Research Guides: Hausa Language and Culture Acquisitions at Columbia: Home

NOTE

This bibliography on the Hausa language --to be frequently updated-- represents highlights from the last fifty years of library acquisitions at Columbia University. In addition to full-length novels, plays, poetry, and short stories, the Hausa literature collection includes a selection of Adabin Kasuwar Kano or "Kano market literature". These inexpensively-printed, short works of fiction appeared during the mid- to late 1990s and are mostly all love stories or soyayya. A few titles are non-fiction: pamphlets on better living, a good marriage, or Islamic values. The guide also includes many biographies, histories, cultural and linguistic studies, religious works, and other non-fiction published in Hausa. Titles in Arabic, English, French, and German listed here deal primarily with aspects of Hausa language, literature, biography, history, religion, the arts, film, music, culture, and society.

Part of: African Studies at Columbia

Reference -- Dictionaries & Glossaries

Abraham, Roy Clive. Dictionary of the Hausa language. Second edition. London: University of London Press, 1962. (992 p.)
Awde, Nicholas. Hausa-English/English-Hausa dictionary. New York: Hippocrene Books, 1996. (454 p.)
Awde, Nicholas. "21st century" Hausa : an English-Hausa classified word list. London : Centre for African Language Learning, 1987, c1986. (168 p.)
Baba, M. G. Hausa dalla-dalla : the Hausa learner's handbook. Kano : Aybee Printing & Publishing, 199-?] (25 p.)
Baki, Issah Alhassan. al-Qāms̄ al-ʻaṣrī : Injilīzī-ʻArabī-Hawsūī = Kamus na turanci da Larabci da Hausa = Modern dictionary of English, Arabic and Hausa. Zaria, Nigeria : Hudahuda, 1997. (235 p.)
Bargery, G.P. A Hausa-English dictionary and English-Hausa vocabulary. With some notes on the Hausa people and their language by D. Westermann. London; New York: Oxford University Press, 1934.(1226 p.)
Bross, Michael and Ahmad Tela Baba. Dictionary of Hausa crafts : a dialectal documentation = Kamus na sana'o'in Hausa : bincike kan karin harshen Hausa. Drawings by A.T. Sati. Köln : Köppe, c1996. (275 p.)
Caron, Bernard and Ahmed H. Amfani. Dictionnaire français-haoussa: suivi d'un index haoussa-français. Paris: Karthala ; Ibadan: IFRA-Ibadan, c1997. (412 p.)
Dikko, Inuwa and Usman Maccido. Kamus na adon maganar Hausa. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub., 1991. (118 p.)
Gimba, Maina and Russell G. Schuh. Bole-English-Hausa dictionary and English-Bole wordlist. Oakland, California : University of California Press, [2015] (388 p.)
--See also: E-book [Columbia only!]
Hanyar tadi da Turanci, a dictionary of English conversation for Hausa students. Norla, Zaria, Longmans, Green and co. [1957]
Hausa metalanguage = K̳amus na keb̳ab̳b̳an kalmoni. Sponsored by the Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council and compiled by the Hausa Studies Association of Nigeria (Kungiyar Nazarin Hausa) ; edited by Professor D. Muhammed. Ibadan, Nigeria : University Press ; Yaba, Lagos : Nigerian Educational Research & Development Council, 1990.
Herms, Irmtraud. Wörterbuch Hausa-Deutsch. Leipzig : Verlag Enzyklopädie, c1987. (187 p.)
Lexique Hausa and Zarma : démocratie et développement à la base : terminologie essentielle. Niamey, Niger: Démocratie, 2000. (168 p.)
Majinguini, Abdou. Karamin kamus na hausa zuwa faransanci = Dictionnaire élémentaire hausa-français. 2d éd. Niamey, Niger: Editions GG, 2003. (752 p.)
McIntyre, Joseph and Hilke Meyer-Bahlburg; assisted by Ahmed Tijani Lawal. Hausa in the media : a lexical guide : Hausa-English-German, English-Hausa, German-Hausa. Hamburg : Helmut Buske Verlag, c1991. (289 p.)
Moussa-Aghali, Fatimane. Lexique des néologismes en hawsa du Niger. Napoli : Istituto universitario orientale, 1999. (91 p.)
Newman, Roxana Ma. An English-Hausa dictionary. New Haven, Conn. : Yale University Press, c1990. (327 p.)
Newman, Paul. A Hausa-English dictionary. New Haven, Conn.; London: Yale University Press, 2007. (243 p.)
Newman, Paul and Roxana Ma Newman. Hausa dictionary for everyday use : Hausa-English, English-Hausa = Kamusun Hausa na Yau da Kullum Hausa-Ingilishi, Ingilishi-Hausa. Kano : Bayero University Press, 2020. (627 p.)
--See also: E-book
Schön, James Frederick. Dictionary of the Hausa language. With appendices of Hausa literature. 1st ed. London: Church Missionary House, 1876. (142 p).
Skinner, Neil. Hausa comparative dictionary. Köln: Köppe, 1996. (337 p)
Skinner, Neil. Hausa-English pocket dictionary = Kamus na Hausa da turanci. Ikeja: Longman Nigeria, 1985, c1968. (107 p.)
Skinner, Neil. Hausa lexical expansion since 1930: material supplementary to that contained in Bargery's dictionary, including words borrowed from English, Arabic, French, and Yoruba. Madison, Wisc.: University of Wisconsin, African Studies Program, [1985] (54 p.)
Skinner, Neil. Kamus na Turanci da Hausa = English-Hausa dictionary: babban ja-gora ga Turanci. Zaria : Northern Nigerian Publishing Co., 1973, c1965. (166 p.)
Taylor, F.W. A Fulani-Hausa vocabulary. Taylor's Fulani-Hausa series; 4. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1927. (136 p.)

