Research Guides: Peacebuilding in Africa: A Guide for Research Scholars in NYC: Home

Introduction

This guide published by Columbia University Libraries is designed to support research by scholars in New York City based at The City University of New York, Columbia University, The New York Public Library, or New York University who are interested in "peacebuilding in Africa" Included here are links to records of publications in WorldCat (NYPL or CUNY), a few Columbia-only resources, a list of books to be searched in the catalogs by the user, and links to a wide range of open access resources featured in the "African Studies WWW-Virtual Library." also hosted by Columbia University Libraries.

For more information about Columbia University's research collections on Africa, see: African Studies

For more on how NYU and Columbia doctoral students, full-time faculty and librarians, and approved NYPL cardholders with demonstrated research needs can borrow materials from NYU, Columbia, or NYPL, see: MaRLI -- Manhattan Research Library Initiative at Columbia ; CUNY and NYPL ; and, NYU.

See also: NYPL's "Shared Collections": books and other materials available for borrowing held in storage by NYPL, Columbia University, and Princeton University.

General Reference

Africa confidential who's who of Southern Africa. Ed. by Patrick Smith. (Oxford; Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1998)

Africa contemporary record. Annual. (London: Africana Publishing, 1968-2002)

Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London : Europa, 1971-) Current print issue at NYPL Schomburg Center
--See also: WorldCat and Columbia

Africa yearbook online. (Leiden: Brill, 2004-) Available at NYPL
--Columbia only: 2004-2017 online

L'Afrique des Grands Lacs. Annual. (Paris: L'Harmattan, 1997-2014.)

Area Handbook series--Archived, 1987-1996. Prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the US Dept. of the Army. (Washington)

For the handbook of a country, search in WorldCat: use [name of country]--as a Subject and "area handbook"--in "Keyword"
Africa -- section on US Dept. of the Army
See more recent information on some countries from the Library of Congress: Country Profiles, 2004 to 2008

Delancey, Mark W. [et al.]. African international relations: an annotated bibliography. 2nd ed. (Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1997)

Europa world plus. (New York, NY : Routledge ; Taylor & Francis Group, 2007-) Select "Africa South of the Sahara" or "Middle East and North Africa"
--Columbia
--CUNY Libraries: Europa world year book online
--NYPL: Europa world year book in print only

Fredland, Richard. A guide to African international organizations. (London : Hans Zell, 1990)

GlobaLex--Foreign Law Research: Country Index, 2005-2019 (New York University Law School, New York)

Handbook of Africa's international relations Editor, Tim Murithi. (Oxfordshire, England; New York: Routledge, c2014). Available at NYPL Schomburg Center
--Columbia: E-book

Historical Dictionary series. Scarecrow Press or Rowman & Littlefield. (Lanham, MD)
For a dictionary of one country, search in WorldCat: use [name of country] and "historical dictionary"--as "Keywords".

