, playright, poet, and short story writer Ama Ata Aidoo, see Columbia's holdings of works authored by Aidoo in the catalog ; about and by Aidoo (including book chapters and journal articles) ; and, open access resources.
***In memoriam of activist, editor, historian, and poet Edward Kamau Brathwaite, see Columbia's holdings of works authored by Brathwaite ; about Brathwaite ; a short lecture on film (1988) ; and open access resources.
***In memoriam of activist, editor, essayist, librettist, Nobel laureate, and novelist Toni Morrison, see Columbia's holdings of works authored by Morrison ; about Morrison; open access resources; and, a blog post about Toni Morrison and Africa.
Reference: Bibliographies, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks
- African drama and performance. Ed. by John Conteh-Morgan and Tejumola Olaniyan. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c2004.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - African American authors, 1745-1945: bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook. Ed. by Emmanuel S. Nelson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - African American autobiographers: a sourcebook. Ed. by Emmanuel S. Nelson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - African American dramatists: an A-to-Z guide. Ed. by Emmanuel S. Nelson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004.
WorldCat - African American literature : an encyclopedia for students. Ed. by Hans A. Ostrom and J. David Macey. Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood, an imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, [2020]
--See also at Columbia: E-book
Worldcat - African American literature in transition, 1800-1830. Ed. by Jasmine Nichole Cobb. Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2021.
--See also at Columbia: E-book
Worldcat - African American literature in transition, 1830-1850. Ed. by Benjamin Fagan. Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2021.
--See also at Columbia: E-book
Worldcat - African American literature in transition, 1850-1865. Ed. by Teresa Zackodnik. Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2021.
--See also at Columbia: E-book
Worldcat - African American literature in transition, 1865-1880 : black reconstructions. Ed. by Eric Gardner. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2021.
--See also at Columbia: E-book
Worldcat - African American literature in transition, 1900-1910. Ed. by Shirley Moody-Turner. Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2021.
--See also at Columbia: E-book
Worldcat - African American national biography. 12 vols. Editors in chief, Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, c2013.
Worldcat
--See also: Oxford African American studies center - African American women playwrights: a research guide. Ed. by Christy Gavin. New York: Garland Pub., 1999.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - African American women writers in the 19th century. New York: The Digital Schomburg, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, The New York Public Library, 1999.
- African writers. 2 vols. Ed. by C. Brian Cox. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, c1997.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African-American experience. 5 vols. Ed. by Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Oxford, UK; New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
See also at Columbia: Oxford African American studies center
WorldCat - Afro-American women writers, 1746-1933: an anthology and critical guide. Ed. by Ann Allen Shockley. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, c1988.
WorldCat - Black literature and literary theory. Ed. by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. ; [contributors, Sunday O. Anozie ... et al.]. New York : Routledge, 1990.
See also: 1984 ed.
WorldCat - Black women in America. 2nd ed. 3 vols. Editor in chief, Darlene Clark Hine.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
See also at Columbia: Oxford Reference
WorldCat - Black women of the Harlem Renaissance era. Ed. by Lean'tin L. Bracks and Jessie Carney Smith. Lanham : Rowan & Littlefield, [2014]
--See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - The Bloomsbury handbook to Edwidge Danticat. Ed. by Jana Evans Braziel and Nadège T. Clitandre. London ; New York : Bloomsbury Academic, 2021.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat
- The Bloomsbury handbook to Octavia E. Butler. E-book. Ed. by Gregory J. Hampton and Kendra R. Parker. London ; New York, NY : Bloomsbury Academic, 2020.
WorldCat (print)
- The Bloomsbury handbook to Toni Morrison. E-book. Ed. by Kelly L. Reames and Linda Wagner-Martin. London ; New York : Bloomsbury Academic, 2023.
WorldCat (print)
- The Cambridge companion to the African American novel. Ed. by Maryemma Graham.
Cambridge; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2004.
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Complete
WorldCat - The Cambridge companion to African American theatre. Ed. by Harvey Young. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2013.
