‘Open Memory’ contains nearly 100 books on subjects perceived as taboo in the life of cities. With books on the themes of history, memory and space from Istanbul, Rio de Janeiro, Beijing, Mumbai, and New York, the collection surfaces narratives usually excluded from conventional discourses.
‘Open Memory’ was developed within the ‘Compressed: Guantánamos’ exhibition at Studio-X Istanbul April 4th - May 9th 2014, which presented Guantánamo as a starting point to reflect on states of exception and the ambiguities when the rule of law is suspended.
İSTANBUL:
This humble collection of books is brought together to re-think the historical, economic and socio-political transformation of Istanbul. The collection aims to explore politics of remembrance and forgetting within the diverse ethnic and religious composition of the city and provides a general trajectory over the urban transformation that took place in Istanbul in the recent past. Each book takes the reader to different neighborhoods of Istanbul and unearths stories of otherization, forced migration and violence through lived experiences. It is a tour in Istanbul’s long forgotten sites of memory.
1. AGAMBEN, Giorgio. Kutsal İnsan. Ayrıntı Yayınları, 2013.
2. AGAMBEN, Giorgio. Olağanüstü Hal. Varlık Yayınları, 2008.
3. DELEON, Jak. Beyoğlu’nda Beyaz Ruslar, Remzi Yayınevi. İstanbul: Kütüphanesi, 2004.
4. DELEON, Jak. Balat ve Çevresi: Bir Semt Monografisi. Istanbul: Can Yayınevi, 1991.
5. GÜVEN, Dilek. Eylül Olayları. İstanbul: İletişim Yayınları, 2012.
6. KONDAYAN, Ohannes Aram. Sandıktak, Hatıralar: Çocukluk, Tehcir, Ðstanbul. Istanbul: Boğaziçi Üniversitesi Yayınevi, 2013.
7. MARMARA, Rinaldo. Manastırların Penceresinden I̦stanbul XIX. yüzyıl. İstanbul: Bahçeþehir Üniversitesi Yayınları, 2012.
8. ÖĞÜT, Hande. Kadın Öykülerinde İstanbul. Istanbul: Sel Yayıncılık, 2008.
9. ÖZ, Ali. Tarlabaşı Ayıp Şehir = A Defiled Istanbul District. Istanbul Fotoğrafevi Yayinlari, 2013.
10. ÖZDALGA, Elisabeth; OLSSON, Tord; RAUDVERE, Catharina. Alevi Identity: Cultural, Religious and Social Perspectives. Istanbul: Swedish Research Institute, 1998.
11. PAMUK, Orhan. The Museum of Innocence. New York: Vintage International, 2010.
12. RAUDVERE, Catharina. The Book and the Roses: Sufi Women, Visibility and Zikr in Contemporary Istanbul. London: I.B.Tauris, 2002.
13. SCOGNAMILLO, Giovanni. Bir Levantenin Beyoğlu Anları. Istanbul: Agora Yayðıevi, 2009.
14. SELÇUK, İlhan. Ziverbey Köşkü. Istanbul: Cumhuriyet Kitapları, 2009.
15. SELEK, Pınar. Maskeler Süvariler Gacðlar: Ülker Sokak Bir Alt Kültürün Dışlanma Mekanı. Istanbul: Ayizi Kitap, 2007.
16. SHAUL, Eli. From Balat to Bat Yam: Memoirs of a Turkish Jew. Istanbul: Libra Yayıncılık, 2012.
17. ŞAHİN, M. Süreyya. Fener Patrikhanesi ve Türkiye. Istanbul: Ötüken Neþrihat, 1999.
18. TURAN, Çimen. Hasretim İstanbul, İstanbul Rumlarının Göç Öyküleri ve Özlemleri. Istanbul: Lozan Mubadilleri Vakfı, 2010.
19. TÜRKER, Orhan. Mega Revma’dan Arnavutköy’e. Istanbul: Sel Yayıncılık, 1999.
20. TÜRKER, Orhan. Osmanlı İstanbul’undan bir köşe Tatavla. Istanbul: Sel Yayıncılık, 2009.
21. VAKA, Demitra. İstanbul’un Peçesiz Kadınları. Istanbul: Kitap Yayınevi, 2003.
22. ZENGIN, Aslı. İktidarın Mahremiyeti : İstanbul’da Hayat Kadınları, Seks İşçiliği. Istanbul: Metis Yayınları, 2011.
23. SERTTAŞ, Tayfun. Trilogy of the Deserted City. New York: GSAPP Books, 2014.
24. KEYDER, Çağlar. Istanbul: Between the Global and the Local. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 1999.
