Research Guides: Comparative Urban Policy: Research Guide: Find Other Resources

Reference Materials

Reference materials provide a good, working knowledge of key issues and sub-topics and provide ideas for other sources to explore. Beyond this list, you should know that all of the following types of materials can be helpful reference material for your research: almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.

For guidance on research methodology please consider:

Sage Research Methods
Imagining Queer Methods Edited by Amin Ghaziani and Matt Brim
Qualitative Inquiry Through a Critical Lens: E-resource that highlights work being done in qualitative inquiry through a variety of critical lenses such as new materialism, queer theory, and narrative inquiry.

Directories:

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Conflict Resolution
Encyclopedia of Governance: Information on topics surrounding governance for the period between the collapse of the post-war consensus and the rise of neoliberal regimes.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement: Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies: Address the specific theories, key studies, and important figures that have influenced not just the individual discipline but also the field of urban studies more generally.
Historical Dictionary of Multinational Peacekeeping: Online and print available, call number: JZ 6374 .M38 2004
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences: Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences

Guides & Handbooks

Oxford Handbooks Online. Philosophy: Offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
The Oxford Handbook of Political Theory: Analysis of historical texts sits alongside more analytical work on the nature and normative grounds of political values.
Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
Peace Agreements: Chronology and full texts of selected peace accords and processes from around the world, from INCORE.
Political Handbook of the world: Contains entries on countries and territories around the world. It covers each country's political parties and includes names of key ambassadors, international memberships, and profiles intergovernmental organizations.
Social Theory: Offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization.
World Bank Understanding Poverty

Other Reference Materials

American National Biography: Biographical essays on notable Americans including artists and writers. Entries are for deceased individuals.
Biography in Context: Comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Oxford Bibliographies
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas.
Oxford Reference online
Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.
Gale virtual reference library: Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Writing Public Policy: A Practical Guide to Communicating in the Policy Making Process
Available in hard copy in Lehman Reference, JF1525.C59 S64 2010
Effective Writing in the Public Sector
Available in hard copy in Lehman Reference, JF1525.R46 S83 2014