Urban Africa: Home

NOTE

General Reference, Bibliographies, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, & Textbooks

  • Africa and urban anthropology : theoretical and methodological contributions from contemporary fieldwork. E-book. Edited by Deborah Pellow and Suzanne Scheld. (New York : Routledge, 2022)
  • Africa contemporary record. Annual. (London: Africana Publishing, 1968/69-2002)
  • Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London: Europa, 1971-)
  • An African biographical dictionary. 2nd ed. Compiled by Norbert C. Brockman. (New York: Grey House Pub., c2006)
    --See also: E-book
  • African disability rights yearbook, 2013--. Online. ([Pretoria, South Africa] : Pretoria University Law Press (PULP), 2013-)
  • African folklore: an encyclopedia. Edited by Philip M. Peek and Kwesi Yankah. (New York : Routledge, 2004)
  • Area Handbook series [historical]. Prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the US Dept. of the Army. (Washington)
    • For the handbook of a country, search in CLIO: use country name and "area handbook".
    • For available online handbooks on Africa, see section on US Dept. of the Army in "US Organizations on Africa," compiled by Columbia University Libraries.
  • Asante, Lewis Abedi. Annotated bibliography on urban politics and political economy in African cities. (Manchester, UK : University of Manchester, African Cities Research Consortium, 2021)
  • Decker, Corrie and Elisabeth McMahon. The idea of development in Africa : a history. (Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, [2021])
    --See also: E-book
  • Dictionary of African biography. 6 vols. Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editors in chief. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012)
  • Dictionary of African Christian biography. (Online) (Overseas Ministries Study Center, New Haven, Connecticut)
  • Encyclopedia of African history. 3 v. Ed. by Kevin Shillington. (New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005)
  • Encyclopedia of South Africa. Edited by Krista Johnson and Sean Jacobs. (Boulder, Colo. : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2011)
    --See also: E-book
  • Europa world plus. (New York, NY : Routledge ; Taylor & Francis Group, 2007-)
    Select "Africa South of the Sahara" or "Middle East and North Africa"
  • Growth and poverty in sub-Saharan Africa. Edited by Channing Arndt, Andy McKay, and Finn Tarp. (Oxford : Oxford University Press, c2016) Textbook.
    --See also: E-book
  • The handbook of social work and social development in Africa. Edited by Mel Gray. (London : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2017)
    --See also: E-book
  • Historical Dictionary series. Scarecrow Press (Metuchen, NJ ; Lanham, MD)
    Most recent editions are in Lehman Library Reference, near "Global Studies". For a dictionary of one country, search in CLIO, with "All fields" in "Advanced Search", and use [current name of country] and "historical dictionary".
  • Irele, Modupeola. The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): a bibliography and sourcebook. (Lagos: Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, 1990)
  • Jerven, Morten. Africa : why economists get it wrong. E-book. (London, [England] : Zed Books in association with International African Institute Royal African Society World Peace Foundation, 2015)
  • The Middle East and North Africa. Annual. (London: Europa, 1995-)
  • Langdon, Steven, Archibald R.M. Ritter and Yiagadeesen Samy. African economic development. (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018) Textbook.
    --See also: E-book
  • New encyclopedia of Africa, 5 v. Editor in chief, John Middleton; editor, Joseph C. Miller. (Detroit: Thomson/Gale, c2008)
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)
  • The Oxford companion to the economics of Africa. E-book. Edited by Ernest Aryeetey . . . [et al.]. (Oxford ; New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2012)
  • The Oxford handbook of Africa and economics. 2 vols. Edited by Célestin Monga and Justin Yifu Lin. (Oxford, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2015)
  • The Oxford handbook of the South African economy. E-book. Edited by Arkebe Oqubay, Fiona Tregenna, and Imraan Valodia. (Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2021)
  • The Oxford handbook of structural transformation. E-book. Edited by Célestin Monga and Justin Yifu Lin. (New York: Oxford University Press, 2019)
  • Oxford research encyclopedias--African history (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)
  • The political economy of economic growth in Africa, 1960-2000. 2 vols. E-book. Edited by Benno J. Ndulu ... [et al.]. (Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2008) Textbook.
    --See also: Offsite print copy, with CD
  • Poverty reduction in the course of African development. Edited by Machiko Nissanke and Muna Ndulo. (Oxford ; New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2017) Conference proceedings.
    --See also: E-book
  • The quality of growth in Africa. Edited by Ravi Kanbur, Akbar Noman, and Joseph E. Stiglitz. (New York : Columbia University Press, [2019]) Textbook.
    --See also: E-book
  • The Routledge companion to business in Africa. Edited by Sonny Nwankwo and Kevin Ibeh. (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2015)
    --See also: E-book
  • Routledge handbook of urban planning in Africa. E-book. Edited by Carlos Nunes Silva. (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2020)
  • Urbanisation and conflicts in North and West Africa. (Paris: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development ; Sahel and West Africa Club, 2023)
  • Urbanization in Africa : a handbook. Edited by James D. Tarver. (Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994)
  • West Africa over 75 years: selections from the raw material of history. Kole Omotoso et al., researchers; Kaye Whiteman, editor. (London: West Africa, 1993)
  • World Bibliographical Series. Published by Clio Press in Oxford, England and Santa Barbara, CA: 1979-1999.
    For a country bibliography, search in CLIO and use [name of country] and "world bibliographical".