25. ELDEM, Edhem; GOFFMAN, Daniel; MASTERS Bruce. The Ottoman City between East and West : Aleppo, İzmir, Istanbul. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999.
26. KURUYAZICI, Hasan. Armenian Architects of Istanbul in the Era of Westernization. Istanbul: Hrant Dink Foundation Publications, 2011.
RIO DE JANEIRO:
The collection of books consists of scholarly work on Brazilian social and cultural history and includes quintessential pieces of Braziilian social thought as a way of introduction to Brazilian studies and to Rio de Janeiro in its own contradictory and paradoxial ways. The collection aims to provide guidance to those who wants to understand the relationship between culture, space, territory and power in modern Brazil. In addition to scholarly works, there are contemporary movies about Brazilian cities/society.
1. BUARQUE DE HOLLANDA, Sergio. Roots of Brazil. Notre Dame, Ind.: University of Notre Dame Press, 2012.
print
ebook
2. DA CUNHA, Euclides. Backlands: The Canudos Campaign. New York: Penguin Books, 2010.
3. FISHLOW, Albert. Starting Over: Brazil Since 1985. Washington, DC: Brookings, 2011.
4. MARIA DE JESUS, Carolina. Child Of The Dark: The Diary Of Carolina Maria De Jesus. New York: Signet, 2003.
5. FISCHER, Brodwyn. A Poverty of Rights: citizenship and inequality in twentieth-century Rio de Janeiro. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 2008.
6. McCANN, Bryan. Hard Times in the Marvelous City: From Dictatorship to Democracy in the Favelas of Rio de Janeiro. Durham: Duke University Press, 2013.
print
ebook
7. GALEANO, Eduardo. Latin Amerika’nın Kesik Damarları. Istanbul: Çitlembik Yayınları, 2013.
8. BAĞDATLI Abdurrahim Efendi. Brezilya’da İlk Müslümanlar : Brezilya Seyahatnamesi. Istanbul: Kitabevi Yayınları, 2006.
9. REHRMANN, Norbert. Simon Bolivar: Latin Amerika’yı Özgürlüğüne Kavuşturan Adamın Hayat Hikayesi. Istanbul: İletişim Yayınları, 2012.
10- ÖZBUDUN, Sibel; HUBERMAN, Marcos Leo; SUAREZ, Luis; SARI, Cadihe; PARENTI, Micheal; HERNANDEZ, Silvio Soriano; DEMİRER, Temel; AUBRY, ANDRE. Latin Amerika Yerlileri. Istanbul: Anahtar Kitaplar Yayınevi, 2006.
FILM
1. Caradiru. Directed & Produced by Hector BABENCO, 2003.1z
2. The Year My Parents Went On Vacation. Directed by Cao HAMBURGER, 2006.
3. Mutum. Directed by Sandra KOGUT, 2007.
4. The Human Scale. Directed by Andreas DALSGAARD, 2012.
BEIJING:
The list of books from Beijing are brought together with a very valuable effort towards circumventing the existing bans on the distribution of such publications that have provoked discussions in China and recieved international recognition. The list spans a vast area of subjects including history, architecture and personal narratives wich enables the reader to achieve a critical understanding of modern China with a particular focus on Beijing.
1. FLEISCHER, Friederike. Suburban Beijing: Housing and Consumption in Contemporary China. Minneapolis: University Of Minnesota Press, 2010.
print
ebook
2. GRECO, Claudio and SANTORO, Carlo. Beijing: The New City. Milan: Skira Editore, 2008.
3. JISHENG, Yang. Tombstone: the Great Chinese Famine, 1958-1962. New York: Penguin Books, 2012.
4. LIANG, Zhong. The Tiananmen Papers. Puplic Affairs, 2002.
5. LIXIONG, Wang and TSERING, Shakya. The Struggle for Tibet. New York: Verso, 2009.
6. MANGURIAN, Robert and RAY, Mary-Ann. Caochangdi: Beijing Inside Out: Farmers, Floaters, taxi Drivers, Artists, and the International Art Mob Challenge and Remake the City. Hong Kong: Timezone 8, 2008.
7. QISHENG, Jiang. My Life in Prison: Memoirs of a Chinese Political Dissident. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2012.
8. WEIFANG, Liu. No Enemies, No Hatred: Selected Essays and Poems. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2012.
print
ebook
9. XIAOBO, He. In The Name of Justice: Striving for the Rule of Law in China. Washington, D.C.: Brookings Institution Press, 2012.
10-YOUYU, Xu and ZE, Hua. In the Shadow of the Rising Dragon: Stories of Repression in the New China. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2013.
