Investigative Techniques: Business
Company & Industry Resources
- Bloomberg TerminalProvides current and historical financial quotes, business newswires, and descriptive information on over 52,000 companies worldwide. BLAW also covers legal cases. Available terminals: 7 in Watson Library, 1 in Journalism, 1 in Lehman Library. See: Bloomberg help guide.
- Orbis / Bureau van Dijk. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Integrates data from all of BvDEP's databases. "ORBIS includes full searching facilities and global standard report format for in-depth international searching and analysis." - Standard & Poor's netAdvantage . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Company information, including market snapshot, company quote, equity indexes page, the Outlook's market insight, S & P stock stock report, economic calendar, economic insight, industry in focus, and Stovall's sector watch. Also includes mutual funds, S&P industry surveys for the US, Europe, Asia and Latin America - LSEG workspace This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Refinitiv Workspace contains public and private company information for both U.S. and international firms, investment reports, breaking news and economic statistics. It covers a broad range of financial market trends, and includes deals data, private equity/venture capital coverage, and environmental performance information (ESG). After Market Research reports are from well-known investment analyst firms. Refinitiv Workspace provides access to the broadest and deepest coverage of financial data, news, analytics and productivity tools.
- Securities & Exchange CommissionClick on Filings >> EDGAR to search company filings.
Economic Resources
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisReports economic accounts (GDP, etc) for the United States. Regional information available.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsReports the unemployment rate, wages, and consumer price index (CPI). Useful pages include: Employment and Wages in NYC and the regional NY-NJ page.
- Current Population SurveyMonthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Census Bureau for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S.
- Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)Excellent source for US economics time series. Also see the Federal Reserve Board for data & reports.
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)Dates for business cycles as well links to government data. Also working papers from the NBER.
- NYC Office of Financial EmpowermentThe FE Briefs are good source for charts, particularly on bank accounts & credit card use. Also see their research publications.