Adriatic Romanticisms: Primary Sources

• The Grand Tour: These accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections. Includes letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps.

• Nineteenth-Century Collections Online: A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Includes a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location.

• Romanticism: Life, Literature & Landscape: Provides access to rare literary sources for researchers studying William Wordsworth and the Romantic period. The collection offers an insight into the working methods of the poet and the wider social, political and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries. In addition, this collection makes available the writings of Dorothy Wordsworth through her much celebrated Grasmere Journals, Alfoxden diary and travel journals. Verse manuscripts and correspondence from leading literary lights of the Romantic period such as Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey are also made available.

• Travel Writing, Spectacle & World History: Women's travel diaries and correspondence from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University. Includes manuscripts, diaries, travel journals, correspondence, photographs, postcards and ephemera, from 1818 to the 1970s. The geographical area covered by these diaries is far-reaching, with travel to countries within the British, French, Chinese and American empires and discussion of empire and nationalism, as well as description of the post-colonial world.

Giacomo Leopardi's Zibaldone di pensieri: The editorial approach of remediating the Zibaldone as a digital research platform responds, on the one hand, to the reader's task of reconstructing the semantic framework of the fragments and, on the other, corresponds to the function the Zibaldone had for its author, namely a personal knowledge base whose paper manuscript technology was inadequate for mediating his phenomenological research methods into interpretative discourse. The Zibaldone project thus fundamentally explores qualitative methods of employing digital technology to support the process of interpretation and reflects on the ethical, aesthetic and mediatic criteria for constructing the unity of scholarly discourse.

Europeana: Explore 51,588,935 artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from libraries and cultural heritage institutions across Europe.

NINES (Nineteenth Century Scholarship Online): NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first. The NINES Collex interface is at the center of these efforts. It aims to gather the best scholarly resources in the field and make them fully searchable and interoperable; and to provide an online collecting and authoring space in which researchers can create and publish their own work.

Romantic London: Romantic London is a research project exploring life and culture in London around the turn of the nineteenth century using Richard Horwood’s pioneering PLAN of the Cities of LONDON and WESTMINSTER the Borough of SOUTHWARK, and PARTS adjoining Shewing every HOUSE (published between 1792 and 1799). The site is based around two digital version of Horwood’s Plan: the original version and William Faden’s 1819 fourth edition (which shows the considerable changes that occurred in the early nineteenth century).  Both of these are laid over modern maps of the city, allowing for detailed examinations and comparisons. As well as considering the Plan and its creator, the site uses Horwood’s work as a means of thinking about how writers, publishers and artists chose to represent London’s general character and particularities.  By juxtaposing other contemporary sources with Horwood’s Plan using annotated markers, the site reflects upon the social, geographical and aesthetic assumptions made in late eighteenth- and early nineteenth-century attempts to systematise the burgeoning metropolis.

SAN (Sistema Archivistica Nazionale): SAN è il punto di accesso unificato alle risorse archivistiche nazionali rese disponibili sul web da sistemi informativi, banche dati e strumenti di ricerca digitali sviluppati a livello nazionale, regionale e locale dallo Stato, dalle Regioni e da altri soggetti pubblici e privati.

Gallica: The BnF's incredibly rich web portal of digitized materials relating to French history, literature and culture. A wealth of information including newspapers, magazines, government documents, literary manuscripts, etc.