Research & Policy Centers (A through F)
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online: Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- The Arms Control Association: The ACA website provides access to its journal, Arms Control Today, background information & analysis on the Comprehensive Test Ban (CTB) Treaty, and other arms control briefings, fact sheets, and background papers.
- Bonn International Center for Conversion (BICC): BICC is an independent non-profit organization dedicated to promoting and facilitating the processes whereby people, skills, technology, equipment, and financial and economic resources can be shifted away from the defense sector and applied to alternative civilian uses.
- The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace: The Endowment conducts programs of research, discussion, publication, and education in international affairs and U.S. foreign policy, including migration, nuclear non-proliferation, regional conflicts, multilateralism, democracy-building, and the use of force.
- The Carter Center: The Center wages peace by bringing warring parties to the negotiating table, monitoring elections, safeguarding human rights, and building strong democracies through economic development.
- Center for Strategic and International Studies: The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a public policy research institution dedicated to policy analysis and impact. CSIS is the only institution of its kind that maintains resident experts on all the world's major geographical regions. It also covers key functional areas, such as international finance, the emerging markets, U.S. domestic and economic policy related to the Strengthening of America, and U.S. foreign policy and national security issues.
- Centre for Conflict Resolution, University of Bradford, UK: The Centre for Conflict Resolution (CCR), which is based in the Department of Peace Studies, was established in 1990. From the beginning, emphasis has been placed on combining the ideas and experiences of both academics and practitioners and on the transference of research findings into practical applications. Research themes are: Peacebuilding from Below, Peacekeeping and Conflict Resolution, and Education and Training in Non-Violent Conflict Resolution Skills. Publication: UN & Conflict Monitor
- Conciliation Resources: Conciliation Resources serves as an international resource for local or national organisations pursuing peace or conflict prevention initiatives. The principal objective is to support sustained practical activities of those working at the community and national levels to prevent or transform violent conflict into opportunities for social, political and economic development based on more just relationships.
- Council for a Livable World: The Council provides the U.S. Congress with sophisticated technical and scientific information that helps them make intelligent decisions about nuclear arms control, strategic and conventional weapons, the military budget and United Nations peacekeeping. Council for a Livable World will continue to advocate deep reductions and elimination of weapons of mass destruction.
- FIRST - Facts on International Relations and Security Trends: Information from research institutes around the world. It covers armed conflicts and peace keeping, arms production and trade, military expenditure, armed forces and conventional weapons holding, nuclear weapons, and more.
G through Z
- International Conflict Research Institute (INCORE): A joint initiative of the University of Ulster and the United Nations University.
- International Crisis Group: A private, multinational organisation committed to strengthening the capacity of the international community to understand and respond to impending crises. ICG's approach is grounded in field research ... and advocacy." Includes a Conflict Histories database, a Map database, and a monthly CrisisWatch newsletter.
- International Peace Institute: An independent, non-partisan, international organization dedicated to promoting the peaceful settlement of armed conflicts between and within states. It works closely with the United Nations, regional and other international organizations, governments, and parties to conflicts.
- International Peace Research Institute, Oslo (PRIO): Research at PRIO concentrates on the driving forces behind violent conflict and on ways in which peace can be built, maintained and spread. In addition to theoretical and empirical research, PRIO also conducts policy-oriented activities and engages in the search for solutions in cases of actual or potential violent conflict.
- The Nautilus Institute for Security and Sustainability: Our shared vision is a peaceful, ethical, and sustainable world for our time. To this end, the Mission of the Nautilus Institute is to improve global problem solving by applying and refining the strategic tools of cooperative engagement to fundamental problems undermining global security and sustainability.
- Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI): NTI's mission is to strengthen global security by reducing the risk of use and preventing the spread of nuclear, biological and chemical weapons. It is co-chaired by former Senator Sam Nunn and CNN founder Ted Turner. Program areas include: United States, Russia/New Independent States, Biological, Regional, and Public Education and Outreach.
- PIR Center: Center for Policy Studies in Russia: Although its name and flexible structure permit it to conduct research on a wide range of issues related to Russian foreign and domestic policy, the Center is currently focused on international security, arms control, and nonproliferation issues that are directly related to Russia's internal situation.
- RAND: A nonprofit institution that helps improve public policy through research and analysis. RAND research is carried out within centers, programs, and institutes that focus on particular areas of policy concern.
- Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
- Union of Concerned Scientists: One of the main issues covered is Nuclear Weapons & Global Security.