The Thomas J. Watson Library of Business and Economics is one of the largest collections in the United States for the study of management, finance, economics, industry and related fields.
Watson has an extensive collection of databases and electronic resources. Remote access is restricted to current Columbia students, faculty and staff.
The materials housed in Watson are from 2015 to current; older materials are kept at the Libraries' off site storage facility. For more information on Borrowing policy:https://library.columbia.edu/using-libraries/borrowing.html
Watson Library Database Highlights:
- Capital IQ
Provides profiles of public and private companies, investment firms, and professionals worldwide. Includes company financials, key developments, transactions, securities data, ownership, research and estimates, corporate governance, takeover defenses, regulatory filings, news, relationships among firms and professionals, competitors and suppliers, products, biographical, and contact data. Also contains segment financials and provides descriptive details for operating and business segments. Business school students will get the access to Capital IQ few weeks after fall semester starts.
provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors. Coverage includes Wall Street Journal. For current daily news papers, click on the 'News Page' from top menu and select the Factiva news.
- Financial Times
Columbia University students can register an account for free with FT.com. Our subscription provides 'real time' access to the Financial Times in six regional editions: Asia, Europe, India, Middle East, UK and US.
- Institutional Investor Journals: Fall 1997 to present
Risk.net Academic includes Risk.net Business comprising: Risk, Operational Risk & Regulation, Structured Products, Energy Risk, Insurance Risk, Custody Risk, Asia Risk and Hedge Funds