Music in Latin America, the Caribbean, Portugal & Spain: Listen to Music

Offers audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes for traditional roots music. The collection includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Includes music recorded around the African continent for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University and material collected on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.

"Contemporary world music will contain 50,000 tracks that delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian global sound for libraries - it includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world"--About the database.

Collection of audio music containing the Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo cataloges; includes classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world and folk music, along with textual notes on the works being played and biographical information on composers or artists.

Includes recordings from major labels, such as EMI, independent labels, such as Hyperion and CBC, and self-published recordings from major groups, for example, the London Symphony orchestra. Also includes program notes, composer biographies, and images cross-referenced to the recordings.Provides musical sound recordings and MIDI files, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history, and glossary), and images. The music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages through to the present. Users navigate through browse lists, a search engine and music track playlists.