11. ROCCA, Jean-Louis. Çin’in Sosyolojisi. Istanbul: İletişim Yayınları, 2011.
MUMBAI:
The book list comprises of material which looks at conditions of ‘displacement’ and ‘isolation’ through texts spanning historical events, fictional narrations, rituals an deven speculative observations. From caste to urban eviction to communal differences we see how the past, present and future of cultural, social, political, spatial and other such constructs seem to form and evolve constantly redefining the issues affecting India’s development, urban as well as rural.
1. FERNANADES, Naresh. City Adrift. New Delhi: Aleph Book Company, 2013.
2. GANESH, Kamala; THAKKAR, Usha; CHADHA, Gita. Zero Point Bombay: In and Around Horniman Circle. New Delhi: Lotus Books, 2008.
3. PRAKASH, Gyan. Mumbai Fables. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2010.
print
ebook
4. SEN, Amartya. The Argumentative Indian: Writings on Indian History, Culture and Identity. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2005.
5. ZAIDI, S.Hussein; BORGES, Jane. Mafia Queens of Mumbai: Stories of Women from the Ganglands. New Delhi: Tranquebar Press: 2011.
6. Dharavi : Documenting Informalities. Stockholm: Royal University College of Fine Arts, 2009.
7. DOSSAL, Mariam. Mumbai: Theatre of Conflict, City of Hope: Mumbai, 1660 to Present Times. New York: Oxford University Press, 2010.
8. CHANNA, Subhadra Mitra ; MENCHER, Joan P. Life as a Dalit : Views from the Bottom on Caste in India. New Delhi: SAGE Publications, 2013.
9. GANDHI; Jagdish. A Tale of Native Towns of Mumbai. Sundaram Art Printing Press.
10. MALHOTRA, Rajiv; NEELAKAN, Aravindan. Breaking India : Western Interventions in Dravidian and Dalit Faultlines. New Delhi: Amaryllis, 2011.
11. FAROOQUI, Amar. Opium City : The Making of Early Victorian Bombay. Gurgaon: Three Essays Collective, 2006.
12. MEHTA, Suketu. Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found. London: Review, 2004.
13. ZAIDI, Hussain. Dongri to Dubai : Six Decades of the Mumbai Mafia. New Delhi: Lotus Collection, 2012.
NEW YORK:
The book list is meant to offer alternative perspectives and accounts of New York City’s histories. Dominant narratives often depict the “Big Apple" as the epicenter of America’s patchwork nation of immigrants and a symbol of its entrepreneurial spirit. But the story was not as simple then, and remains more complicated today – New York City has among the highest rates of income inequality in the US, and the gap continues to grow. Books from the selection explore the urban policies and decisions that have actively shaped the city’s landscape over time; document lesser-known, contested histories and movements that emerged from them; and provide different perspectives on well-known histories.
1. ANBINDER, Tyler. Five Points: The 19th Century New York City Neighborhood that Invented Tap Dance Stole Elections, and Became the World's Most Notorious Slum. New York: Free Press, 2001.
2. CHAUNCEY, George. Gay New York: Gender, Urban Culture, and the Making of the Gay Male World, 1890-1940. New York: BasicBooks, 1994.
print
ebook
3. HAW, Richard. The Brooklyn Bridge: A Cultural History. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2008.
4. HELMREICH, William B. The New York Nobody Knows: Walking 6,000 Miles in the City. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2013.
5. LUNE, Howard. Urban Action Networks: HIV/AIDS and Community Organizing in New York City. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2006.
6. MARTHA, Cooper. Hip Hop Files: Photographs 1979-1984. Berlin: From Here to Fame, 2013.
7. OSMAN, Suleiman. The Invention of Brownstone Brooklyn: Gentrification and the Search for Authenticity in Postwar New York. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011.
print
ebook
8. PETERSON, Carla L. Black Gotham: A Family History of African Americans in Nineteenth-Century New York City. New Haven, Conn.: Yale University Press, 2011.
print
ebook
9. RINGGOLD, Faith. Tar Beach. New York: Dragonfly Books, 1996.
10. RIIS, Jacob. How the Other Half Lives: Studies Among the Tenements of New York. New York : Bedford Books of St. Martin's Press, 1996.
print
ebook
11. SIMPSON, David. 9/11: The Culture of Commemoration. Chicago: University of Chicago, 2006.
12. ZIPP, Samuel. Manhattan Projects: The Rise and Fall of Urban Renewal in Cold War New York. New York: Oxford University Press, 2010.
13. SENNET, Richard. The Corrosion of Character: the Personal Consequences of Work in the New Capitalism. New York: Norton, 1998.