Research Guides: Gender and Sexuality in Africa: Home

Reference

Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London: Europa, 1971-)

See also: Europa world plus (described below)

Africa yearbook online. (Leiden: Brill, 2004-)

African Biography on the Internet. (Compiled by Columbia University Libraries.)

African folklore: an encyclopedia. Edited by Philip M. Peek and Kwesi Yankah. New York : Routledge, 2004. (593 p.)
--See also: E-book

Barton, Thomas George. Sexuality and health in Sub-Saharan Africa. Berkeley, Calif. : T.G. Barton, 1991.

Black leaders in southern African history. Ed. by Christopher Saunders. (London: Heinemann, 1979) [Pre-20th century leaders, except for one.]

Brockman, Norbert C. An African biographical dictionary. 2nd ed. (New York: Grey House, c2006)
--See also: E-book

Dictionary of African biography. 6 vols. Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editors in chief. (Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012)

Encyclopedia of African history. 3 v. Ed. by Kevin Shillington. (New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005)
--See also: E-book

Encyclopedia of Islam. 3rd ed. online. (Leiden, The Netherlands: E. J. Brill, 2004-)
Requires a special font.

See also: 2nd ed. online
For print edition, see: Vols. 1-11 (1960-1982).

Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage. Edited by Toyin Falola and Amanda Warnock. (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007).

Europa world plus. (New York, NY : Routledge ; Taylor & Francis Group, 2007-)

Select "Africa South of the Sahara" or "Middle East and North Africa"

Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history. E-book
Editor in chief, Howard Chiang ; associate editors, Anjali Aronekar [and six others]. (Farmington Hills, Michigan : Charles Scribner's Sons, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, [2019])
--via Gale Virtual Reference Library

Historical Dictionary series. Scarecrow Press (Metuchen, NJ ; Lanham, MD)
Most recent editions are in Lehman Library Reference, near "Global Studies". For a dictionary of one country, search in CLIO, with "All fields" in "Advanced Search", and use [current name of country] and "historical dictionary".

The A to Z of pre-colonial Africa. By Robert O. Collins. (2010).
Historical dictionary of international organizations in Sub-Saharan Africa. 2nd ed. By Terry M. Mays and Mark W. Delancey. (2002)
Historical dictionary of women in the Middle East and North Africa. By Gahda Hashem Talhami. (2013)
--See also: E-Book
Historical dictionary of women in Sub-Saharan Africa. 2nd ed. By Kathleen E. Sheldon. (2016)
--See also: E-Book

The Middle East and North Africa. Annual. (London: Europa, 1995-)

See also: Europa world plus (described above)

New encyclopedia of Africa, 5 vols. Editor in chief, John Middleton; editor, Joseph C. Miller. Detroit: Thomson/Gale, c2008 .
--See also: E-book

Ntarangwi, Mwenda. Children and youth in Africa : annotated bibliography 2001-2011. Dakar : Codesria, c2014.

Oke, Olufunke A. From conference to conference : a bibliography of African women and development, 1980-1995. Ibadan : Rex Charles Publication, 2001.

Oxford African American Studies Center. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008-

Content includes: Africana (5 volumes); Encyclopedia of African American history; Black women in America--2nd edition; and, the African American national biography.

Oxford Bibliographies Online (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)
--Select "African Studies" ; or, see especially:

Children and Childhood. By Steve Howard.
Family Planning. By Emily Callaci.
Feminism. By Desiree Lewis.
LGBTI Minorities and Queer Politics in Eastern and Southern Africa. By Andrew Mickleburgh.
Sexualities in Africa. By Marc Epprecht.
Women and African History. By Kathleen Sheldon.
Women and Colonialism. By Kathleen Sheldon.
Women and the Economy. By Michael Kevane.
Women and Politics. By Aili Mari Tripp.
Women and Slavery. By Claire C. Robertson.
Women, Gender, and the Study of Africa. By Beverly Stoeltje.
Women in 19th century West Africa. By Temilola Alanamu.
Youth. By Karen Tranberg Hansen.

The Oxford encyclopedia of African historiography : methods and sources. Thomas Spear, editor in chief. (New York : Oxford University Press, 2019)
--See also: E-book

The Oxford encyclopedia of African thought. Editors in chief, F. Abiola Irele and Biodun Jeyifo.
2 vols. New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.

The Oxford handbook of the sociology of Africa. E-book. Edited by R. Sooryamoorthy and Nene Ernest Khalema. New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2023]

Oxford research encyclopedias--African history (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)