Abdullahi, Shehu Umar. Gaskiya dokin k̳arfe. Kano, Nigeria : Mai-Nasara Printing, 1985. (127 p.) [In Hausa, essays on Hausa culture, Islam, social change, politics, & development in Nigeria under colonialism and in the post-colonial era.]

Asma'u, Nana. Collected works of Nana Asma'u, daughter of Usman dan Fodiyo, (1793-1864). [Edited by Jean Boyd and Beverly B. Mack.] African historical sources; no. 9. East Lansing, MI: Michigan State University Press, [1997] (753 p.) [English analysis, with Hausa texts & English translations.]
--See also: E-book
[Columbia only!]

Baba, of Karo. Labarin Baba: mutuniyar Karo ta kasar Kano. Transcribed and translated by Mary Smith ta rubuta; ta tsara da taimakon Neil Skinner. Madison, Wis.: African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison, c1993. (89 p.; originally published in English in 1954) [An autobiographical account in Hausa, with sociological insights.]
--See also: 1981 English ed. ; Law Library copy of 1981 ed.
--Plus: 1964 English ed. ; 1955 English ed.
--And: 1954 English ed. ; Burke Library copy of 1954 ed.

Balewa, Abubakar Tafawa. Shaihu Umar. Zaria : Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., c1966. (49 p.) [In Hausa, a historical novella set in the era of slavery & the slave trade in 19th century western Africa.]
--See also: 1989 English translation
--Plus: 1967 English translation

Chekaraou, Ibro. Mù zânta dà harshèn hausa. Let's speak African language series. Madison, Wisc. : NALRC Press, 2008. (393 p.) [English & Hausa]

Duniyar hausa 3. [Edited by] Jaharu Sule. [Niamey, Niger] : Ministère de l'Education Nationale; Groupe Sanecom, c2008. (185 p.) [A Hausa reader, volume 3 in the series.]

