Biomedical & Health Sciences Research Guide: Find Articles - Databases

Find Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles or studies, you will need to use a database (not CLIO). Databases contain collections of articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, and may also contain newspaper/magazine articles.

These large, interdisciplinary databases are a great place to start:

  • Scopus: Provides indexing, abstracting of, and citation linking to journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
  • PubMed - Includes more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Links to the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus & the NCBI Bookshelf.
  • Web of Science: indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Additional Databases

  • AccessMedicine - a comprehensive online medical resource that provides access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care.
  • Biological Abstracts - an index with abstracts for biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Coverage is international, and includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.
  • ClinicalKey - an interactive education platform that supports students and faculty. Diagnose and treat your patients with confidence. Develop and assess your medical knowledge.
  • Cochrane Library - a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR), Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE), Cochrane controlled trials register (CCTR), and Cochrane review methodology database (CRMD).
  • EBSCOhost research databases - research platform with access to dozens of databases. It is useful for broad subject searches in both scholarly sources and the popular media.
  • Embase - a biomedical and pharmaceutical database contains bibliographic records with abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and Medline (1966-present) deduplicated and searchable with EMTREE.
  • Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education - contains over 2700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions.
  • JAMAevidence - helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
  • Journal Citation Reports - JCR contains all the data required to understand the the value and impact of the world's most impactful journals through the delivery of a rich array of publisher-independent data, metrics and analysis. The metrics available in the Journal Citation Reports include the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and the Journal Citation Indicator (JCI).
  • ProQuest Central - research platform with access to dozens of databases. It is useful for broad subject searches in both scholarly sources and the popular media. For a more focused, scholarly work search, choose one or more of the following databases within ProQuest: Biological Science database, Health & Medical collection.

Protocols

  • Cold Spring Harbor Protocols - provides a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Details a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques that are up-to-date and presented in a consistent, easy-to-follow format.
  • JoVE - the Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE), provides videos of laboratory methods and science concepts in the fields of biology, chemistry, statistics, environmental sciences, physics, engineering, psychology, and clinical skills.
  • SpringerNature Experiments - includes Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews Methods Primers, Nature Methods, and Springer Protocols.
  • Wiley's Current Protocols - includes over 25,000 step-by-step techniques, procedures, and practical overviews that provide researchers with reliable, efficient methods to ensure reproducible results and pave the way for critical scientific discovery. 
  • Last Updated: Aug 19, 2024 3:33 PM
  • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/Biomedical
  • Print Page
Tags: Biology, health
Columbia University Libraries
535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
Phone
212-854-7309
Contact Us
lio@columbia.edu
Follow Us