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Complete
WorldCat - The Cambridge companion to African American women's literature. Ed. by Angelyn Mitchell and Danille K. Taylor. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2009.
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Complete
WorldCat - The Cambridge companion to contemporary African American literature. Ed. by Yogita Goyal. Cambridge ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2024.
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Online
WorldCat - The Cambridge companion to the African novel. Ed. by F. Abiola Irele. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2009.
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Complete
WorldCat - The Cambridge companion to the Harlem Renaissance. Ed. by George Hutchinson. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007.
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Complete
WorldCat - The Cambridge companion to James Baldwin. Ed. by Michele Elam. New York, NY, USA : Cambridge University Press, 2015.
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Complete
Worldcat - The Cambridge companion to Ralph Ellison. Ed. by Ross Posnock. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2005.
See also at Columbia: E-book
Worldcat - The Cambridge companion to slavery in American literature. Ed. by Ezra Tawil. New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2016.
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Companions Complete
WorldCat - The Cambridge guide to African and Caribbean theatre. Ed. by Martin Banham, Errol Hill, and George Woodyard. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994.
WorldCat - The Cambridge history of African American literature. Compiled by Maryemma Graham and Jerry W. Ward Jr. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2011.
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Histories (Online)
WorldCat - The Cambridge history of African and Caribbean literature. Ed. by F. Abiola Irele and Simon Gikandi. 2 vols. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
See also at Columbia: Volume 1 and Volume 2 , Cambridge Histories (Online)
WorldCat - The Cambridge history of South African literature. Ed. by David Attwell and Derek Attridge. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2012.
See also at Columbia: Cambridge Histories (Online)
WorldCat - Caribbean literature in transition. 3 vols. New York : Cambridge University Press, 2021.
[v. 1. 1800-1920, ed. by Evelyn O'Callaghan and Tim Watson ; v. 2. 1920-1970, ed. by Raphael Dalleo and Curdella Forbes; v. 3: 1970-2020, ed. by Ronald Cummings and Alison Donnell.]
See also at Columbia: E-book of v. 1 ; v. 2 ; and, v. 3
WorldCat - The Columbia Granger's index to African-American poetry. Ed. by Nicholas Frankovich and David Larzelere. New York: Columbia University Press, c1999.
WorldCat - A companion to African American literature. Ed. by Gene Andrew Jarrett. Chichester, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2010.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - A companion to African cinema. Ed. by Kenneth W. Harrow and Carmela Garritano. Hoboken, NJ : Wiley-Blackwell, 2018.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - A companion to African literatures. E-book. Ed. by Olakunle George. Hoboken, NJ : Wiley-Blackwell, [2020]
WorldCat (Print edition) - The companion to African literatures. Ed. by Douglas Killam, Ruth Rowe. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2000.
WorldCat - A companion to Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Ed. by Ernest N. Emenyonu. (Woodbridge, Suffolk : James Currey, an imprint of Boydell & Brewer Ltd, 2017)
WorldCat - A companion to the Harlem Renaissance. Ed. by Cherene Sherrard-Johnson. Wiley-Blackwell Online Books. Hoboken, NJ : Wiley Blackwell, 2015.
Print copy at Barnard
WorldCat - Contemporary African American fiction : new critical essays. Ed. by Dana A. Williams. Columbus : The Ohio State University Press, c2009.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - Contemporary African American novelists: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook. Ed. by Emmanuel S. Nelson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - Dickson-Carr, Darryl. The Columbia guide to contemporary African American fiction. New York: Columbia University Press, c2005.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - Dictionary of African biography. 6 vols. Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editors in chief. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.
WorldCat - Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American biography. E-book. Ed. by Franklin W. Knight and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. [Oxford] : Oxford University Press, 2016.
Worldcat - Dictionnaire de la négritude. [Compiled by] Mongo Beti and Odile Tobner. Paris : L'Harmattan, 1989.
- Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires négro-africaines de langue française des origines à 1978. Sous la direction d'Ambroise Kom. Sherbrooke, Quebec: Naaman, 1983.
WorldCat - Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française en Afrique au sud du Sahara, v. 2.
