Nonprofit Organizations: 990s/Financial Information
Finding financials
Public charities and private foundations must file a 990 (or 990-PF for private foundations) with the IRS every year in order to keep their tax exempt status. These filings include an accounting how much the charity raised and how they used their money. It also includes compensation information for the highest paid employees.
Several resources provide access to these filings:
Guidestar - must create a free account to see the 990 filings
Charity Navigator - must create a free account to see the 990 filings
Foundation Directory - includes foundations, corporate giving programs, grant makers, and more. Provides access to 990s.
Finding funding
- Foundation directory This link opens in a new windowFoundation Directory provides descriptions of grant makers, including private grant-making foundations, community foundations, operating foundations, and corporate grant makers. Records include entries from the following Foundation Center print publications: The Foundation Directory, The Foundation Directory, part 2, New York State Foundations, Guide to U.S. Foundations, and National Directory of Corporate Giving. Principal sources of information are voluntary reports by many grant makers directly to the Foundation Center and information obtained from public information returns filed each year with the Internal Revenue Service by private foundations. Updated monthly, the directory contains information about the largest public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites.
- PivotA web-based discovery and workflow tool that combines a comprehensive source of global funding opportunities with the largest collection of scholar profiles into one intuitive solution. With Pivot, researchers, faculty and research administrators can easily explore new avenues for funding, view funding opportunities uniquely matched to their scholar profile, collaborate with colleagues and manage the results of the process to build a funding strategy that supports both immediate and long-term funding needs.
Handbooks
Finding data on charities
The National Center for Charitable Statistics at the Urban Institute
The national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States.