Modern Tibetan Studies Research Guide: HIstory

If you are looking for biographical information, the first and easiest place to start is by conducting a "Person Search" in the BDRC website.  Another useful source is an unpublished list of biographical references, compiled by Dan Martin (see under General Biographical Resources: Online Resources below). This includes personal names from several of the texts below. Other online resources include "Who Was Who in Tibet?" compiled by the Pitt Rivers Museum.
 

Featured Resources

TREASURY OF LIVES
An illustrated website of biographies of religious figures in Tibetan Buddhism. Each biography is linked with the Buddhist Buddhist Resource Center (BDRC) and Himalayan Art Resources (HAR). Independent scholars, professors, and graduate students contributed te the biographies and essays now on the site. Contributions to this collaborative effort are welcome.

The Treasury website is designed to associate each biography with five categories: tradition, community, historical period, geography, and natural landmark. Traditions are broadly conceived as having either institutional or doctrinal independence. Community includes both monastic institutions and clan structures. Geography includes both “traditional” and contemporary organizations of Tibetan space: one can browse via the Tibetan categories of U-Tsang, Kham and Amdo, within which are further divisions, or by contemporary provinces, prefectures, and counties. The category of  "Natural Landmarks" includes mountains, lakes, and caves with which religious figures are associated. All of these categories – known as “facets” in the terminology of the web – can be combined with each others to optimize browsing, so that user might, for example, browse for 13th century Kagyu lamas who were associated with Kailash, expand it to include Sakya, or narrow it to exclude all but Drigung Kagyu.

The Treasury uses both Extended Wylie and the phonetic system created for the Rubin Museum of Art: no diacritics, no umlauts, no acute accents. The site anticipates multiple phonetic rendering of names, acknowledging the lack of a single authoritative system, particularly useful for those times when the proper Wylie spelling is not known. Searches for Phagmodrupa or Phakmodrupa will both be directed to Pagmodrupa.  The Treasury database is borrowed from the Person records of BDRC, and the goal is to provide a biography of every known Tibetan religious figure, excluding those still living. 
 

MODERN TIBETAN AUTOBIOGRAPHIES (Columbia University)
A list of nearly one hundred English-language autobiographical writings on life in Tibet, compiled by Professor Gray Tuttle for his "20th Century Tibetan History" course. Many entries include summaries, abstracts, reviews, or other notes, contributed by students over the years. 
See also Tibetan Biographies in Translation 

General Biographical Resources

ONLINE RESOURCES

Dan Martin, comp. Tibetological: Biographical Resources

The following key works are searchable at Dan Martin’s Tibetological Google site: https://sites.google.com/site/tibetological/50-tibetan-geo-texts/Home/bio-refs

PART ONE:  Ko-zhul Grags-pa-'byung-gnas & Rgyal-ba-blo-bzang-mkhas-grub, Gangs-can Mkhas-grub Rim-byon Ming-mdzod (A Dictionary of Historical Masters of Learning and Accomplishment in the Snow Land), Kan-su'u Mi-rigs Dpe-skrun-khang (Lanzhou 1992).

PART TWO:  Don-rdor & Bstan-’dzin-chos-grags, Gangs-ljongs Lo-rgyus Thog-gi Grags-can Mi-sna (Select Famous Persons in Tibetan History), Bod-ljongs Mi-dmangs Dpe-skrun-khang (Lhasa 1993).

PART THREE:  Personal Name Index to George Roerich, Blue Annals. This was done by Asia Classics Input Project (with some very slight modifications done by myself).

PART FOUR:  Dbang-'dus-tshe-ring & 'Phrin-las-rgya-mtsho, Bod-kyi Sgra-sgyur Lo-rgyus dang Lo-tsâ-ba Rim-byon-gyi Mdzad-rnam Gsal-ba'i Me-long (A Clarifying Mirror of the Biographies of Historical Translators and the History of Translations in Tibet), Mi-rigs Dpe-skrun-khang (Beijing 2001), pp. 182-329.

PART FIVE:  Bla-ma-skyabs, Bod-kyi Mkhas-pa Rim-byon-gyi Gso-rig Gsung-'bum Dkar-chag [a bio-bibliography of Tibetan physicians], Kan-su'u Mi-rigs Dpe-skrun-khang (Lanzhou 1997).

Note: One biographical dictionary that has not been included here, as yet, is Mi-nyag Mgon-po, Gangs-can Mkhas-dbang Rim-byon-gyi Rnam-thar Mdor-bsdus, Krung-go'i Bod-kyi Shes-rig Dpe-skrun-khang (Beijing 1996).

Print editions of the above dictionaries are available in the C.V. Starr East Asian Library.

Dictionary of Learned and or Accomplished People Who Appeared in Tibet
Tibetan-Tibetan dictionary with an informative introduction in English by Lotsawa Tony Duff and entries for over 2,250 people who appeared in Tibet over the last 1,400 years, including kings, their ministers, a large number of spiritual practitioners, etc. Available for free download on the the Padma Karpo Translation Committee website. 

Chronology of Buddhism by Matthieu Ricard
Research list from Matthieu Ricard, of significant personages in the history of Buddhismwith lnks to bios and other entries in the Dharma Dictionary.

Person des Tibetischen Buddhismus
This resource on the German Wikipedia page lists some 200 lamas, based in significant part on the work, Danzhu’angben (ed.). Zang zu da ci dian (Bod rigs tshig mdzod chen mo). Lanzhou Shi: Gan su ren min chu ban she, 2003

Related sites:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Tibetan_Buddhist_titles
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Lamas

"Who Was Who in Tibet?": Biographical Handbook of Tibet in the First Half of the Twentieth Century
Compiled by the Pitt Rivers Museum, this searchable database is based on Hugh Richardson's work regarding mid-20th century with a focus on Tibetan officials and aristocrats; includes many photographic images.

Tibetan Who's Who
This blog offers substantial biographies of leading contemporary (or late-twentieth century) Tibetan government leaders, religious teachers, intellectuals, educators, etc. Most entries in English, but also a few in Tibetan.

