Philosophy: Find Articles/Reviews/Source texts

Philosophy databases (for articles)

• Philosopher's Index (Covers research published after 1940 in all fields of philosophy.)
• PhilPapers
• Poiesis
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Philosophy

Subject-related databases

• ATLAReligion
• Index Islamicus
• PEP Web (Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing)
• Historical Abstracts

General databases with strong focus on philosophy

• JSTOR
• Project MUSE
• Wiley Online Library
• International Bibliography of Book Reviews
• International Bibliography of Periodical Literature
• Web of Knowledge
• Periodicals Archive Online

• Aristoteles Latinus The complete corpus of medieval Greek-Latin translations of the works of Aristotle.
• Classical Latin Texts A full-text database of ca. 350 authors of Latin literature (virtually all classical literary texts up to A.D. 200, together with a few later texts (Servius, Porphyry, Justinian, Zeno).
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Provides full-text and full-page-image access to a vast range of English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera.
• Electronic Enlightenment Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends. Coverage includes letters and documents, manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.
• The Online Library of Liberty Includes a library of free classical texts and a forum for discussion.
• Oxford Scholarship Online - Philosophy
  Makes available selected classic as well as newly published Oxford University Press books in philosophy.
• Nietzsche Online Apart from the authoritative editions of the works (KGW) and the letters (KGB), the database Nietzsche Online contains all De Gruyter publications on Nietzsche.
• Past Masters
  Includes collections of works (some in the original language) by key philosophers such Aquinas, Aristotle, Descartes, Hegel, Hume, Kant, Leibniz, Locke, Mill, Nietzsche, Plato, Rousseau, Spinoza, and others.

Ask A Librarian

Need help?

You can ask a librarian through online chat, by email, phone, or in person. 

FAQ

Have a quick question?

Check for the answer in our frequently asked questions.