Edgar, Frank. Hausa readings: selections from Edgar's Tatsuniyoyi. [By] Neil Skinner. Madison, Wis.: Published for the Dept. of African Languages and Literature by the University of Wisconsin Press, 1968. (278 p.) [Selections in Hausa & English from Frank Edgar's Litafi na Tatsuniyoyi na Hausa, a three-volume work originally published between 1910 & 1913.]

Furniss, Graham. Poetry, prose and popular culture in Hausa. Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press for the International African Institute, c1996 (338 p.) [English analysis, with Hausa texts & English translations.]

Hausar yau da kullum : intermediate and advanced lessons in Hausa language and culture. [Compiled by] William R. Leben, Ahmadu Bello Zaria, Shekarau B. Maikafi, and Lawan Danladi Yalwa. [Palo Alto, Calif.] : Published for the Stanford Linguistics Association by the Center for the Study of Language and Information, c1991. (153 p.)

Imam, Alhaji Abubakar. Magana jari ce. 3 vols. Zaria [Nigeria] : Gaskiya, 1960. [Short stories based on Hausa folktales.]

Imam, Alhaji Abubakar. Ruwan bagaja. Zaria : Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., c1966. (44 p.) [Short stories for young people featuring the main character Alhaji from Kontagora and his adventures.]
--See also: English translation (1971)

Ingawa, Ahmadu. Iliya ʻdam maikarfi. Zaria : Northern Nigeria Pub. Co., 1970. (50 p.) [A collection of folk adventure stories in Hausa.]

Kagara, Muhammad Bello. Gand̳oki. Zaria : Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., c1968. (48 p.)
--See also: English translation (1971)

Kano, Aminu. Rayuwar Ahmad Mahmud Sa'adu Zungur. Zaria: Northern Nigerian Pub. Co., 1973.
(17 p.) [A short biography of Sa'adu Zungur, Nigerian nationalist.]

Magé, Souley. Gidan mace. Niamey : Editions Gashingo, 2014. (159 p.) [A novel in Hausa.]

Maje, Sule. Da wa za' a yi?. Niamey, Niger : Editions Gashingo, [2015] (120 p.) [A novel in Hausa.]

Majinguini, Abdou. Karamin kamus na hausa zuwa faransanci = Dictionnaire élémentaire hausa-français.
2d éd. Niamey, Niger: Editions GG, 2003. (752 p.)

Newman, Paul. A Hausa-English dictionary. New Haven, Conn.; London: Yale University Press, 2007. (243 p.)

Rattray, Robert Sutherland (ed. & trans.) Hausa folk-lore, customs, proverbs, etc. 2 vols. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1969. [Hausa texts, in Arabic script (or àjàmi), with Roman transliteration & English translation.]
--See also: 1913 ed. ; Burke Library copy
--Plus: E-book [Columbia only!]

Rayuwar Hausawa. [Compiled by] Cibiyar Nazarin Harsunan Nijeriya, Jamiʾar Bayero = Bayero University. Centre for the Study of Nigerian Languages. Lagos : Thomas Nelson (Nigeria) Ltd., 1981. (46 p.) [On Hausa history & culture.]

Wusasa, J. Tafida. Jiki magayi. Zaria : Northern Nigeria Pub. Co., 1955. (51 p.) [A novella in Hausa.]

Zab̳ab̳b̳un wak̳ok̳in da da na yanzu. [Edited by] D̳andatti Abdulk̳adir. Ikeja, Lagos : Thomas Nelson (Nigeria), 1979. (191 p.) [An anthology of Hausa poetry.]

African Studies Librarian

Yuusuf Caruso

Email Me

Contact:
Columbia University
309 Lehman Library
Global Studies
420 West 118th Street
New York, NY 10027 USA
212-854-8045
caruso@columbia.edu
Website

Global Studies Library

Library Catalogs

CLIO
(All CU libraries EXCEPT Law Library & Teachers College)

WorldCat

CU Guides to Internet Resources

African Studies WWW-Virtual Library

Hausa Language on the Internet

Ghana

Niger

Nigeria

West Africa

Next: Grammars, Phrasebooks, and Textbooks >>