War, Peace, Humanitarianism, & International Interventions in Africa: Home

General Reference

  • Africa confidential who's who of Southern Africa. Ed. by Patrick Smith. Oxford; Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1998.
  • Africa contemporary record: annual survey and documents. (London: Africana Publishing, 1968/69-2002)
  • Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London : Europa, 1971-) Print
  • Africa yearbook online. (Leiden: Brill, 2004-)
  • African yearbook on international humanitarian law. (Cape Town: Juta, 2006--)
  • L'Afrique des Grands Lacs Annual. (Paris: L'Harmattan, 1997--)
  • Annan, Kofi A. The collected papers of Kofi Annan, UN Secretary-General, 1997-2006. E-book. Edited by Jean E. Krasno. (Boulder, Colo. : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2012)
    --See also: Print copy
  • Area Handbook series [historical]. Prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the US Dept. of the Army. (Washington)
    • For the handbook of a country, search in CLIO: use country name and "area handbook".
    • For available online handbooks on Africa, see section on US Dept. of the Army in "US Organizations on Africa," compiled by Columbia University Libraries.
  • Armed conflict survey. Annual. (Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge) 2015 to the present online.
  • Boutros-Ghali, Boutros. The papers of United Nations Secretary-General, Boutros Boutros-Ghali, 1992-1996. Selected and edited by Charles Hill. (New Haven : Yale University Press, c2003)
  • Darfur genocide : the essential reference guide. Edited by Alexis Herr. (Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, [2020])
  • Delancey, Mark W. [et al.]. African international relations: an annotated bibliography. 2nd ed. (Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1997)
  • A dictionary of African politics. E-book. [Compiled by] Nicholas Cheeseman, Eloïse Bertand, and Sa'eed Husaini. ([Oxford] : Oxford University Press, 2019)

  • Europa world plus. -- New York, NY : Routledge ; Taylor & Francis Group, 2007-
    • Select "Africa South of the Sahara" or "Middle East and North Africa"
  • Fredland, Richard. A guide to African international organizations. (London : Hans Zell, 1990)
  • Hale, Terrel D. United States sanctions and South Africa : a selected legal bibliography. (New York : Greenwood Press, 1993)
  • Handbook of Africa's international relations  Editor, Tim Murithi. (Oxfordshire, England; New York: Routledge, c2014).
    -- See also: E-book
  • The handbook of civil society in Africa. Ed. by Ebenezer Obadare. (New York : Springer, [2014])
    --See also: E-book
  • Historical Dictionary series. Scarecrow Press or Rowman & Littlefield. (Lanham, MD)
    Most recent editions are in Lehman Library Reference, near "Global Studies". For a dictionary of one country, search in CLIO: use [name of country] and "historical dictionary"--as "All Fields".
    --- Arnold, Guy. Historical dictionary of civil wars in Africa. 2nd ed. (2008)
    --See also: E-book
    -- Doyle, Thomas E., Robert F. Gorman, Edward S. Mihalkanin. Historical dictionary of human rights and humanitarian organizations. 3rd ed. E-book. (2017)
    -- Mays, Terry M. Historical dictionary of international organizations in Africa and the Middle East. E-book. (2015)
    -- Mays, Terry and Mark W. DeLancey. Historical dictionary of international organizations in Sub-Saharan Africa. 2nd ed. (2002)
    -- Mays, Terry M. Historical dictionary of multinational peacekeeping. 3rd ed. E-book. (2011)
    -- Waters, Robert Anthony. Historical dictionary of United States-Africa relations. (2009)
  • Lagarde, François. Mémorialistes et témoins rwandais, 1994-2013 : bibliographie critique. (Paris : Harmattan, c2013)
  • Modern African conflicts : an encyclopedia of civil wars, revolutions, and terrorism. E-book. Edited by Timothy J. Stapleton. (Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, An Imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, [2022])
  • Okupa, Effa. International bibliography of African customary law . (Hamburg: LIT Verlag, 1998)
  • Omitoogun, Wuyi. Military expenditure data in Africa: a survey of Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria and Uganda. SIPRI research report; no. 17. (Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003)
  • The Oxford handbook of the responsibility to protect. E-book. Edited by Alex J. Bellamy and Tim Dunne. (Oxford, United Kingdom : Oxford University Press, 2016)
    --See also: Print copy in Law
  • The Oxford handbook of United Nations peacekeeping operations. E-book. Edited by Joachim A. Koops, Norrie MacQueen, Thierry Tardy and Paul D.Williams. (New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2015)
  • Oxford research encyclopedias--African history Online. (Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press)
  • The Palgrave handbook of African politics, governance and development. Edited by Samuel Ojo Oloruntoba and Toyin Falola, (New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, c2018)
    --See also: E-Book
  • The Palgrave handbook of peacebuilding in Africa. Edited by Tony Karbo, Kudrat Virk. (Cham, Switzerland : Palgrave Macmillan, Centre for Conflict Resolution, [2018])
    --See also: E-Book
  • Routledge handbook of Africa-Asia relations. Edited by Pedro Miguel Amakasu Raposo de Medeiros Carvalho, David Arase and Scarlett Cornelissen. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018.
    --See also: E-book
  • Routledge handbook of African peacebuilding. E-book. Edited by Bruno Charbonneau and Maxime Ricard. New York : Routledge, 2022.
  • Routledge handbook of African politics. Edited by Nic Cheeseman, David M. Anderson, and Andrea Scheibler. (New York, NY : Routledge, 2013)
    --See also: E-Book
  • Routledge handbook of African security. E-book. Edited by James J. Hentz. (Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge, [2013])
  • The Routledge handbook of NGOs and international relations. Edited by Thomas Davies. EBSCO e-book. (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2019)
    --See also: Taylor & Francis e-book
  • The Routledge handbook of the responsibility to protect. Edited by W. Andy Knight and Frazer Egerton. (New York : Routledge, 2012)
    --See also: E-book
  • Rwandan genocide : the essential reference guide. Edited by Alexis Herr. (Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, an imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, [2018])
    --See also: E-book
  • Schoeman, Elna. South Africa's foreign relations in transition, 1985-1991: a select and annotated bibliography. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1992)
  • Searching for peace in Africa : an overview of conflict prevention and management activities. Ed. by Monique Mekenkamp, Paul van Tongeren, and Hans van de Veen. (Utrecht : European Platform for Conflict Prevention and Transformation, 1999)
  • Siler, Michael J. Strategic security issues in Sub-Saharan Africa: a comprehensive annotated bibliography. (Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2004)
  • Souto, Améia Neves de and António Sopa. Samora Machel: bibliográfia (1970-1986). (Maputo : Centro de Estudos Africanos, Universidade Eduardo Mondlane, 1996)
  • Strachan, Beth. Angola, the struggle for power : the political, social and economic context, 1980-1993 : a select and annotated bibliography.(Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1994)
  • Strachan, Beth. Mozambique, the quest for peace : the political, social and economic context, 1980-1994 : a select and annotated bibliography. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1996)
  • Treaties and alliances of the world. 7th ed. Ed. by Peter Calvert et al. (Farmington Hills, Mich.: Gale Group, 2002)
  • Tvedt, Terje. The Nile : an annotated bibliography. (London ; New York : I.B. Tauris, 2004)
  • Tvedt, Terje [et al.] Southern Sudan : an annotated bibliography. 2nd ed. (London ; New York : I.B. Tauris, 2004)
  • United States. Central Intelligence Agency. Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of African Governments. (Washington, DC : The Agency, 2001--) --via Columbia University Libraries.
  • Viljoen, Frans. International human rights law in Africa. (Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2007)
    --See also: E-book
    --Plus: 2012 ed.
  • World Bibliographical Series CLIO Press (Oxford ; Santa Barbara, Calif.)
    --For a country in the series, search in CLIO: use [name of country] and "world bibliographical"--as "All Fields".
  • Yearbook on the African Union, 2020--. E-book. (Leiden, The Netherlands: Brill, 2022-- )

