Fascism in Germany & Italy: Background/Reference Sources
Oxford and Cambridge Resources
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Need Help?
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
Atlas of Nazi Germany by Call Number: Butler Reference R943.086 F87ISBN: 0582239249Publication Date: 1995Encyclopedia of German Resistance to the Nazi Movement by
Call Number: Butler Stacks DD256.5 .L51313 1997ISBN: 0826409458Publication Date: 1996
Encyclopedia of Nationalism by Call Number: *E-book but also in print: Offsite JC311 .E47 2001g v.1-2ISBN: 0122272307Publication Date: 2000Volume 1 focuses on fundamental themes while volume 2 examines leaders, movements and concepts
The Encyclopedia of Propaganda by Call Number: Offsite HM263 .E53 1998 v.1-3ISBN: 0765680092Publication Date: 1997The Encyclopedia of Propaganda examines in great detail the historical, political, sociological, cultural, and artistic aspects of this propaganda around the world. It addresses those forms of communication--mass communication in particular--that are intended to produce changes in thinking and behavior.
The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich by Call Number: Butler Reference R943 G913 (2 v.); also in Milstein Oversize (Butler 209) DD256.5 .G76313 1991ISBN: 0028975006Publication Date: 1991The 3000 entries in this book aim to provide a comprehensive source of information on the Third Reich. The work includes 22 developed essays on important subjects such as anti-semitism, women in the Third Reich, the persecution of Jews, concentration camps, education, the economy, opposition to the Nazis, the attitude of the church, propaganda, the SS, social policies and the implementation of the Final Solution. There are also detailed biographical entries on the leading figures associated with, or opposed to, the regime. The work is extensively cross-referenced .
Historical Dictionary of Fascist Italy by Call Number: Butler Reference R945 H69ISBN: 0313213178Publication Date: 1982Still one of the best reference sources on the Fascist ventennio.
The Oxford Companion to World War II by Call Number: *E-book but also in print: Early Modern/Modern Europe Reading Room (Butler 504) D740 .O94 2005ISBN: 9780192806666Publication Date: 2005With over 1,750 A-Z entries, by more than 140 specialist contributors from Germany, Italy, and Japan, as well as from the Allied nations, the Companion provides uniquely worldwide coverage of the war. The strategies, forces, battles, and campaigns, and the social, political, and economic environments in which they operated are explored from both sides of the conflict. Every aspect of the war is covered: in-depth surveys of the countries involved in the conflict; politics and strategy; domestic and economic issues; resistance and intelligence; campaigns and battles; warfare and weapons; wartime leaders and influential people; slogans and slang.
The Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust by Call Number: Butler Reference R912 G374ISBN: 0415281458Publication Date: 2002The harrowing history of the Nazi attempt to annihilate the Jews of Europe during the Second World War is illustrated in this series of 320 highly detailed maps.
The Routledge Companion to Fascism and the Far Right by Call Number: *E-book but also in print: Lehman JC481 .D37 2002ISBN: 9780203994726Publication Date: 2002Guide to the origins of fascism, the main facets of the ideology and the reality of fascist government around the world. This book features chronologies, maps, glossaries and biographies of key individuals. As well as the key examples of Hitler's Germany and Mussolini's Italy, this book also draws on extreme right-wing movements in Latin America, Eastern Europe and the Far East.
The Routledge Companion to Nazi Germany by Call Number: Early Modern/Modern Europe Reading Room (Butler 504), DD256.5 .S724 2007ISBN: 9780415308601Publication Date: 2008This guide combines a concise narrative overview with chronological bibliographical and tabular information to cover all major aspects of Nazi Germany. It provides a comprehensive survey of key topics such as the origins and consolidation of the Nazi regime, Nazi foreign policy, the Holocaust, opposition to Nazism and its legacy.
The Routledge History of the Holocaust by Call Number: Butler Stacks D804.3 .R76 2011ISBN: 9780415779562Publication Date: 2011A comprehensive introduction to the history of the Holocaust, this volume has 42 chapters which add important depth to the academic study of the Holocaust, both geographically and topically.
Women under the Third Reich by Call Number: Butler Stacks HQ1623 .C65 1998ISBN: 0313303150Publication Date: 1998This dictionary, with entries on more than 100 women, shows the diversity of their roles in this turbulent and disturbing period. It includes entries on resistance fighters, nurses, entertainers, writers, filmmakers, spies, and prisoners.
