The United Nations & Its Principal Organs
- United Nations
A complete UN site, including sections for Conferences & Events, General Information, UN Documents (fulltext), Publications & Sales, Databases, UN News (including the UN Journal, Daily Highlights & Press Releases), UN Around the World, and What's New. There are also sections covering the UN's main areas of concern: Peace & Security, International Law, Economic & Social Development, Human Rights, and Humanitarian Affairs. The entire site is searchable.
- General Assembly
The General Assembly is the main deliberative organ of the United Nations. It is composed of representatives of all Member States, each of which has one vote. Decisions on important questions, such as those on peace and security, admission of new Members and budgetary matters, require a two-thirds majority. Decisions on other questions are reached by a simple majority. These decisions may be adopted without a vote, or with a vote, which may be recorded, non-recorded or by roll-call.
- Economic and Social Council
The Economic and Social Council was established by the Charter as the principal organ, under the authority of the General Assembly, to promote: (a) higher standards of living, full employment, and conditions of economic and social progress and development; (b) solutions of international economic, social, health, and related problems; and international cultural and educational cooperation; and (c) universal respect for, and observance of, human rights and fundamental freedoms for all without distinction as to race, sex, language, or religion. The council has 54 members who serve three-year terms. Voting in the Council is by simple majority; each member has one vote. Most of the work of the Council is carried out by its various commissions.
- International Court of Justice
The International Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. Its seat is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). The Court has a dual role: to settle in accordance with international law the legal disputes submitted to it by States, and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized international organs and agencies. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected to nine-year terms of office by the United Nations General Assembly and Security Council sitting independently of each other. It may not include more than one judge of any nationality. Elections are held every three years for one-third of the seats, and retiring judges may be re-elected. The Members of the Court do not represent their governments but are independent magistrates.
- Basic Documents, including the Statute and Rules of the Court.
- Decisions, including links to all contentious cases and advisory opinions referred to the Court since 1946.
- Docket, cases currently being heard/under deliberation.
The Secretariat, an international staff working at the United Nations Headquarters in New York and all over the world, carries out the diverse day-to-day work of the Organization. It services the other principal organs of the United Nations and administers the programmes and policies laid down by them. At its head is the Secretary-General, who is appointed by the General Assembly on the recommendation of the Security Council for a five- year, renewable term.
- Security Council
The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. It is so organized as to be able to function continuously, and a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council has 15 members-- five permanent members (China, France, Russia, United Kingdom, and United States) and 10 elected by the General Assembly for two-year terms.
- Trusteeship Council
The Trusteeship Council suspended operation on 1 November 1994, with the independence of Palau, the last remaining United Nations trust territory, on 1 October 1994.
- Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
The FAO has a mandate to raise levels of nutrition and standards of living, to improve agricultural productivity, and to better the condition of rural populations.
- Talbot, Ross B.
Historical Dictionary of the International Food Agencies : FAO, WFP, WFC, IFAD.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1994.
HD 9000.1 .T34 1994 - Lehman
- International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
The IAEA serves as the world's central inter-governmental forum for scientific and technical cooperation in the nuclear field. Publications include:
- International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)
- International Labour Organization (ILO)
The International Labour Organization is the UN specialized agency which seeks the promotion of social justice and internationally recognized human and labour rights. Publications include:
- International Labour Review.
Geneva, International Labour Office, 1921-
Current Periodicals - Business
- World Employment Report. Annual.
Geneva : ILO, 1995-
HD 5701 .W571 - Lehman
- World Labour Report. Annual.
Geneva : ILO, 1984-
HD 4802 .W65 - Business
- Yearbook of Labour Statistics. Annual.
Geneva : ILO, 1936-
HD 4826 .In8 - Business, Lehman (Latest in Reference)
- International Maritime Organization (IMO)
The International Maritime Organization is the United Nations' specialized agency responsible for improving maritime safety and preventing pollution from ships.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF is an international organization of 183 member countries, established to promote international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to foster economic growth and high levels of employment; and to provide temporary financial assistance to countries to help ease balance of payments adjustment.
- Humphreys, Norman K.
Historical Dictionary of the International Monetary Fund.
Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press, 1999.
HG 3881 .I58 H86 1999 - Business Reference
- United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
The main objective of UNESCO is to contribute to peace and security in the world by promoting collaboration among nations through education, science, culture and communication.
Searchable catalog of UNESCO documents and publications.
Access to UNESCO full text documents.
- Spaulding, Seth.
Historical Dictionary of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997.
AS 4 .U83 S69 1997 - Lehman
- United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)
UNIDO's vision: To improve the living conditions of people and promote global prosperity through offering tailor-made solutions for the sustainable industrial development of developing countries and countries with economies in transition.
- International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics. Annual.
Vienna : UNIDO, 1995-
HC 10 .I673 - Business
- The World Bank Group
The World Bank Group consists of five closely associated institutions: the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD or World Bank), the International Development Association (IDA), the International Finance Corporation (IFC), the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA), and the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID). The World Bank Group is the world's largest source of development assistance.
- Salda, Anne C. M.
Historical Dictionary of the World Bank.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997.
HG 3881.5 .W57 S25 1997 - Business Reference
- World Health Organization
The objective of WHO is the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health. Health, as defined in the WHO Constitution, is a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity. Publications include: