W.K.W. Endowment Fund: Media
W.K.W. Endowment Fund General Information and Media Coverage
Columbia University Libraries/Information Services Establishes the W.K.W. Endowment Fund to Support Chinese Studies Collection
哥伦比亚大学图书馆成立W.K.W.基金以支持中国研究馆藏
Columbia University Libraries/Information Services News & Events
NEW YORK, December 10, 2013 –
Columbia University Libraries/Information Services (CUL/IS) is pleased to announce the establishment of the W.K.W. Endowment Fund for the Chinese Studies Collection in the C.V. Starr East Asian Library.
The endowment, with initial principal funding of $50,000 was established by a Columbia University Visiting Scholar, Founding Councilman of Peking University Entrepreneur Club, and Adviser to the Columbia University Asia-Pacific Development Society.
The fund will support the collection by enabling the acquisition of additional biographical materials related to historical figures in Chinese studies. Such acquisitions may include epitaphs, eulogies, genealogy materials, autobiographies, biographies, oral histories, and photographs. It will also provide resources to host related events such as a symposium, lectures, book talks, and exhibitions.
“Columbia University's Chinese program and its world famous Chinese library collection began with a small gift in 1901 from Dean Lung, a modest man who signed his bequest ‘Dean Lung, a Chinese person.’ He wanted to help integrate cultural knowledge from his homeland into the curriculum of educated Americans,” said Madeline Zelin, Dean Lung Professor of Chinese Studies and Professor of History and East Asian Languages and Cultures, Columbia University. “We are deeply grateful to the W.K.W. Endowment fund for continuing this tradition and enhancing our ability to serve not only the Columbia community, but scholars from around the world who benefit from our holdings.”
The Chinese collection at Columbia University was established in 1902 with the donation of the 5,044-volume Chinese encyclopedia Gujin tushu jicheng by the Chinese government. It includes more than 450,000 volumes, 7,800 serials, 4.7 million-volume e-books, and unique material such as Chinese oracle bone, paper gods, local gazetteers, genealogy records, and DVDs. It is ranked as one of the largest and most prominent Chinese Studies collections in North America.
“This endowment is particularly significant as the Libraries’ first fund established by an individual Chinese citizen through his personal wealth accumulated in mainland China,” said Jim Cheng, Director of the C.V. Starr East Asian Library. “This reinforces a unique support cycle, in that Chinese students and scholars will benefit from the enriched collection and may go on to become influential educators, scientists, diplomats, politicians and writers upon returning to China.”
A private reception will be held at the Starr Library on December 19, 2013 to celebrate the establishment of the endowment fund.
Columbia University Libraries/Information Services (CUL/IS) is one of the top five academic research library systems in North America. The collections include over 12 million volumes, over 160,000 journals and serials, as well as extensive electronic resources, manuscripts, rare books, microforms, maps, and graphic and audio-visual materials. The services and collections are organized into 21 libraries and various academic technology centers, including affiliates. CUL/IS employs more than 450 professional and support staff. The website of the Libraries is the gateway to its services and resources: library.columbia.edu.