Arnold, Guy. Historical dictionary of civil wars in Africa. 2nd ed. (2008)
--Columbia: E-book
Mays, Terry M. Historical dictionary of international organizations in Africa and the Middle East. (2015)
--Columbia: E-book
Mays, Terry M. Historical dictionary of multinational peacekeeping. (2011)
--Columbia: E-book
Waters, Robert Anthony. Historical dictionary of United States-Africa relations. (2009)
Doyle, Thomas E., Robert F. Gorman, Edward S. Mihalkanin. Historical dictionary of human rights and humanitarian organizations. 3rd ed. (2017)
--Columbia: E-book
Bradshaw, Richard and Juan Fandos-Rius. Historical dictionary of the Central African Republic. 4th ed. (2016)
--Columbia: E-book
Camara, Mohamed Saliou, Thomas E. O'Toole, and Janice E. Baker. Historical dictionary of Guinea. 5th ed. (2014)
--Columbia: E-book
Connell, Dan. Historical dictionary of Eritrea. 3rd ed. (2019)
--Columbia: E-book (2nd ed.)
Daddieh, Cyrl K.. Historical dictionary of Côte d'Ivoire (the Ivory Coast). 4th ed. (2016)
--Columbia: E-book
Dunn, D. Elwood, Amos J. Beyan, Carl Patrick Burrowes. Historical dictionary of Liberia. (2001)
--Columbia: E-book
Eggers, Ellen K. Historical dictionary of Burundi. 3rd ed. (2006)
--Columbia: E-book
Falola, Toyin, Ann Genova, and Matthew M. Heaton. Historical dictionary of Nigeria. 2nd ed. (2018)
--Columbia: E-book
Fyle, C. Magbaily. Historical dictionary of Sierra Leone. (2006)
--Columbia: E-book
Goldschmidt, Arthur. Historical dictionary of Egypt. 4th ed. (2013)
--Columbia: E-book
Imperato, Pascal James and Gavin H. Imperato. Historical dictionary of Mali. 4th ed. (2008)
--Columbia: E-book
James, W. Martin. Historical dictionary of Angola. 3rd ed. (2018)
--Columbia: E-book
Kisangani, Emizet F. Historical dictionary of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. 4th ed. (2016)
--Columbia: E-book
Kramer, Robert S., Richard Andrew Lobban, and Carolyn Fluehr-Lobban. Historical dictionary of the Sudan. 4th ed. (2013)
--Columbia: E-book
Mukhtar, Mohamed Haji. Historical dictionary of Somalia. (2003)
--Columbia: E-book
Shinn, David and Thomas P. Ofcansky. Historical dictionary of Ethiopia. 2nd ed. (c2013)
--Columbia: E-book
St. John, Ronald Bruce. Historical dictionary of Libya. 5th ed. (2014)
--Columbia: E-book
Tonchi, Victor, William A. Lindeke, and John J. Grotpeter. Historical dictionary of Namibia. 2nd ed. (2012)
--Columbia: E-book
Twagilimana, Aimable. Historical dictionary of Rwanda. 2nd ed. (2016)
--Columbia: E-book

The military balance. Annual. (London: The International Institute for Strategic Studies, 1963-)
--Columbia only: 1997 to present online

Okupa, Effa. International bibliography of African customary law . (Hamburg: LIT Verlag, 1998)

Omitoogun, Wuyi. Military expenditure data in Africa: a survey of Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria and Uganda. SIPRI research report; no. 17. (Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003)

The Palgrave handbook of African politics, governance and development. Edited by Samuel Ojo Oloruntoba and Toyin Falola, (New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, c2018)
--Columbia only: E-book

The Palgrave handbook on peacebuilding in Africa. Edited by Tony Karbo, Kudrat Virk. (Cham, Switzerland : Palgrave Macmillan, Centre for Conflict Resolution, [2018])
--Columbia only: E-Book

Routledge handbook of African politics. Edited by Nic Cheeseman, David M. Anderson, and Andrea Scheibler. (New York, NY : Routledge, 2013)
--Columbia only: E-Book

Routledge handbook of African security. Edited by James J. Hentz. (Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge, 2014)
--Columbia: E-book

Schoeman, Elna. South Africa's foreign relations in transition, 1985-1991: a select and annotated bibliography. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1992)

Searching for peace in Africa : an overview of conflict prevention and management activities. Ed. by Monique Mekenkamp, Paul van Tongeren, and Hans van de Veen. (Utrecht : European Platform for Conflict Prevention and Transformation, 1999)

Siler, Michael J. Strategic security issues in Sub-Saharan Africa: a comprehensive annotated bibliography. (Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2004)

Souto, Améia Neves de and António Sopa. Samora Machel: bibliográfia (1970-1986). (Maputo : Centro de Estudos Africanos, Universidade Eduardo Mondlane, 1996)

Strachan, Beth. Angola, the struggle for power : the political, social and economic context, 1980-1993 : a select and annotated bibliography.(Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1994)

Strachan, Beth. Mozambique, the quest for peace : the political, social and economic context, 1980-1994 : a select and annotated bibliography. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1996)

Strategic survey. (London: The Institute for Strategic Studies, 1971-) Print available at NYPL
--Columbia only: 1997 to present online

Treaties and alliances of the world. 8th ed. Ed. by Peter Calvert et al. (Farmington Hills, Mich.: Gale Group, 2007)

Tvedt, Terje. The Nile : an annotated bibliography. (London ; New York : I.B. Tauris, 2004)

Tvedt, Terje [et al.] Southern Sudan : an annotated bibliography. 2nd ed. (London ; New York : I.B. Tauris, 2004)

United States. Central Intelligence Agency. Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of African Governments. (Washington, DC : The Agency, 2001--) via Columbia University Libraries.