U.S. Census & Demographics: Public Use Microdata Sample (PUMS)

data.census.gov

on FTP

the Microdata API

• Dataset Types: Aggregated, Microdata or N/A (a timeseries dataset)
• What is the Microdata API
• Microdata API User Guide

• Tutorials from the Census 
  • Using Microdata Access with ACS 1-Year Estimates - Public Use Microdata Sample
  • Using Microdata Access with CPS ASEC - How to Create Poverty Estimates From the CPS ASEC
• Webinars from the Census
  • Introduction to the American Community Survey Public Use Microdata Sample (PUMS) Files
  • Using Public Microdata to Create Custom Tables on data.census.gov 

IPUMS CPS harmonizes microdata from the monthly U.S. labor force survey, the Current Population Survey (CPS), covering the period 1962 to the present. Data include demographic information, rich employment data, program participation and supplemental data on topics such as fertility, tobacco use, volunteer activities, voter registration, computer and internet use, food security, and more. (Collection level DOI: 10.18128/C030)

IPUMS CPS Technical Documentation

IPUMS International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. The project goals are to collect and preserve data and documentation, harmonize data, and disseminate the harmonized data free of charge. Source data for IPUMS International are generously provided by participating National Statistical Offices. (Collection level DOI: 10.18128/C020)

IPUMS Global Health provides integrated international health survey data at no cost for research and educational purposes from two data series: the Demographic Health Surveys (DHS) and Performance, Monitoring, and Accountability 2020 (PMA2020). The data collections contained within IPUMS Global Health, IPUMS DHS and IPUMS PMA, have consistently named and coded variables with detailed variable-level documentation that allow researchers to conduct cross-country and cross-time comparisons. (Collection level DOI: 10.18128/C080)

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present. (Collection level DOI: 10.18128/C050)

The IPUMS International Historical Geographic Information System (IHGIS) provides data tables from population and housing censuses as well as agricultural censuses from around the world, along with corresponding GIS boundary files. (Collection level DOI: 10.18128/C120)

The IPUMS Time Use provide free individual-level time use data for research purposes. The data extract systems make it easy to create data sets containing time use and other variables a user needs. (Collection level DOI: 10.18128/C060)

• ATUS is a nationally representative U.S. time diary survey for period since 2003.
• AHTUS is a harmonized collection of time diary data from the U.S. for the period 1930 to the present.
• MTUS is a collection of time diary data from several countries that are harmonized for compatibility across time and space.

IPUMS Health Surveys provide free individual-level survey data for research purposes from two leading sources of self-reported health and health care information (Collection level DOI 10.18128/C070)

• The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS): Harmonized annual NHIS microdata from 1963 to the present. Data cover such topics as general health status, the distribution of acute and chronic illness, functional limitations, access to and use of medical services, insurance coverage, and health behaviors.

• Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS): Harmonized MEPS data from 1996 to the present. MEPS provides nationally representative, longitudinal data covering health status, medical conditions, health care utilization, and health care expenditures for the U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population.

IPUMS Higher Ed disseminates data from the Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System (SESTAT), the leading surveys for studying the science and engineering (STEM) workforce in the United States. Data from the National Surveys of College Graduates (NSCG), Recent College Graduates (NSRCG) and Doctorate Recipients (SDR) are integrated from 1993 to the present.