COMPILATIONS IN PRINT FORMAT

Bilingual concordance of Tibetan personal and family names and Chinese character equivalents organized thus:

• Dpal brtsegs Bod yig dpe rnying zhib 'jug khang, ed. Bod kyi lo rgyus rnam thar phyogs bsgrigs bzhugs so. Xining: Mtsho sngon mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2010-  Collection of Tibetan religious and political histories 
• Wilkinson, Endymion. Chinese History: A Manual, Revised and Enlarged. Cambridge: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 2000, pp. 94-130 (Han people); 707-720 (Non-Han Peoples).  CLIO link.
• Wang Gui. Bod rigs kyi rus ming dpyad pa = Zangzu renming yanjiu. [Beijing]: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang. 1991.

1. personal names listed according to Tibetan alphabet, pp. 81-140; this is indexed by a) Chinese character stroke number, pp. 141-154; b) by Pinyin pronunciation, organized according to English alphabet, pp. 155-160; c) by English phonetic transcription, pp. 161-163;

2. historical Central Tibetan nobility's family names, pp. 167-190;

3. Local rulers (tusi), myriarchs, chiliarchs, tribal/clan leaders, family names, pp. 191-214 (listing area that each family ruled);

4. important incarnation lamas' names, pp. 215-219 (listing area associated with each incarnation);
Sections 1-4 are also indexed by a) Chinese character stroke number, pp. 221-227; b) by Pinyin pronunciation, organized according to English alphabet, pp. 228-235;

5. final section lists titles of government and monastic officials as well as academic degrees, pp. 239-254; also indexed by a) Chinese character stroke number, pp. 265-266; b) by Pinyin pronunciation, organized according to English alphabet, pp. 257-259.

• Guansheng Chen; Caidan An. Chang jian Zang yu ren ming di ming ci dian = Dictionary of common Tibetan personal and place names. Beijing: Wai wen chu ban she, 2004.  CLIO link
• Bod skad kyi mi'i ming Bod rgya shan sbyar=Zangyu renming yin yi (Zang Han duizhao). Xining: 2006.  CLIO link
  Tibetan and Chinese index for family and personal names.
• For titles, often included as part of names, see: Tarab Tulku, "A Brief History of Tibetan Academic Degrees in Buddhist Philosophy," NIAS Reports, No. 43 (2000).
  Largely focused on Bka' gdams/Dge lugs degrees.
• Dbang 'dus tshe ring & 'Phrin las rgya mtsho. Bod kyi sgra sgyur lo rgyus dang lo tsA ba rim byon gyi mdzad rnam gsal ba'i me long = Zang zu fan yi shi ji li dai yi shi zhuan lue ming jian. Pe cin: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2001.
  Translators, who probably all predate the modern period.
• Mkhas dbang Tshe tan zhabs drung gi dpyad rtsom mkha bsdus; 'Jigs med chos 'phags kyis bsgrigs. Bod kyi lo tsA ba rim byon gyi bsgyur tshul skor. Lanzhou: Kan su'u mi rigs dpe skrun Khang, 1994.
  First published in Mtsho sngon slob gso, 1985-1.
• Bod dang/ Bar khams/ Rgya sog bcas kyi bla sprul rnams kyi skye phreng deb gzhung. In Bod kyi gal che'i lo rgyus yig cha bdams bsgrigs [Xizang zhong yao li shi zi liao xuan bian]. Ed. by Tshe brtan phun tshogs, Chab spel & Mi 'gyur rdo rje. Lhasa: Bod ljongs mi dmangs dpe skrun khang, 1991 [1814/1820].
  Part V, p. 281-369. Genealogies of incarnations of [Central] Tibet, Khams, & Sinified Mongols [rgya sog seems to means Amdo] lamas (pp. 368-369); See Martin #588, p. 215: "compiled for the official use of the Manchu Amban in 1814, with additions made in 1820. See Dan Martin's searchable list of this material.
• ‘Bro sbyin pa (ed.). Yul mdo khams stod kyi mkhas grub brgya rtsa'i gsung 'bum dkar chag phyogs gcig tu bsgrigs pa dwangs gsal shel gyi me long [Clear Crystal Mirror: Collection of Catalogues of Hundreds of Scholars from Upper Kham]. Xining: Mtsho sngon mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2008.  CLIO link
• Dge shis chos grags, Ldong ka tshang; Skal bzang sgrol ma, Ldong ka tshang; Bsod nams lha mo, Ldong ka tshang. Bod kyi gdung rus zhib 'jug. Pe cin: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2001.
  Fascinating treatment of Tibetan history by attending to clan names throughout history. Most of the book is introductions to and lists of the key players (not just prominent laymen but also religious figures, a virtual who's who) in Tibetan history by period (from pre-history, to Tibetan imperial period, and so on up to the Ganden Podrang period and the present: this last section is a rare resource for information on contemporary Tibetan intellectuals). Finally, there is an alphabetical list of clan names.
• Khetsun Sangpo, ed. Biographical dictionary of Tibet and Tibetan Buddhism. Bod du sgrub brgyad shing rta mched brgyad las. 12 Vols. Dharamsala, H. P., Library of Tibetan Works and Archives, 1973.
  Organized by sectarian divisions (Indian teachers, Rnying ma, etc.)
• ’Ba’ ra bka’ brgyud gser ’phreng chen mo. Dehradun: Ngawang Gyaltsen and Ngawang Lungtok, 1970. 4 vols. CLIO link (Also available in TBRC: W19231, Vol.1-4; Retrieved from http://tbrc.org/#!rid=W19231 )

This is a collection of life-writings on 32 great masters of Drukpa Bara Kagyud tradition set in four volumes. Vol. 1: Buddha Vajradhara to Yang dgon pa rgyal mtshan dpal; Vol.2: Spyan mnga’ rin chen ldan to Nam mkha’ rdo rje; Vol.3: Nam mkha’ dpal ’byor to Ngag dbang ye shes; Vol. 4. Ngag dbang chos grags rgya mtsho to Rig ’dzin chos dbyings rdo rje (1772-1838)  (Entry added by Sonam Tsering.)