    • Library Catalogs

  • CLIO
    (All CU libraries EXCEPT Law Library & Teachers College)

  • Pegasus (Law Library)
    --For access, see Law Library guide
  • Educat (Teachers College)

  • Borrow Direct (Fast interlibrary book loan)
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • WorldCat

    • Indexes: Articles, Book Chapters, Books

  • Africa-Wide Information  via EBSCO (Baltimore, Maryland: National Information Services Corporation, 1997--
    --Combine with: AnthropologyPlus ;
    EconLit ; Historical Abstracts ; Social Sciences Full Text

    •  

  • PAIS Index. Monthly. (New York: Public Access Information Service, 1972-- ; via ProQuest)

    •  

  • PubMed (Bethesda, MD: National Center for Biotechnology Information)

    •  

  • World Health Organization Library: African Index Medicus
    See also:
    • African index medicus. Quarterly. (Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo: Library & Documentation Centre, WHO Regional Office for Africa, 1993-95) -- Check HEALTH SCIENCES Reference.
  • WHOLIS -- World Health Organization Library Database (Geneva, Switzerland)

    • New Arrivals in the Catalog

    Loading ...

    Book Reviews

  • Africa review of books. -- Dakar, Senegal: CODESRIA, 2004-

  • Book review digest plus. (H.W. Wilson Co., USA; via FirstSearch).

  • International Bibliography of Book Reviews. Monthly. (Published by K.G. Saur Verlag, Thomson Corporation, 1985 -).

  • JSTOR
    --Use "Advanced Search" and select "Reviews" and "African Studies"

    • Citation Management

  • The Chicago manual of style. 17th ed. E-book. (Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, [2017])

  • Columbia University: Citation Management Software (EndNote, Mendeley & Zotero)

  • The Columbia Guide to Online Style. (2006) E-book.

  • Guide to Citing Government Documents

  • Hacker, Diana. The Bedford handbook.
    5th ed. Boston : Bedford Books, c1998.
    --See also: 6th ed.

    • Atlases & Maps

  • Africa: atlas of our changing environment. (Nairobi, Kenya: UNEP, 2008).

  • Africapolis: visualise urbanisation in Africa (2019) (Paris, France)
    Produced by the OECD Sahel and West Africa Club.
    --See also: Africa's urbanisation dynamics 2020: Africapolis, mapping a new urban geography

  • Agence française de développement. Atlas of Africa: new perspectives on the continent. E-book. [S.l.] : Routledge, 2021.

  • Atlas des villes. Coordination Dr Attahi Koffi, Rakotomalala Pascal, Pr Atta Koffi, Toure Aboubacar Sidiki. Côte d'Ivoire : Bureau national d'etudes techniques et de developpement, [2008]

  • Atlas du continent africain. (Paris: Jeune Afrique & Les Editions du Jaguar, 1993).

  • Atlas of Africa: energy resources. (Nairobi, Kenya: UNEP, 2017)
    --See also: E-book

  • Christopher, A.J.. The atlas of apartheid. (New York: Routledge, 1994).

  • Christopher, A.J. The atlas of changing South Africa. 2nd ed. (London ; New York : Routledge, c2001) Rev. ed. of "The atlas of apartheid".
    --See also: E-book

  • Columbia University Libraries: Geospatial Data Catalog (Research Data Services)

  • Columbia University. Lehman Social Sciences Library Map Room, 2nd Floor.

  • Freeman-Grenville, G.S.P. The new atlas of African history. (New York: Simon & Schuster, 1991).

  • Giraut, Frédéric and Céline Vacchiani-Marcuzzo. Territories and urbanisation in South Africa : atlas and geo-historical information system. E-book. (Montpellier, France : IRD Éditions, 2009)

  • Griffiths, I.L. An atlas of African affairs. 2nd ed. (New York: Routledge, 1994)
    See also: Lehman Reference copy.

  • Historical atlas of Africa. Ed. by J.F. Ade Ajayi et al. (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1985).
    See also: Butler Reference copy

  • Humanitarian OpenStreet Map Team--Our Work (Washington, DC)
    Select locations in Africa: "When major disaster strikes anywhere in the world, HOT rallies a huge network of volunteers to create, online, the maps that enable responders to reach those in need.

  • Kwamena-Poh, Michael et al. African history in maps. (London; New York: Longman, 1982).

  • Maps and Power in Modern African History. (Columbia University Libraries)

  • Maps of Africa on the Internet. (Columbia University Libraries)

  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Regional Atlas on West Africa. E-book. Paris : OECD Publishing, 2009.

  • StoryMaps: Urban Africa (March 2022) (ESRI, Redlands, California) Maps, numerical data, & summary.

    • African Studies Librarian

    Profile Photo
    Yuusuf Caruso
    Contact:
    Columbia University
    309 Lehman Library
    Global Studies
    420 West 118th Street
    New York, NY 10027 USA
    212-854-8045
    caruso@columbia.edu
    Website
    • Last Updated: Nov 27, 2024 8:41 AM
    • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/urban-africa
    • Print Page
    Columbia University Libraries
    535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
    Phone
    212-854-7309
    Contact Us
    lio@columbia.edu
    Follow Us