Full Text -- Historical Documents and Images
Africa and the New Imperialism: European Borders on the African Continent, 1870-1914. (Marlborough, Wiltshire : Adam Matthew Digital Limited, [2023-] )
Featuring selections from British and French official archives (diaries, correspondence, illustrations, etc.) on European imperialism in East, Central, and Southern Africa.
African Bluebooks, 1821-1953. British Online Archives. Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office.
Annual Departmental Reports Relating to Kenya under Colonial Rule, 1907-1964 and Uganda under Colonial Rule, 1903-1961. British Online Archives. Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part I, From the mid-nineteenth century to the First World War. Series G, Africa, 1848-1914. 25 vols. Edited by David Throup. Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1995-1997.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part II, From the First to the Second World War. Series G, Africa, 1914-1939. 30 vols. Edited by Peter Woodward. Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1994-1997.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part III, From 1940 through 1945. Series G, Africa. 5 vols. Edited by Peter Woodward. Bethesda, Md. : University Publications of America, 1998.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part IV, From 1945 through 1950. Series G, Africa. 5 vols. General editors, Paul Preston and Michael Partridge ; editor, Peter Woodward. Bethesda, Md. : University Publications of America, 2000-2003.
British documents on foreign affairs : reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part V, From 1951 through 1956. Series G, Africa, 1951. 7 vols. General editors, Paul Preston and Michael Partridge ; editor, Peter Woodward. Bethesda, Md. : LexisNexis, 2005-
Colonial Law in Africa: African Government Gazettes, 1808-1919 ; 1920-1945 ; 1946-1966.
British Online Archives. Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office.
Columbia University Libraries--Basic Guide to Research on Africa: Film, Images & Sound Online.
(New York)
Confidential Print, Africa 1834-1966. Selected CO & FO records in UK National Archives. (Adam Matthew Digital, Marlborough, UK)
eHRAF World Cultures: ethnographic collections (e-books).
Ethiopia and Eritrea : a documentary study. Compiled with an introduction by Habtu Ghebre-Ab. Trenton, NJ : Red Sea Press, 1993.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century : Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939. Archives unbound. [Farmington Hills, Michigan] : Gale, a part of Cengage Learning.
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1975-1978: The Horn of Africa: Red Sea Security 1978 ; Saudi Arabia: The Horn of Africa and the Red Sea 1978--Part 1 and Part 2. Selected records in UK National Archives. (Adam Matthew Digital, Marlborough, UK)
Gallica: la bibliothèque numérique sur l'Afrique (Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris)
Pankhurst, Richard and Denis Gérard. Ethiopia photographed : historic photographs of the country and its people taken between 1867 and 1935. E-book. London ; New York : Kegan Paul International, 1996.
Princeton University: PEMM--Princeton Ethiopian, Eritrean and Egyptian Miracles of Mary Project (New Jersey)
"PEMM is a comprehensive digital resource for the 1,000+ miracle stories and the 2,500+ images painted of the Virgin Mary in these African countries, and preserved in Geʿez between 1300 and the present...with over 950 Täˀammərä Maryam manuscripts, from over 100 repositories around the world...including manuscripts from Princeton’s Rare Books and Special Collections.
Project3541: A photographic archive of the 1935-41 Italo-Ethiopian War. (USA; Italy)
"Project3541 includes images from the private collection of Maaza Mengiste, whose novel, The Shadow King, tells the story of this war and those who lived through it."
The Red Sea Region : sovereignty, boundaries & conflict, 1839-1967. 6 vols. Edited by Steven Smith. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge Archive Editions, 2008.
Sudan. 2 vols. Edited by Douglas H Johnson. British documents on the end of empire. Series B ; v. 5. London : Stationery Office, 1998.
RAI--Royal Anthropological Institute Archive. Wiley Digital Archives. (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2018-)
Sudan Memory (Khartoum, Sudan)
"A digitisation project dedicated to conserving and promoting Sudanese cultural and documentary heritage...The materials scanned by Sudan Memory include films, photos, manuscripts, objects, documents and art works.
University of Khartoum: Sudan Historical Photography Archive (Khartoum, Sudan; via The British Library, Endangered Archives Programme, London, UK)
World Newspaper Archive -- Africa's Historical Newspapers (pre-1923) In collaboration with The Center for Research Libraries and The British Library. (Naples, Florida: Readex, 2010-)
Archives Elsewhere in the United States