• Rnam thar gser phreng. Dharamsala: ’Phags yul kirti byes pa grwa tshang, 2002-2007. 15 Vols. TBRC W2CZ7862, Vols. 1-15. CLIO LINK Also available in TBRC: W2CZ7862

Biographies of incarnated Geluk masters from Kirti Monastery in Ngawa, Amdo. (Entry added by Sonam Tsering.)

• Grags pa 'byung gnas, Ko zhul; Blo bzang mkhas grub, Rgyal ba, eds. Gangs can mkhas grub rim byon ming mdzod. Lanzhou: Kan su'u Mi rigs Dpe skrun khang, 1992.
  Dictionary of biographical sketches of prominent Tibetan scholars, philosophers, saints, etc. up to the 1950's. Sorted alphabetically, no index, short entries.
• Don rdor, and Bstan 'dzin chos grags. Gangs ljongs lo rgyus thog gi grags can mi sna. Lhasa: Bod ljongs mi dmangs dpe skrun khang, 1993.
  Biographical reference work up to the time of the 13th Dalai Lama (d.1933) arranged chronologically according to periods in Tibetan history. Includes about 700 biographies, although the Table of contents only lists the most prominent in each of the historic periods.
• Mgon po, Mi nyag. Gangs can mkhas dbang rim byon gyi rnam thar mdor bsdus bdud rtsi'i thigs phreng. Vol. 1. Pe cin: Krung go'i Bod kyi shes rig dpe skrun khang: Mtsho sngon Zhing chen Zhin-hwa dpe tshon khang gis bkram. 1996.  CLIO link
  Biographies of Tibetan Buddhist lamas, sorted chronologically by individuals.
• Ye shes rdo rje, et al. Gangs can mkhas dbang rim byon gyi rnam thar mdor bsdus bdud rtsi'i thigs phreng. Vol. 2. Pe cin: Krung go'i Bod kyi shes rig dpe skrun khang, 2000.
• Lake Yixiduojie (Ra kho? Ye shes rdo rje). Zang chuan fo jiao gao seng zhuan lue . 2nd edition. Xining: Qinghai renmin chubanshe, 2007. In Chinese and Tibetan.  CLIO link
• Mi rigs dpe mdzod khang, ed. Bod gangs chen gyi grub mtha' ris med kyi mkhas dbang brgya dang brgyad cu lhag gi gsung 'bum so so'i dkar chag phyogs gcig du bsgrigs pa shes bya'i gter mdzod. Zangwen dianji mulu. Chengdu: Si khron mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 3 vols. 1984-1997.  CLIO link
  Each listing of collected works is followed by a brief biography of the author in Tibetan and Chinese.
• Byams pa phrin las. Gangs ljongs gso rig bstan pa'i nyin byed rim byon gyi rnam thar phyogs bsgrigs (Biographical dictionary of Tibetan medical teachers).Pe cin: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2000.
• Lhag pa tshe ring, and Ngag dbang chos grags, eds. Gsung 'bum dkar chag; full title: Zhwa ser bstan pa'i sgron me Rje Tsong kha pa chen pos gtsos skyes chen dam pa rim byung gi gsung 'bum dkar chag phyogs gcig tu bsgrigs pa'i dri med zla shel gtsang ma'i me long. Lhasa: Bod ljongs mi dmangs dpe skrun khang, 1990.
  List of collected works of famous Gelukpa figures (Tibetan & Mongol) up to the modern era, followed by a brief biography of the author in Tibetan and Chinese.
• Blo bzang 'phrin las, Dung dkar. Mkhas dbang Dung dkar Blo bzang 'phrin las mchog gis mdzad pa'i Bod rig pa'i tshig mdzod chen mo shes bya rab gsal = Dung dkar tshig mdzod. Pe cin: Krung go'i Bod rig pa'i dpe skrun khang, 2002. This dictionary is particularly strong for its many and extensive biographical entries.  CLIO link.
• Lokesh Chandra. Materials for a history of Tibetan literature. Sata-pitaka series. Indo-Asian literatures, v. 28-30. New Delhi, [International Academy of Indian Culture] 1963.
  Contains biographical information on authors covered. (MHTL in TBRC)
• Zeng Guojing and Guo Weibing. Lidai Zangzu mingren zhuan [Biographies of Famous Tibetans in Successive Dynasties]. Lhasa: Xizang renmin chubanshe, 1996.
• Yu Lingbo. Zhongguo jinxiandai Fojiao renwu zhi [Records of Chinese Contemporary Buddhist Figures]. Beijing: Zongjiao wenhua chubanshe, 1995.
  Mostly Chinese figures, including some who studied Tibetan Buddhism, and a few lamas.
• Dudjom Rinpoche, Jikdrel Yeshe Dorje ; translated and edited by Gyurme Dorje in colaboration with Matthew Kapstein. The Nyingma School of Tibetan Buddhism : its fundamentals and history. Boston: Wisdom Publications, 1991.
• Eva M. [i.e. K.] Dargyay. The rise of esoteric Buddhism in Tibet . Delhi : Motilal Banarsidass, 1977.

Includes hagiographies of twenty-three important masters of the Nyingma traditions (including Gelukpa students of the tradition, such as the fifth Dalai Lama) 85-197, as well as useful lists and chronologies in the back matter.

• Jam dbyangs rdo rje, Smyo shul Mkhan po; Richard Barron. A marvelous garland of rare gems:biographies of masters of awareness in the Dzogchen lineage: a spiritual history of the teachings on Natural Great Perfection. Junction City, CA : Padma Pub, 2005.
• Tulku Thondup, Masters of Meditation and Miracles: the Longchen Nyingthig lineage of Tibetan Buddhism. Boston: Shambhala, 1996.
  Lists many teachers from E. Tibet.
• Biographical Materials about Bonpo Masters: A collection of rare Bonpo biographical sketches calligraphed from manuscripts from Nepal and Tibet at the Tibetan Bonpo Monastic Centre, Dolanji. Dolanji, India: Lopon Tenzin Namdak, Tibetan Bonpo Monastic Centre, 1981.
• Tsering, Tashi, ed. Biographical Dictionary of Tibetan Women. 10 vols. Dharamsala: Amnye Machen Institute, forthcoming (?).
• Ya, Hanzhang. The Biographies of the Dalai Lamas. Translated by Wang Wenjiong. Beijing: Foreign Languages Press, 1991.
• ———. Biographies of the Tibetan Spiritual Leaders: Panchen Erdenis. Translated by Chen Guansheng and Li Peizhu. Beijing: Foreign Language Press, 1994.
• Series: Rgyal dbang sku phreng rim byon gyi rnam mdzad. Beijing: Krung-goi' Bod rig pa dpe skrun khang, 2010-2013. Titles in CLIO

v. 1:  Dalai Lamas 1-4; v. 2-7:  Dalai Lama 5; v. 8: Dalai Lama 6; v. 9-10: Dalai Lama 7; v. 11: Dalai Lama 8; v. 14-15: Dalai Lama 13.

