Resources for Faculty: Resources for research and teaching

• Consultations: set up an appointment with a librarian to review sources for your research.

  • Email: business@library.columbia.edu to make an appointment or contact a specific librarian.

• Phone: 212-854-7804

You can configure Google Scholar so that it auto-links to full-text articles at Columbia.

• To configure this, go to Google Scholar and click on the gear icon for "Settings."
• In the "Library Links" section, search for Columbia University.
• Click the checkbox for Columbia when it pops up.
• Now hit "Save," and you're done!
• Now when you search, any articles that Columbia has in full-text will have an icon on the right marked “e-Link @ Columbia." 

Alternately, you can simply use this link: http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio5119262

See our website for a full list of resources.  To suggest possible acquisitions including data sets or databases for the library’s collection email: business@library.columbia.edu

Bloomberg
Eight terminals are available in Watson Library.  There is a terminal on most faculty floors.

CapitalIQ
Large global database of public and private company financial data. Includes data on M&A, private equity transactions, new issues and more.

Mergent online

U.S. company data:  public companies and their SEC filings; U.S. Annual Reports: International company data and Investext research reports.

Datastream*
Large database of time series data covering stocks, bonds, commodities and economic data for numerous countries, along with company profiles.

Factset*
Provides analytic tools and financial and economics data on public and private companies and their debt issues, private equity and venture capital firms and funds, macroeconomic series, global M&A deals, ownership details, and people data.

MorningstarDirect*
Includes data on closed-end funds, equity ownership, exchange traded funds, hedge funds, market indexes, money market funds, offshore funds, open-end mutual funds, pension/life insurance funds, stocks, bonds,  information on Global Private Equity Firm Executives and Owners, and directory of Global Private Equity Firms.

SDC Platinum*
includes Global News Issues, Mergers and Acqusitions, VentureXpert and Global Public Issues; 

Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS)
WRDS provides access to COMPUSTAT, CRSP, IBES, NYSE-TAQ, Bureau van Dijk (Amadeus and Osiris), Global Insight, OptionMetrics, Markit, RiskMetrics and more.

*These resources can be installed on faculty machines. Please contact business@library.columbia.edu for more information.