纽约 2013年12月9日-- 哥伦比亚大学图书馆欣然宣布为其史带东亚图书馆中文馆藏成立W.K.W.基金。
该基金初始本金为50,000美元，为哥伦比亚大学访问学者，兼北京大学企业家俱乐部发起理事以及哥伦比亚大学亚太发展协会顾问所捐建。
该基金收入将用于支持哥伦比亚大学东亚图书馆发展更多的中国研究领域历史人物有关的文献资源馆藏，包括碑铭、哀荣录、谱牒、自传、传记、口述史、照片，以及用于举行相关的学术会议、讲座、读书报告和展览。
“哥 伦比亚大学的中国学研究专业及其世界知名的中文图书馆始于1901年由一位旅居美国工作的、谦恭的、在其捐赠文件上署名为‘丁龙，一个中国人’所提供的数 额不大的捐赠。他希望帮助他祖国的文化知识融入美国人的教育课程。” 哥伦比亚大学丁龙中国研究讲座教授及东亚语言文化系和历史学系教授曾小萍说：“W.K.W.基金传承了这个传统，并让我们的图书馆藏更好地服务哥大社区以 及来自世界各地的学者。 为此，我们深为感激。”
哥伦比亚大学中文馆藏于1902年由中国政府捐赠5044卷《古今图书集成》而开始创建。目前中文馆藏含逾45万册图书、7800种期刊、470万册电子书，以及如甲骨文、门神纸马、善本地方志和家谱、DVD等特藏。为北美最大、最出色的中国研究馆藏之一。
“由 一位中国公民在中国大陆创造财富而捐建的W.K.W.基金是我们图书馆历史上的第一例，有着非同寻常的意义。”东亚图书馆馆长程健说：“这会加强良性循 环，中国来的留学生和学者将受益于更好的图书文献馆藏，回国后会成为有影响力的教育家、科学家、外交家、政治家和作家。 ”
庆祝成立W.K.W.基金的招待会将于2013年12月19日在东亚图书馆举行。
哥伦比亚大学图书馆/信息服务系统（ CUL / IS）是 北美顶尖五大学术研究图书馆系统之一，其馆藏含逾1千2百万册图书、16万种期刊，以及大量的电子资源、手稿、善本古籍、缩微资料、地图、以及图像和视听 资料，下有22个分馆和各种学术技术中心，并含附属机构。 哥大图书馆员工超过450名专业馆员和一般职员，图书馆服务和资源详情可见其网站： library.columbia.edu。
AM 12-10-13
Beijing Review North American Report: New Fund to Support Chinese Studies
By Kieran Maynard
A reception to celebrate the establishment of the W.K.W. Endowment Fund for the Chinese Studies Collection was held in the C.V. Starr East Asian Library at Columbia University on December 19.
Opening remarks were given by James G. Neal, Vice President for Information Services and University Librarian at Columbia University, and Jim Cheng, Director of the C.V. Starr East Asian Library. The founder of the endowment, who asked not to be named, delivered closing remarks. Though it can be disclosed that they are a Columbia University Visiting Scholar, the Founding Councilman of Peking University Entrepreneur Club, and Adviser to the Columbia University Asia-Pacific Development Society.
The W.K.W. Endowment Fund has an initial principal funding of $50,000 which will be used to acquire biographical materials related to historical figures in Chinese studies, including epitaphs, eulogies, genealogical materials, autobiographies, biographies, oral histories, and photographs, and to fund related events such as symposia, lectures, book talks, and exhibitions.
"This endowment is particularly significant as the Library's first fund established by an individual Chinese citizen through his personal wealth accumulated on the Chinese mainland," said Mr. Cheng. "This reinforces a unique support cycle, in which Chinese students and scholars will benefit from the enriched collection and may go on to become influential educators, scientists, diplomats, politicians and writers upon returning to China."
Columbia University's Chinese program and its world famous Chinese library collection began with a small gift in 1901 from Dean Lung, a modest man who signed his bequest 'Dean Lung, a Chinese person.' "He wanted to help integrate cultural knowledge from his homeland into the curriculum of educated Americans," said Madeleine Zelin, Dean Lung Professor of Chinese Studies and Professor of History and East Asian Languages and Cultures at Columbia University.
"Now we are in a new age. China has over the last twenty years undergone a complete renaissance in terms of scholarship and in terms of publishing, and our institution here at Columbia has been able to take part in that. We are increasingly able to access materials from China — good material, published collections of archival material, published collections of biographies, oral history — and the amount of material is almost overwhelming for us in its quantity, so this gift will enable us to keep up and to engage in public programs to make our material and our knowledge more available to a wide audience," she said in a speech following the opening remarks.
The Chinese collection at Columbia University was established in 1902 with the donation of the 5,044-volume Chinese imperial encyclopedia Gujin Tushu Jicheng (completed in 1725, of which about 60 copies were made) on behalf of the Empress Dowager Cixi, and today includes more than 450,000 volumes, 7,800 serials, 4.7 million e-books, and other unique and non-print materials such as oracle bones, paper god prints, local gazetteers, genealogy records, and DVDs. The collection is particularly strong in regards to history, philosophy, traditional literature, and increasingly film studies, and is ranked among the largest and most prominent Chinese Studies collections in North America.
Detailed information about the Starr Library is available on its website at http://library.columbia.edu/indiv/eastasian/
(Reporting from New York City)
中国企业家捐款5万美元支持哥大中国馆藏
美国中文网 Dec 20, 2013
中國企業家捐款哥大東亞圖書館
世界日報 Dec 20, 2013
哥大设基金支持中国馆藏
侨报纽约网 Dec 20, 2013