• Also on the Dalai and Panchen Lamas: Lungta has two issues, on the biographies of the Panchen (no. 10)  and Dalai Lamas (no. 7); see also: Martin Brauen's edited volume on the Dalai Lamas.
• Petech, Luciano. Aristocracy and Government in Tibet, 1728-1959. 1973.  CLIO link
  His work on the Lhasa nobility is exceptional in paying attention to non-religious figures.
• Bärlocher, Daniel.  Testimonies of Tibetan Tulkus: a research among reincarnate Buddhist masters in exile . Rikon/Zürich, Switzerland : Tibet-Institute, 1982.  CLIO Link

Vol 2 contains listing (in his own phonetic of many of the most prominent lamas/monks and their families) based on exiled Tibetan interviews.

• Association for Asian Studies, L.C. Goodrich, Zhaoying Fang. Dictionary of Ming biography, 1368-1644. New York : Columbia University Press, 1976. Includes Karmapa V (see: Helima).  CLIO Link.
• Hummel, Arthur William. Eminent Chinese of the Ch`ing period (1644-1912). 2 vols. Washington : U.S. G.P.O. 1943-1944, or Taipei, Cheng Wen Pub. House, 1972, 2 vols. in 1.
  Includes biographies of Dalai & Panchen Lamas, as well as many dynastic officials and family members who dealt with Tibet and Tibetans.
• Cheng, Joseph K. H., Richard C. Howard, ed. and Howard L. Boorman, ed. 1967-1971, 1979. Biographical dictionary of Republican China. 5 vols.
  Over 600 biographies. Includes biographies of Dalai, Panchen and Nor lha Lamas, as well as many militarists who patronized Tibetan Buddhists.
• Charles O Hucker. A dictionary of official titles in Imperial China. Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 1985.
   

Regionally-Focused Biography Compilations

• Sichuan sheng difang zhi bianji weiyuanhui, Sheng zhi renwu zhi bianji and Ren Yimin, eds.  Sichuan jin xian dai ren wu zhuan (Biographies of Sichuan’s Contemporary Figures). Ed. by Sichuan sheng difang zhi ziliao congshu. 6 volumes. Chengdu: Sichuan sheng shehui kexue yuan chubanshe, 1985-
  Includes entries for some Tibetans.

• Rgyal mo rong gi mkhas chen ʼgaʼi rnam thar phyogs sgrigs / Btsan-lha Ngag-dbang-tshul-khrims dang Sgrol-dkar-skyid kyis bsgrigs. Pe-cin : Krung goʼi Bod-rig-pa dpe-skrun-khang, 2017.

Biographical accounts of Tibetan Buddhist scholars from Gyelrong.

• Shar Rgyal-mo-tsha-ba-rong gi lo rgyus dang rig gnas dpe tshogs. Chengdu: Si-khron mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2017.  *See vols. 5-7. Rgyal-rong lo rgyus mi sna grags can skor = 嘉绒地区名人

Biographies of Mongolian Buddhist and Other Figures

Bibliographical guide of the Mongolian writers in the Tibetan language and the Mongolian translators = Mongolchuudyn Tȯvd khėlėėr tuurvisan Mongol khėlėnd orchuulsan nom zu̇ĭn bu̇rtgėl, compiled by Ragchaagiĭn Bi͡ambaa. Ulaanbaatar : [publisher not identified], 2004-   8 volumes (Columbia lacks v.4 and v.7)

Includes biographical summaries.

Publications of Mongolian learned lamas published in Tibetan language / edited by Sh. Choimaa = Mongolyn ėrdėmt lam naryn Tȯvd khėlėėr tuurvisan khoziol bu̇tėėliĭn nom zu̇ĭ / khi︠a︡nan tokhiolduulsan: Sh. Choĭmaa = Sog po mkhas pa rnams kyi Bod skad du brtsams paʼi gsung ʼbum dkar chag. Ulaanbaatar khot : "Soëmbo printing" KhKhK, 2013-

Includes biographical summaries.

Biographies by Subject

In addition to the more general biographies listed above, one can also find biographies of Tibetans who specialized in certain fields.  A preliminary list of these resources is presented here.

• MUSIC.  Biographies of famous Tibetan singers and composers can be found in the Oxford Music Online database.
• MODERN TIBETAN LITERATURE. Biographies of nearly 300 modern Tibetan writers are provided in this book:  Deṅ rabs Bod kyi rtsom pa poʼi lo rgyus daṅ brtsams chos dkar chag (2012).
• RINPOCHES. "A List of Recognized Incarnations or Tulkus." This list, input by Dan Martin, Jerusalem, is based on a text in Bod kyi gal che'i lo rgyus yig cha bdams bsgrigs (Lhasa 1991), pp. 281-369. It is helpful for searching references to the names of particular Tibetan reincarnate lamas or tulkus.

OTHER BIOGRAPHY COMPILATIONS

近代來華外國人名辭典／中国社会科学院近代史研究所編译室 = Jin dai lai Hua wai guo ren ming ci dian.  北京 : 中国社会科学出版社, 1981. 

Biographies of noteworthy foreigners who visited China.

This page offers an preliminary bibliography of a genre that we might call "chronologies," comprising mainly of lists of important dates and events, with or without annotation. There are a scattered instance of early works, and many more recent compilations.  Please send suggestions or comments to the TIbetan Studies Librarian

Early Works

Tibetan Chronological Tables: of 'Jam-dbyans bzad-pa and Sum-pa mkhan-po. Sarnath, Varanasi : Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies, 1993.

