Behaving & Misbehaving: The Body in Early Modern Europe: Home

These images (and many others), both drawn from 16th-century treatises on anatomy, can be found in an extremely useful primary source database to which Columbia subscribes, Early European Books Online.

Important Tools/Services

• CLIO is the libraries' primary search interface. It provides access to all of Columbia's books, databases, journals, and articles. Don't use Google!
• Scan & Deliver enables students, faculty and staff to request electronic delivery of articles and book chapters from the general print collections of most Columbia Libraries. 1 chapter per book and 1 journal article per issue (due to copyright restrictions).
• Borrow Direct lets you borrow books directly from libraries at Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Duke, Harvard, Johns Hopkins, MIT, Penn, Princeton, UChicago, and Yale if the book you need is unavailable or is not owned by Columbia University. Also works for DVDs now and the loan period has been extended to 16 weeks!
• Interlibrary Loan is the service to use for items that are not available through Borrow Direct, such as journal articles, microfilm, dissertations, etc.
• Access to Other Libraries: Information on reciprocal access and on-site borrowing privileges at a number of other universities, including NYU.
• WorldCat: If you can't find the book/resource you're looking for in CLIO, try WorldCat. It indexes the catalogs from research libraries around the world and will tell you where to find even very obscure materials.
• Subject Specialists: Columbia's librarians specialize in every discipline and field of research at the university. If your work is interdisciplinary let me know and I can connect you to one or more subject specialists.

In Butler Library, materials in the general stacks with call #s

• QD23.3-27 (alchemy)
• QM33-35  (anatomy)
• TX642-840 (cooking/recipe books)
• RS153-441 (pharmacy and materia medica)

will be useful. Dewey Call #s 609, 610, 615 are also worth a look. See the Butler Stacks Map for locations.

Mathematics Library (303 Mathematics Hall)- includes fascinating materials on the history of science and technology; older books have Dewey Decimal call #s (those beginning with call #s 508, 509, 520, 521, 540, and 542 focus on the history of natural sciences, chemistry, and scientific techniques).

Geology Library (601 Schermerhorn Hall)- features collections focusing on the history of minerals, crystals, earth science, and the history of technology. Again, older materials have Dewey Decimal call #s and those in the 548, 549, 551, 554 ranges will be of interest.

Health Sciences Library (701 W. 168th St.)- has a strong reference collection on the history of medicine, diseases, and pharmacology as well as fascinating Special Collections/archival materials. See CLIO for more details.