    • Library Catalogs

  • CLIO
    (All CU libraries EXCEPT Law Library & Teachers College)

  • Pegasus (Law Library)
    --For access, see Law Library Guide
  • Educat (Teachers College)

  • Borrow Direct (Fast interlibrary book loan)
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • WorldCat

    • Index Databases

    Maps

  • Agence française de développement. Atlas of Africa: new perspectives on the continent. E-book. [S.l.] : Routledge, 2021.
    --See also: French version in print

  • Columbia University
  • Griffiths, Ieuan Ll. Atlas of African affairs. (New York : Routledge, 1994)

  • Mapping specialists, Inc. Africa on file.
    2 vols. (New York : Facts on File, 1995)

  • Humanitarian OpenStreet Map Team--Our Work (Washington, DC)
    Select locations in Africa: "When major disaster strikes anywhere in the world, HOT rallies a huge network of volunteers to create, online, the maps that enable responders to reach those in need.

  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. An atlas of the Sahara-Sahel : geography, economics and security. E-book. (Paris, France : OECD, 2014)

  • University of Texas at Austin, Perry Castañeda Library: Maps of Africa

  • United Nations Geospatial---General Maps (New York)

    • Moving Image

  • Docuseek 2 : Complete Collection. (Alexandria, VA: Alexander Street)
    ----Search for online films about human rights -or- humanitarianism in Africa.
      Plus, search in CLIO for:
    • Africa: The Uncovered Continent, parts 1-2. Part of: "Rights and Wrongs" : a public television documentary series on international human rights and humanitarianism, produced by Chip Taylor Communications. (Derby, New Hampshire) --via Alexander Street.

    • "Rights and Wrongs": a public television documentary series on international human rights and humanitarianism. (Derby, New Hampshire) --via Alexander Street
  • See also: "Human Rights" -and- "Humanitarian Assistance in Africa" videos at Columbia

    • Citation Management

  • The Chicago manual of style. 17th ed. E-book. (Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, [2017])

  • Columbia University: Citation Management Software (EndNote, Mendeley & Zotero)

  • Columbia Guide to Online Style. (2006) E-book.

  • Guide to Citing Government Documents

  • Hacker, Diana. The Bedford handbook.
    5th ed. Boston : Bedford Books, c1998.
    --See also: 6th ed.

    • African Studies Librarian

    Profile Photo
    Yuusuf Caruso
    Contact:
    Columbia University
    309 Lehman Library
    Global Studies
    420 West 118th Street
    New York, NY 10027 USA
    212-854-8045
    caruso@columbia.edu
    Website

    Global Studies Library

    • Last Updated: Nov 27, 2024 8:45 AM
    • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/cwii-africa
    • Print Page
    Columbia University Libraries
    535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
    Phone
    212-854-7309
    Contact Us
    lio@columbia.edu
    Follow Us