English translation of two chronologies by ʼJam-dbyangs-bzhad-pa Ngag-dbang-brtson-ʼgrus (1648-1721) and Sum-pa Mkhan-po Ye-shes-dpal-ʼbyor (1704-1788), with critical comments by Alaka Chattopadhyaya in collaboration with Sanjit Kumar Sadhukhan.

CLIO link.  (Columbia seeking replacement copy.  Please request through BorrowDirect or ILL.)

Original Tibetan titles for the above translation:

Bstan paʾi gsal byed chen po Bod du rim gyis byung baʾi lo tshig reʾu mig tu bkod paʾi tshigs lung tshigs chung rtags byed gser gyi nyi ma ʾod zer bkra ba / by ʾJam-dbyangs-bzhad-pa Ngag-dbang-brtson-ʾgrus .

Phags-yul Rgya-nag-chen-po, Bod, dang Sog-yul du dam paʾi chos byung tshul dpag bsam ljon bzang / by Sum-pa Mkhan-po Ye-shes-dpal-ʾbyor.

Contemporary Works

Bsod ngam rgya mtsho (Huang Mingxin) ed. Bstan rtsis ka phreng lag deb. Pe cin: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2000. 90 pages.  CLIO Link

Chronological manual of Tibetan historical figures, compiled by Huang Mingxin, a Chinese Tibetologist who earned his rabjampa degree from Labrang Monastery in the 1940s. (Entry added by Ling-wei Kung.)

Khams-sprul Bsod-nams-don-grub. Gangs-ljongs grags can mi sna'i 'khrungs 'das lo tshig re'u mig gsal bar ston pa. Pe-cin : Mi rigs dpe skrun khaṅ, 2006. 156 pages.  CLIO link

Chart of birth and death dates for Tibetan lamas and other historical figures.

Mgon po dbang rgyal. Rgyal rabs lo tshigs shes bya mang ‘dus mkhas pa’i spyi nor. Pe cin: M rigs dpe skrun khang, 2000. 349 pages. CLIO Link

Chronology of major events in Tibetan history.  

Phun tshogs tshe ring. Bod kyi lo rgyus zhi ʾjug la nye bar mkho baʾi lo rgyus don chen reʾu mig rgyas pa. Pe-cin: Mi rigs dpe skrun khaṅ, 2005. 346 pages. CLIO link

Chinese Fieldwork Reports

Chinese fieldwork reports (diaocha ji, i.e. local surveys based on 1950s-60s fieldwork) are usually detailed studies of some particular community, monastery, estate, etc. So while the titles often indicate the broad region studied, the actual surveys were local history and society studies, conducted using anthropological and sociological methods.

Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR)

• Xizang she hui li shi diao cha zi liao cong kan bian ji zu bian; [cha tu Awanggesang]. Zang zu she hui li shi diao cha 藏族社会历史调查. Zhongguo shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zi liao cong kan vols 1-6. Lasa : Xizang ren min chu ban she : Xizang xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1987- (see Nakane Chie article, p. 64)

TAR : Stod lung bde chen county (west of Lhasa)

• Zhang Jianghua, Li Jianshang. Zhongguo she hui ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo bian. Duilongdeqing Xian Zang zu juan. Beijing Shi : Min zu chu ban she, 2003

TAR : Zhigatsé

• Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Xizang shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu. Jiangzi Zhuanqu Xianieru di qu diao cha bao gao 江孜专区下湼如地区調查报告. [Peking] : Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Xizang shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu, 1963.

TAR : Chamdo

• Changdu Diqu she hui diao cha cai liao zhuan ce (chu gao) 昌都地区社会调查材料专册 (初稿). [Beijing] : Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Xizang shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu, 1963.

TAR (general)

• Rdo rje tshe brtan, ed. Xizang fengjian nongnu zhi she hui xingtai 西藏封建农奴制社会形态 (Social forms of Tibet's feudal serf system) Zhongguo Zangxue Chubanshi. 1996.
  Four parts: the third part includes organization of monasteries; the fourth part covers science and technology, including medicine and astrology.

Ngaba Prefecture : Mdzod dge, Rnga ba, Rgya rong counties; tusi system in Rdzong 'gag, Khro skyab, Bstan lha, Bkra shis gling [Lixian].

• Sichuan sheng bian ji zu. Sichuan sheng. Aba zhou Zang zu she hui li shi diao cha. [Chengdu?] : Sichuan sheng she hui ke xue yuan chu ban she : Sichuan sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1985.

Ngaba : 'Bar khams County

• Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu li shi diao cha zu. Aba Zangzu Zizhizhou Ma’erkang ji Chuosijia di qu she hui diao cha cai liao hui ji. [Beijing]: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu li shi diao cha zu, 1963.

Ngaba : Mdzod dge, Rnga ba, Rka khog [Hongyuan] counties

• Aba Zangzu Zizhizhou Ruo’ergai, Aba, Hongyuan diao cha cai liao. [Peking?]: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu, 1963.

Ngaba : Bstan lha/ Mtsan lha [Xiaojin] & Bkra shis gling [Li] Counties

• Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu. Aba Zangzu Zizhizhou Xiaojin, Li Xian she hui diao cha cai liao. [Beijing]: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu; 1963.

Ngaba : Wenchuan [lung dgu] County & Yanmen Township, Qiang [not Tibetan]

• Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu. Aba Zangzu Zizhizhou Wenchuan xian Yanmen Qiangzu xiang she hui diao cha bao gao (chu gao). [Peking? : s.n.], 1963.
• Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Xizang shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu. Dangxiongzong ['Dam gzhung rdzong?] diao cha bao gao 当雄宗調查报告. Beijing : Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Xizang shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu, 1964.

Khams (Kardze, etc.): Dkar mdzes, Sde dge, Li thang, Nyag chu, Dar rtse mdo, & nomadic areas, including Ser shul tribe in Shiqu county

• Sichuan sheng bian ji zu. Sichuan sheng Ganzi zhou Zang zu she hui li shi diao cha. Chengdu : Sichuan sheng she hui ke xue yuan chu ban she : Sichuan sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1985.
• Zhongguo ke xue yuan Min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu. Ganzi Zangzu Zizhizhou Yulong, Sexu, Changtai, Tagong, Datangba, Zongde deng mu qu cai liao. [Beijing: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo], 1963.  Economic conditions fieldwork investigations. Covers 甘孜 藏族 自治州 玉隆 [Yid lhung district in Sde dge], 色须 [Ser shul (or dza chu kha)], 昌台[Khrom thar in Dpal yul county], 塔公 ['Ba' lha gang], 大塘坝, 宗德 等 牧区 材料 / 中囯 科学院 民族 硏究所 四川 少数 民族 社会 历史 调查组.
  Thanks to Jann Ronis for clarification of local terms in Tibetan.

Khams (Yunnan) : Religion

• Yunnan sheng bian ji zu. Kunming min zu min su he zong jiao diao cha. Kunming Shi : Yunnan min zu chu ban she : Yunnan sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1985.
  Volume on religion in Yunnan, might cover Tibetan Buddhism.

Khams (Yunnan) : Naxi

• Sichuan sheng bian ji zu. Sichuan sheng Naxi zu she hui li shi diao cha. [Chengdu shi] : Sichuan sheng she hui ke xue yuan chu ban she : Sichuan sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1987.

Amdo (Qinghai)

• Qinghai sheng bianjizu. Qinghai tusi shehui lishi diaocha.
• Qinghai sheng bian ji zu. Qinghai sheng Zang zu Menggu zu she hui li shi diao cha. Xining : Qinghai ren min chu ban she : Qinghai sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1985.

General Resources

• Wilkinson, Endymion.Chinese History: A Manual, Revised and Enlarged. Cambridge: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 2000.
  Pages 483-538 (Historical Genre); 939-943 (50.4 Official Historical Works); 949 (50.6.4 Edicts and Memorials), pp. 900-921 (50. 1 Central Archives; 50.2.1 Yishiguan; 50.2.2. General Publications); [optional: 50.2.5 Documents Relating to Taiwan and 50.2.6 Documents in Manchu].
• Ye Wa and Joseph W. Esherick. Chinese archives: an introductory guide. Berkeley: Institute of East Asian Studies, University of California : Center for Chinese Studies, 1996.
  Gives archives addresses and describes holdings in Tibet, Qinghai, Sichuan, Gansu, Yunnan, Beijing (for Qing materials) and Nanjing (for Republican era materials).
• Zhang Yuxin张羽新, ed. Qing chao zhi Zang fa gui quan bian 清朝治藏法规全编.Beijing : Xue yuan chu ban she, 2002. 5 vols.
  Collection of laws and regulations of Qing-controlled Tibet.

CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/4094229

• Yuan yi lai Xizang di fang yu zhong yang zheng fu guan xi yan jiu. Duojiecaidan; Deng Ruiling, eds. 2 v. [Beijing] : Zhongguo Zang xue chu ban she. 2005.
  Topical essays in chronological order from Yuan dynasty to Republican China. Excellent guide to the collected archives with the same initial title: Yuan yi lai Xizang di fang yu zhong yang zheng fu guan xi dang an shi liao hui bian. (see below).

CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/6353907

• Kolmas, Josef. "Ch'ing shih kao on Modern History of Tibet (1903-1912)," Archiv Orientalni 32:1 (1964), pp. 77-99.
  Survey of the Tibetan materials in the draft history of the Qing dynasty, compiled between 1914-1928, revised in 1937.
• Ahua, Awanghuadan. Beijing diqu Zangwen Guji Zongmu. [Beijing] : Zhongguo Zang xue chu ban she, 2013. New catalogue of Tibetan texts held in Beijng. EAST ASIAN REF Z3107.B45 B458 2013 (Circulating copy also shelved in EAST ASIAN STACKS.

CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/10738351

Collected Inscriptions

• “Qingdai lama jiao beike lu.” In Qing zheng fu yu lama jiao, ed. by Zhang Xixin. Lhasa: Xizang renmin chubanshe, 1988. Appendix (p. 205-510): Collected Chinese inscriptions from the Qing dynasty regarding Tibetan Buddhism, organized by reign period.
  An amazing resource, almost untouched by Western scholars. Other books like this exist for Wutaishan, but this probably includes all relevant inscriptions.

CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/3720761

• Huang Hao. Zai Beijing de Zangzu wenwu. 1993. Beijing: Minzu chubanshe.
  Appendix (p. 92-116): Tibetan (and two Chinese) language inscriptions from Ming & Qing Beijing.

CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/4404646

• Meng, Bao. Xizang zou shu: fu "Xizang bei wen." Beijing : Zhongguo Zang xue chu ban she, 2006.

CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/7190552

Collected Impressions of Seals

• The Tibetan Seals Database Overview

• Xizang li dai zang yin. 西藏历代藏印. Lhasa: Xizang renmin chubanshe, 1991.

CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/3778864

• Nor rgyas nang pa, Dbang 'dus tshe ring [Bka' drung]. Tham deb bkod par. In Bod kyi gal che'i lo rgyus yig cha bdams bsgrigs [Xizang zhong yao li shi zi liao xuan bian]. Ed. by Tshe brtan phun tshogs, Chab spel & mi 'gyur rdo rje. Lhasa: Bod ljongs mi dmangs dpe skrun khang, 1991.
  Pages 33-83: Imprints of actual seals with commentary.

CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/5283956

• Tshe brtan phun tshogs, Chab spel & Mi 'gyur rdo rje, ed. Bod kyi gal che'i lo rgyus yig cha bdams bsgrigs = Xizang zhong yao li shi zi liao xuan bian. Lhasa: Bod ljongs mi dmangs dpe skrun khang, 1991.
  See Martin #587, p. 215: "illustrations and descriptions of official seals."

CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/5283956

• Dawson, Derrick. Some Tibetan Seals Illustrated and Described. [Vancouver, B.C.] : Geoffrey Flack, 1997. OCLC WorldCat #: 44640226
• Dongguang Lin; Huiling Li. Xizang gu wen wu tian tie ji Zang yin = Antique Tibetan thogchags and seals. Taibei Shi: Zang chuan fo jiao wen wu. 2003.  OCLC WorldCat #: 123012825
   

Collected Veritable Records

• Wu, Yanshao吴燕绍 (1868-1944), ed. Qing dai Meng Zang Hui bu dian hui 清代蒙藏回部典彙. Guo jia Qing shi bian zuan wei yuan hui wen xian cong kan 國家清史編纂委員會文獻叢刊 . Beijing Shi : Zhonghua shu ju, 2005. 75 Volumes.
• Ming Qing liang chao bian sai hai jiang di li wen xian hui bian 明清两朝边塞海疆地理文献汇编.
  One may browse 西藏事務 (Tibetan Affairs) and more, or search in either traditional or simplified Chinese characters. 西藏事務 (Tibetan Affairs) covers these titles: 西藏志; 衛藏通志; 西藏記; 西藏考; 西藏奏疏; 籌瞻疏稿; 籌藏芻議; 欽定巴勒布紀略; 欽定廓爾喀紀略; 廓爾喀案; 平番奏議; 光緒朝藏印往來照會; 駐藏大臣日記; 藏事輯要; 西藏方輿連界暨各要隘情況; 西藏記述; 進藏紀程; 藏行紀程; 西藏問題; 班禪赴印度記略; 駐藏大臣考; 西藏六十年大事記; 西藏始末紀要. 
• The 25 Dynastic Histories Database On-line databases are good for searching for terms, names, etc. once you know what you are looking for. Before then, the printed extracts on Tibetan related materials from the relevant dynastic histories serve as useful locating guides. 25 Histories and the Qingshilu (清實錄 Veritable History of the Qing) and more, can be accessed at Scripta Sinica 漢籍. Click on 授權使用 (Authorized Access), then browse or search in only traditional Chinese characters.
• The Draft History of the Qing (written after the dynasty had fallen, by its predecessor) is less useful for the Qing than for previous dynasties, but can be searched in Scripta Sinica 漢籍.
  Scripta Sinica 漢籍 also includes such Buddhist canons as 大正新脩大藏經; 中華大藏經; 佛教大藏經; 高麗大藏經; 乾隆大藏經.
• See also the Complete Chinese Buddhist canon (Taisho shinshu Daizokyo), including some translations of Tibetan texts from the Yuan dynasty at Scripta Sinica:  佛經三論
• From the series Xizang yan jiu cong kan
  Tibetology Series: These are probably only selected entries from the relevant sources, and the original should be checked for politically motiviated omissions.
  • Qing shi lu Zang zu shi liao. Xizang yan jiu bian ji bu bian ji; [bian zhe Gu Zucheng ... et al.]. 清实录藏族史料/ 西藏研究编辑部编辑 ; [编者顾祖成 et al.]. vols. 1-9. Lasa: Xizang ren min chu ban she : "Xizang yan jiu" bian ji bu zhu Rong fa xing zhan fa xing, 1982-1983.
    Tibetan related entries from the Qingshilu, with indices.
  • Yuan yi lai Xizang di fang yu zhong yang zheng fu guan xi dang an shi liao hui bian. Zhongguo zang xue yan jiu zhong xin, Zhongguo di yi, di er li shi dang an guan, Xizang Zizhiqu dang an guan, Sichuan sheng dang an guan bian zhu. 元以来西藏地方与中央政府关系档案史料汇编 / 中国藏学研究中心，中国第一，第二历史档案馆，西藏自治区档案馆四川省档案馆编著. 7 vols. [Peking] : Zhongguo zang xue chu ban she : Xin hua shu dian Beijing fa xing suo fa xing, 1994.
    Some Tibetan related entries from the Yuan, Ming and Qing dynasties, with indices.
  • 中国藏学汉文历史文献集成 195 volume set, with four divisions as outlined below, covering from 7^th -20^th centuries in Chinese language historical materials collected here: i)《清代治 藏法规全编》ii)《民国治藏法规全编》 iii)《中国西藏及甘青川滇藏区方志汇编》 iv)《唐宋元明清藏事史料汇编》102 volumes; v)《民国藏史料汇编》，共五部195册.

Reference Material

• Schuh, Dieter. Untersuchungen zur Geschichte der tibetischen Kalenderrechnung. Wiesbaden, F. Steiner, 1973.
  Complete concordance of Tibetan and Western dates. A simple, though imprecise, concordance of the Tibetan and Western years (from 1027 A.D.) fits onto a single page. See also: the Phlonx Tibetan Calendar Converter
• Spyi lo dang/ rgya bod lugs bcas rab byung lo drangs so so'i ngos 'dzin blta bde'i re'u mig
  This is a more complicated 12 page concordance of dates.
• Dung dkar Blo bzang 'phrin las & Dar mdo Bkra-shis dbang 'dus. Bod kyi rig gnas dang lo rgyus kyi re'u mig ngo mtshar kun snang. [Chengdu] : Si khron mi rigs dpe skrun khang. 1997.
  Pages 7-15, includes chart of dates from 1027-2041, including reign dates of various Chinese dynasties and emperors.
• Dong Zuobin, ed. Zhongguo nian li zong pu. Xianggang : Xianggang da xue chu ban she, 1960.
  Chronological list of the years 2674 B.C. to 2000 A.D. with Chinese equivalents. Essential for dating Chinese records. For an on-line resource (in Chinese): http://sinocal.sinica.edu.tw/lusodoc.html
• Ellingson, Ter. "Tibetan Monastic Constitutions: The Bca' yig," in Reflections on Tibetan Culture: Essays in Memory of Turrel V. Wylie.  Lawrence Epstein and Richard F. Sherburne, Eds.  E. Mellen Press, Lewiston, 1990. 205-230.
• Schuh, Dieter. Erlasse und Sendschreiben mongolischer Herrscher für tibetische Geistliche : e. Beitr. zur Kenntnis d. Urkunden d. tibet. Mittelalters u. ihrer Diplomatik. St. Augustin : VGH-Wissenschaftsverlag, 1977.
  Essential guide to the diplomatic literature of the Yuan dynasty.
• ‑‑‑. Urkunden, Erlasse und Sendschreiben aus dem Besitz sikkimesischer Adelshäuser und des Klosters Phodang. S[ank]t Augustin : VGH Wissenschaftsverlag, 1978.
• ‑‑‑. Grundlagen tibetischer Siegelkunde: eine Untersuchung über tibetische Siegelaufschriften in 'Phags-pa-Schrift. Sankt Augustin : VGH Wissenschaftsverlag, 1981.
  Essential for understanding the 'Phags pa script used on seals.
• Poppe, Nicholas. Translated and edited by John R. Krueger. The Mongolian monuments in hP’ags-pa script. Wiesbaden, O. Harrassowitz, 1957.
• Das, Sarat Chandra, ed. Yig kur nam shag: Being a Collection of Letters, Both Official and Private, and Illustrating the Different Forms of Correspondence Used in Tibet. Calcutta: Bengal Secretariat Press, 1901.
  The preface to this work describes the editor’s sources for the three collections of documents contained herein and the contents are also given in English. Reproduces and explains government documents and their usefulness as models.