[par Ambroise Kom ; de 1979 à 1989.] San Francisco: International Scholars Publications, 1996.
WorldCat (2001 ed.) - Dunton, Chris. Nigerian theatre in English: a critical bibliography. London; New Providence, N.J.: Hans Zell Publishers, 1998.
WorldCat - Encyclopedia of African-American writing. 4th edition. E-book. Ed. by Laura and James F. Nicosia. Amenia, NY : Grey House Publishing, 2022.
WorldCat -- E-book -and- Print - Encyclopedia of African literature. Ed. by Simon Gikandi. London; New York: Routledge, 2003.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - Encyclopedia of the Black Arts Movement. Ed. by Verner D. Mitchell and Cynthia Davis. Lanham, Maryland : Rowman & Littlefield, [2019]
Print copy at Barnard
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - Ervin, Hazel Arnett. The handbook of African American literature. Proquest Literature Online. Gainesville : University Press of Florida, 2004.
WorldCat - Gikandi, Simon and Evan Mwangi. The Columbia guide to East African literature in English since 1945. New York: Columbia University Press, c2007.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - Goslinga, Marian. Caribbean literature: a bibliography. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1998.
WorldCat - Gray, John. Black theatre and performance: a pan-African bibliography. New York : Greenwood Press, 1990.
WorldCat - The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American literature. Ed. by Hans Ostrom and J. David Macey, Jr. 5 vols. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2005.
WorldCat - "The Harlem Renaissance, 1919-1937," by Paul P. Reuben, Professor of English, Emeritas, California State University, Stanislaus. Chapter 9 from "PAL: Perspectives in American Literature -- A Research and Reference Guide." [2019, revised 2023]
- The heritage series of Black poetry, 1962-1975: a research compendium. Ed. by Lauri Ramey in consultation with Paul Breman. Aldershot, England; Burlington, VT: Ashgate, c2008.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - Hill, Errol and James V. Hatch. A history of African American theatre. New York: Cambridge University Press, c2003.
WorldCat - Irele, Abiola. The negritude moment : explorations in francophone African and Caribbean literature and thought. Trenton, N.J. : Africa World Press, c2011.
WorldCat - Jackson, Richard L. Black writers and the Hispanic canon. New York : Twayne Publishers ; London : Prentice Hall International, c1997.
--See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - Jordan, Casper LeRoy. A bibliographical guide to African-American women writers. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1993.
WorldCat - Kesteloot, Lilyan. Black writers in French: a literary history of negritude. Translated by Ellen Conroy Kennedy. Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press, 1991.
WorldCat - Kesteloot, Lilyan. Histoire de la littérature négro-africaine. Paris: Karthala, c2001.
WorldCat - Limb, Peter and Jean-Marie Volet. Bibliography of African literatures. Lanham, M.D.: Scarecrow Press, c1996.
WorldCat - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English: a guide to information sources. Detroit: Gale Research Co., c1979.
WorldCat - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English, 1977-1981 supplement. New York: Africana Pub. Co., 1986.
WorldCat - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English, 1982-1986. London; New York: Hans Zell Publishers, 1989.
WorldCat - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English, 1987-1991. London; New Jersey: Hans Zell Publishers, 1995.
WorldCat - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English, 1992-1996. Oxford: Hans Zell, 2000.
WorldCat - Lindfors, Bernth. Black African literature in English, 1997-1999. Oxford: Hans Zell, 2003.
WorldCat - Moser, Gerald M. and Manuel Ferreira. A new bibliography of the lusophone literatures of Africa = nova bibliografia das literaturas africanas de expressão portuguesa. 2nd completely rev. and exp. ed. London ; New York : H. Zell Publishers, 1993.
WorldCat - Moudileno, Lydie. Littératures africaines francophones des années 1980 et 1990.
Document de travail; no 2. Dakar, Senegal : Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique (CODESRIA), c2003.
