Behaving & Misbehaving: The Body in Early Modern Europe: Primary Sources
Relevant Scholarly Journals
Bulletin of the history of medicine- Columbia has electronic access from 1939-present.
Centaurus- Columbia has electronic access from 1950-present.
Early science and medicine- Columbia has electronic access from 1996-present.
Health and history- Columbia has electronic access from 1998-present.
Journal of the history of medicine and allied sciences- Columbia has electronic access from 1946-present.
Medical history- Columbia has electronic access from 1957-present.
Medical history. Supplement- Columbia has electronic access from 1981-2011 (when publication ceased).
Medizinhistorisches journal- Columbia has electronic access from 1966-2009.
Social history of medicine- Columbia has electronic access from 1988-present.
Studies in history and philosophy of science- Columbia has electronic access from 1998-present.
Free Resources Available Online
Free Resources Available Online:
Columbia Databases
"Foetus in Womb," The accomplisht midwife (1673), Francois Mauriceau
- Defining Gender, 1450-1910: Drawn from UK Archives, this collection includes ephemera, pamphlets, college records and exam papers, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy, government papers from the Home Office and Metropolitan police, illustrated writings on anatomy, midwifery, art and fashion, manuscript journals, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, receipt books, literary manuscripts, travel writing, and conduct and advice literature. This database is divided into 5 sections: Conduct and politeness; Domesticity and the family; Consumption and leisure; Education and sensibility; The body.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO): Similar to Early European Books Online but focusing exclusively on English books printed in the 15th-17th centuries.
- Early European Books Online: Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books (BnF in France, Biblioteca nazionale in Italy, the Wellcome Library in London). All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield. *Includes lots of materials on anatomy/history of science.
- Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945: The collection is especially rich in women's journals, scholarly medical and sociological studies, and housekeeping and advice manuals. *Limit search to years 1543-1700 for most relevant results...
- Witchcraft in Europe and America: Included are many rare and fragile manuscripts containing eyewitness accounts and court records of the trials of witches, including harrowing original manuscript depositions taken from the victims in the torture chamber. These documents, in both original manuscripts and in print, reveal the harsh outcome of the more remote doctrinal disputes. Spanning the 15th to 20th centuries (roughly 1500-1930), it also enables researchers to trace the history and culture of European civilization during the Renaissance and Enlightenment. The majority of texts are in Latin, English and German, although there are also selected items in French, Italian, Portuguese, Danish, Dutch and Spanish.