Pulitzer Collections: Compilations of Winners & Books About the Prizes
Notable Books on the Prizes
Who's Who of Pulitzer Prize Winners by Call Number: AS911.P8 B74 1999 (Journalism, Lehman Library)This book profiles each of the more than 1,100 individuals who received the Pulitzer Prize from 1917 through 1998. Entries include the winner's name, year and category for the Pulitzer Prize(s) won, birthdate, family, education, career summary, other awards won, list of selected works, and where to locate additional information.
Complete Historical Handbook of the Pulitzer Prize System, 1917-2000 by Call Number: AS911.P8 F57 2003 (Journalism Library; also eBook)This informative series gives access to Pulitzer Prize-winning material and a comprehensive, systematic listing of materials and select reprints. Each volume is devoted to one prize category. Chronological coverage includes analyses, provided by the prize administration, of the factors behind awarding each prize.
Pulitzer Prize Editorials: America's best writing, 1917-2003 by Call Number: PN4726 .P8 2003 (Journalism)87 years of prize-winning pieces are collected in the updated third edition of Pulitzer Prize Editorials: America's Best Writing, 1917-2003. Each entry contains the entire, unabridged text of the prize-winning editorial from that year, and is preceded by a succinct introduction from the editors.
Pulitzer's Gold: behind the prize for public service journalism by Call Number: PN4798 .H37 2007 (Journalism, Butler Library)Among the Pulitzer Prizes, none is more revered than the Joseph Pulitzer Gold Medal. Pulitzer's Gold is the first book to trace the ninety-year history of the coveted Pulitzer Prize for Public Service, awarded annually to a newspaper rather than to individuals. Exploring this service-journalism legacy, Roy Harris recalls dozens of "stories behind the stories," often allowing the journalists involved to share their own accounts.
Foreign Correspondents Report from Africa by Call Number: Lehman PN4724 .F67 2014gPulitzer Prize-winning reporting in African countries by American journalists has been a latecomer within the award category for international coverage. It took close to two decades after the establishment of the awards that reporting about the Italian-Ethiopian crisis was declared prize-worthy by the Pulitzer Prize jurors. During World War II, prizes were given for the coverage of the North African battlefields. Since the 1960s, inner-African conflicts, like unrest in the Congo, impressed the jurors, as well as writings on the Apartheid system in South Africa. This book contains a selection of the Pulitzer Prize-winning articles and photographs by news journalists in Africa. (Series: Pulitzer Prize Panorama - Vol. 8)
Sports Journalism at Its Best by Call Number: PN4784.S6 F57 1995 (Offsite)A collection of Pulitzer Prize-winning articles, cartoons, and photographs that relate to sports journalism. Fischer introduces sports journalism in the history of the Pulitzer Prize and then examines fact-oriented sports reporting such as spot news, sports reporting, and sports photography. .
Compilations of Winners
Note: Titles listed below represent a partial listing of publications related to the Pulitzer Prizes at Columbia University Libraries. For a full listing of publications, connect to CLIO, the library catalog, and do a subject search on Pulitzer Prizes.
Mirror on the stage : the Pulitzer plays as an approach to American drama Thomas P. Adler.
West Lafayette, Ind. : Purdue University Press, 1987.
BUTLER STACKS PS350 .A35 1987
Moments : the Pulitzer Prize photographs Sheryle and John Leekley.
New York : Crown Publishers, c1978.
LEHMAN TR820 .L43 1978
RARE BOOK (Non-Circulating) B779 L517
The Pulitzer Diaries: inside America's greatest prize by Call Number: Journalism/Butler AS911.P8 H625 1997Hohenberg's record of his time as administrator of the Pulitzer Prize presents information on how the prizes are awarded and provides details of the journalistic events awarded Pulitzer Prizes in the 1960s and 1970s. It includes Watergate and the Pentagon Papers during the Vietnam War.
Pulitzer Prize editorials : America's best editorial writing, 1917-1993 Compiled by Wm. David Sloan, Laird B. Anderson.
Ames : Iowa State University Press, 1994.
JOURNALISM PN4726 .P8 1994
Pulitzer Prize feature stories edited by David Garlock.
Ames : Iowa State University Press, 1998.
BUTLER STACKS PN4726 .P815 1998
The Pulitzer Prize novels : a critical backward look W. J. Stuckey.
Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, c1981.
BUTLER STACKS, MILSTEIN PS379 .S78 1981
Pulitzer prize poems compiled by Marjorie Barrows.
New York, Random house, c1941
OFFSITE Order at circ desk or online 810.11 B27
The Pulitzer Prize: the inside story of America's most prestigious award. Douglas Bates.
New York, NY: Carol Publishing Group, 1991.
BUTLER STACKS AS911 .B38 1991
JOURNALISM AS911 .B38 1991
Pulitzer's Gold: behind the prize for public service journalism. Roy Harris.
Columbia, MO: University of Missouri Press, 2007.
EBOOK
JOURNALISM PN4798 .H37 2007
The Pulitzer Prizes; a history of the awards in books, drama, music, and journalism, based on the private files over six decades. John Hohenberg.
New York: Columbia University Press, 1974
BARNARD AS911.P8 H83
LEHMAN AS911.P8 H83
JOURNALISM AS911 .P8 H83
[Pulitzer Prize story. Japanese] Pyurittsuasho monogatari : janalisuto no eiko to ashiato Jon Hohenbagu cho ; kanshusha Nakae Toshidata ; yakusha Amano Keiji.
Tokyo : Sangyo Noritsu Tanki Daigaku Shuppanbu, Showa 45, 1970
EAST ASIAN AS911.P8 H63 1970
The Pulitzer prize story II : award-winning news stories, columns, editorials, cartoons, and news pictures, 1959-1980 John Hohenberg.
New York: Columbia University Press, 1980.
LEHMAN PS647.N4 P8
JOURNALISM PS647.N4 P8
Voices of change : Southern Pulitzer winners compiled by Maurine Hoffman Beasley, Richard R. Harlow.
Washington: University Press of America, c1979.
BUTLER STACKS, LEHMAN PN4871 .V64
Winning Pulitzers : the stories behind some of the best news coverage of our time Karen Rothmyer.
New York : Columbia University Press, 1991.
JOURNALISM PN4871 .W7 1991
Written into history : Pulitzer Prize reporting of the twentieth century from The New York Times Anthony Lewis, editor.
New York : Henry Holt and Co, 2001.
JOURNALISM PN4726 .W75 2001
New Books at CUL on the Pulitzer Prizes
This is an auto-updated list of the most recent books on the Pulitzer Prizes that are held at the Columbia University Libraries.
Pulitzer Prize Archive Series
Book series on the Pulitzer Prizes:discussion, decisions, and documents. Edited with general and special introductions by Heinz-Dietrich Fischer, in cooperation with Erika J. Fischer, published by K. G. Saur.