J6002-039: Shoe Leather - Multi-Casting Investigative Techniques: Newspapers

Online Newspaper Databases

Columbia Online Newspaper Collection
Over 300 individual titles available online. Search by name or subject. Especially strong in the ethnic press. Includes historic and contemporary titles. 

Ethnic newsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date. Includes 22 New York specific newspapers. 

Factiva
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors. Includes major national newspapers including New York Daily News, New York Times, New York Post and Village Voice. 

Independent voices : an open access collection of an Alternative Press
A four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

ProQuest news & newspapers [electronic resource]
A database of articles from US national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and/or selected regional/state newspapers. Chronological coverage of individual newspapers varies. Most articles are full text and are searchable by word, topic or newspaper title.

Microfiche/Microfilm

Microform Collection at Butler Library
Over 1,000 newspapers are available. Search CLIO to determine the call number of the microform and where it is located. In many cases, you must use an index to determine specific reel or holdings information.  Indexes are shelved in PMRR. PMRR Staff assistance is available in 401 Butler Library at all times to answer questions related to access and retrieval of particular reels. Librarians at Butler Reference (Rm. 301) can help with further questions related to the card catalog, indexes or databases related to microforms. 73 New York specific titles available in microformat. 

Periodicals & Microforms Reading Room

Located in Butler Library, the Periodicals & Microforms Reading Room provides access to newspapers, academic and other periodicals, monographs, and series. It is possible to scan portions of film or fiche and then download the images to a CD, DVD, or flash drive. This can be done in PMRR or Digital Humanities Center (DHC, 305 Butler). Patrons who wish to use the DHC machine will be allowed to check out microfilm or microfiche in exchange for a photo ID.

Print Editions 

Recent print editions of various newspapers are available at the Journalism Library in Pulitzer Hall, the Periodicals & Microforms Reading Room in Butler Library, Lehman Library in the School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA) Building, and the Business Library in Uris Hall. Search CLIO to determine the dates and titles of available newspapers and where they are located.