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat - Ngandu Nkashama, Pius. Portraits d'écrivains : visages d'histoire littéraire. Paris : L'Harmattan, [2016]
WorldCat - The novel in Africa and the Caribbean since 1950. Ed. by Simon Gikandi. New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2016]
See also at Columbia: The Oxford history of the novel in English ; vol. 11.
WorldCat - Owomoyela, Oyekan. The Columbia guide to West African literature in English since 1945. New York: Columbia University Press, c2008.
WorldCat - Oxford African American Studies Center. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008-
--Content includes: Africana (5 volumes); Encyclopedia of African American history; Black women in America--2nd edition; and, the African American national biography. - Oxford Bibliographies Online. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press.
--Available at Columbia- African Studies (All subjects)
- African American Studies (All subjects)
- Chinua Achebe. By Evan Mwangi.
- Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. By Lily Mabura.
- African American Writers and Communism. By Alan M. Wald.
- African Oral and Written Traditions. By Harold Scheub.
- James Baldwin. By Magdalena J. Zaborowska.
- Amiri Baraka. By GerShun Avilez.
- The Black Aesthetic. By Alessandra Raengo.
- Black Women Writers in the United States. By Selamawit D. Terrefe.
- Octavia Butler. By Esther L. Jones.
- Charles W. Chesnutt. By Charles Duncan.
- Nuruddin Farah. By F. Fiona Moolla.
- Francophone Writing. By Frieda Ekotto.
- Henry Louis Gates, Jr. By Kinohi Nishikawa.
- Pauline Hopkins. By Kerri Greenidge.
- James Weldon Johnson. By Noelle Morrissette.
- Literature and the Study of Africa. By Evan Mwangi.
- Literature of the British Caribbean. By Tim Watson.
- Modern African Literature in European Languages. By Evan Mwangi.
- Toni Morrison. By Justine Tally.
- The New Negro. By Cherene Sherrard-Johnson.
- Ngugi wa Thiong'o. By Evan Mwangi.
- Ousmane Sembene. By Amadou Fofana.
- Wole Soyinka. By Alain Ricard.
- Speculative Fiction [African American Studies]. By Esther L. Jones.
- Theater and Performance in the 19th Century [African American Studies]. By Douglas Jones and Amadi Ozier.
- Tricksters in African, African American, and Caribbean Folktales and Cultures. By Babacar M'Baye.
- Urban Fiction [African American Studies]. By Heike Raphael-Hernandez.
- Phyllis Wheatley. By Vincent Caretta.
- Colson Whitehead. By Derek C. Maus.
- Richard Wright. By Yoshinobu Hakutani.
See also at Columbia: E-book version of A concise Oxford companion to African American literature (2001)
WorldCat
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat
WorldCat
WorldCat
--See also at Columbia: E-book of Vol. 1 -and- Vol. 2
WorldCat
WorldCat
WorldCat
WorldCat
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat
WorldCat
See also at Columbia: E-book
WorldCat
--See also: Proquest e-book
WorldCat
WorldCat
See also at Columbia: Dictionary of literary biography
WorldCat
See also at Columbia: Dictionary of literary biography
WorldCat
See also at Columbia: Dictionary of literary biography
WorldCat
WorldCat
WorldCat
WorldCat
--See also at Columbia: 2017 edition
WorldCat
Worldcat
Indexes
--Includes essays and historic journals & newspapers.
--See also: Book review digest retro: 1905-1982
--Index to French language journals and e-books, with full text links.
Interdisciplinary index, with emphasis on Western European publications.
Interdisciplinary index, with links to full text; "designed for teaching and researching the history and lives of Black history and culture in the U.S."
Citation Management
--See also: 6th ed.
Worldcat record
(Columbia University Libraries--African Studies)
New York: Columbia University Press.
Worldcat record (1998 ed.)
African Studies Librarian
Yuusuf Caruso
Contact:
Columbia University
309 Lehman Library
Global Studies
420 West 118th Street
New York, NY 10027 USA
212-854-8045
caruso@columbia.edu
Website
309 Lehman Library
Global Studies
420 West 118th Street
New York, NY 10027 USA
212-854-8045
caruso@columbia.edu