Scholarly essays, with extensive bibliographic references, on a wide variety of topics in the field...such as "Women in...[name of country]" ; and...
African Feminist Thought. By Amina Mama.
African Market Women, Market and Merchant Queens. By Gracia Clark.
African Masculinities. By Ndubueze L. Mbah.
African Women in Art. By Nomusa Makhubu.
African Women in Film, the Moving Image and Screen Culture. By Beti Ellerson.
Amazons of Dahomey. By Agbenyega Adedze.
Archaeology of Gender. By Lyn Wadley.
Bibi Titi Mohamed. By Chambi Chachage & Jacqueline Mgumia.
Buchi Emecheta. By Chika Unigwe.
Casely-Hayford, Adelaide and Gladys. By LaRay Denzer.
Childhood and Youth in African History. By S. E. Duff.
Fatima Mernissi. By Raja Rhouni.
Funmilayo (Anikulapo) Ransome-Kuti. By Cheryl Johnson-Odim.
HIV/AIDS in South Africa. By Rebecca Hodes.
Lilian Ngoyi. By Iris Berger.
Mariama Ba. By Souad T. Ali.
Motherhood and Maternalism. By Lorelle Semley.
Nana Asma'u. By Alaine Hutson.
Nana Yaa Asantewa. By Lynda Day.
Nginga a Mbande. By Selma Pantoja.
Reproductive Health, Fertility Control and Childbirth. By Susanne M. Klausen.
Sex Work/Prostitution in Africa. By Chi Adanna Mgbako.
Women and Apartheid. By Meghan Healy-Clancy.
Women and Development. By Michael Kevane.
Women and the History of Religion in Africa. By Erin Nourse.
Women and Migration. By Lesley Nicole Braun.
Women and Militarization. By Sarah J. Zimmerman.
Women and Pan-Africanism. By Hakim Ali.
Women and Politics in Africa. By Aili Mari Tripp.
Women and Post-Independence African Politics. By Gretchen Bauer, Akosua Darkwah, and Donna Patterson.
Women and Violence in Africa. By Peace A. Medie.
Women, Gender, and Sexuality in East Africa. By Miroslava Prazak.
Women in Nationalist Movements. By Selina Makana.
Women in Northern African History. By Fadma Ait Mous, Kmar Bendana and Natalya Vince.
Women in Postcolonial Africa. By Selina Makana.
Women in West African History. By Barbara Cooper.
Women, Race, and Ethnicity. By Hilary Jones.
Women's Legal Rights. By Johanna Bond.
Women's Literature in African History. By Anthonia C. Kalu.
Women's War of 1929. By Adam Paddock.

The Palgrave handbook of African women's studies. 3 vols. E-book. Edited by Olajumoke Yacob-Haliso and Toyin Falola. (Cham : Springer International Publishing : Imprint: Palgrave Macmillan, 2022)
--See also: Vols. 1-3 in print

The Routledge companion to Black women's cultural histories. E-book. Edited by Janell Hobson. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2021.
--See also: Print copy at Barnard

Routledge handbook of queer African studies. E-book. Edited by S.N. Nyeck. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, an imprint of the Taylor & Francis Group, 2020.
--See also: Print copy

Schwarz-Bart, Simone, with André Schwarz-Bart. In praise of black women. 3 vols. [Madison, WI] : The University of Wisconsin Press, 2001-

Sweetman, David. Women leaders in African history. (London : Heinemann, 1984)

Violence against women and criminal justice in Africa. 2 vols. Edited by Emma Charlene Lubaale and Ashwanee Budoo-Scholtz. Cham, Switzerland : Palgrave Macmillan, [2022]
Volume 1, Legislation, limitations and culture ; Volume 2, Sexual violence and vulnerability.
--See also: Offsite copy ; E-book of Vol. 1 and Vol. 2

World Bibliographical Series. Published by Clio Press in Oxford, England and Santa Barbara, CA: 1979-1999.

For a country bibliography, search in CLIO and use [name of country] and "world bibliographical".

World biographical information system--African Biographical Archive. [Online [Munich] : K. G. Saur, 2004-2010.

Yakan, Mohamad Z. Almanac of African peoples & nations. (New Brunswick, NJ : Transaction, c1999)
--See also: E-book

Library Catalogs

CLIO
(All CU libraries EXCEPT Law Library & Teachers College)

Pegasus (Law Library)
--For access, see Law Library Guide

Educat (Teachers College)

Borrow Direct (Fast interlibrary book loan)

Interlibrary Loan

WorldCat

Index Databases

Africa-Wide Information via EBSCO (Baltimore, Maryland: National Information Services Corporation, 1997--
--"Choose Databases" and add:
Gender Studies and/or LGBTQ+ Source

African Women Bibliographic Database (AfricaBib.Org, Davis Bullwinkle, University of Arkansas, Little Rock)

AnthropologyPlus. (Dublin, Ohio: OCLC).

Index Islamicus (Bethesda, MD: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Internet Database Service; via Proquest)

PAIS Index. Monthly. (New York: Public Access Information Service, 1972-)

PubMed (Bethesda, MD: National Center for Biotechnology Information)

World Health Organization Library: African Index Medicus

WHOLIS -- World Health Organization Library Database (Geneva, Switzerland)

New Arrivals in the Catalog

Citation Management

The Chicago manual of style. 17th ed. E-book. (Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, [2017])

Columbia University: Citation Management Software (EndNote, Mendeley & Zotero)

The Columbia Guide to Online Style. (2006) E-book.

Guide to Citing Government Documents

MLA handbook for writers of research papers. 8th edition. New York : The Modern Language Association of America, [2016]

Hacker, Diana. The Bedford handbook (2002)
--See also: "Rules for writers" (2016) -or- 2009 ed.

Library Home Pages & Other Resources

African Studies Librarian

Yuusuf Caruso

Email Me

Contact:

Columbia University
309 Lehman Library
Global Studies
420 West 118th Street
New York, NY 10027 USA
212-854-8045
caruso@columbia.edu

Gender and Sexuality in Africa: Home