This section includes a range of local histories, including gazeteers (difang zhi and gaikuang), field reports (diaocha ji), cultural and historical accounts (wenshi ziliao; Tib. rig gnas lo rgyus dpyad gzhi'i rgyu cha), and other local surveys. Annnotations by Professor Gray Tuttle.

Featured Resource

• Benno R. Weiner, Official Chinese Sources on Recent Tibetan History: Local Gazetteers, Wenshi Ziliao, and CCP Histories.
  A critical and extensive survey of Chinese-language sources for the local histories of Tibetan areas in the People's Republic of China (PRC) compiled and annotated by Dr. Benno Weiner, a Columbia University alumni. Weiner Bibliography

Gazetteers

• Gray Tuttle, A Guide to the Use of Chinese Gazetteers for Amdo [Qinghai, Gansu, Sichuan].
  A detailed bibliography of gazeteers of Amdo, this survey illustrates the abundance of information about Tibetan culture, history, and institutions in these materials.  Tuttle Bibliography. For an  annotated article on Chinese-language gazeteers for Tibetan regions in the PRC, see Benno Weiner's listing above.
• Walder, Andrew and Su, Yang. "The Cultural Revolution in the Countryside: Scope, Timing, and Human Impact," The China Quarterly, 2003, 74-99.
  An example of what can be extracted from these gazetteers, Walder and Su found remarkable disparities between the coverage of various areas, but also plenty of material to justify a careful study of these sources. One of the works to apply these resources in broader geographic sense is Tibet Outside the TAR (CD).

For examples of the important local historical uses these gazetteer can serve, see:

• Elliot Sperling. "The Ho Clan of Ho-Chou: A Tibetan Family in Service to the Yüan and Ming Dynasties." In Indo-sino-tibetica: studi in onore di Luciano Petech. Roma: Bardi, 1990. 359-377.
• ‑‑‑‑. 1997. “A Note on the Chi-kya Tribe and the Two Qi Clans in Amdo.” In Les habitants du Toit du monde, Samten Karmay and Phillipe Sagant, Eds. (Nanterre: Société d'ethnologie). pp. 111-124
• Otosaka, Tomoko. "A Study of the Hong-hua-si Temple Regarding the Relationship between the dGe-Lugs-Pa and the Ming Dynasty." Memoirs of the Research Department of the Toyo Bunko. 52: 69-101. 33pp.

Tibetan Gazetteers in Chinese, Difang Zhi 地方志

• Chen Zhanqi, ed. Xizang jiu fang zhi, 30 vols. Beijing: Quan guo tu shu guan wen xian suo wei fu zhi zhong xin, 2004.
• Yazhou min zu kao gu cong kan亞洲民族考古叢刊.第4-5輯.
  Taiwan-published set of Republican (1911-1949) materials, especially on Kham (geography, folk customs, sacred geography [Xikang zhi zhen mi shuidao ji], and political matters).
• Zhang Yuxin, ed. Zhongguo Xizang ji Gan Qing Chuan Dian Zang qu fang zhi hui bian中國西藏及甘青川滇藏区方志彙编. Beijing : Xue yuan chu ban she 2003. 54 vols, reproductions of Qing period gazetteers on Tibetan regions. 第1輯. 西藏地方通志(v. 1-5) -- 第2輯. 西藏廳縣志 (v. 6-8) -- 第3輯. 甘肅藏區及涉藏方志 (v. 9-32) -- 第4輯. 青海藏區及涉藏方志 (v. 33-36) -- 第5輯. 川滇藏區及涉藏方志 (v. 37-45) -- 第6輯. 藏區宗敎志, 語文志, 江河志文獻 (v. 46-52) -- 第7輯. 近現代學者編著涉藏志乗 (v. 53-54).
• Guo jia tu shu guan fen guan bian ; [zhu bian Shi Guangming]. Qing dai bian jiang shi liao chao gao ben hui bian : (han shao shu min zu di qu). Beijing : Xian zhuang shu ju, 2003.
  Sources on the ethnic (minority nationalities) borderlands of the Qing dynasty. 50 v. Vol 1, with Table of Contents in Reference overflow, 250 level.
• University of California Berkeley's collection of Tibetan Gazeteers
  Search the UC-Berkeley Library Catalogue for a wonderful collection of gazetteers, including Xian Zhi, and, impressively, an 80-odd volume set of Sheng Zhi with titles covering everything from politics to the economy, demographics, environment and so forth. Berkeley may be the only library in the world to hold some of these volumes, although UCLA, Harvard, Michigan and Hong Kong each have a selection.
• Qinghai sheng qing yu fang zhi lists what appears to be all the fangzhi published between the late 1980s and the book's publication date in 1998.
  Many from the Berkeley collection post-date this.
• Dkar mdzes. Ganzi zhou zhi bianji weiyuanhui. Ganzi zhou zhi. 2 vols. Chengdu: Sichuan minzu chubanshe. 1998.
• Rnga ba.  Aba zhou zhi. 3 vols. 1994. Tables listing monasteries (only in Chinese), vol. 3,  pp. 2563-2577.
• Rnga ba khul sa gnas lo rgyus [Aba zhou zhi—Gazetteer of Aba Prefecture]. Rnga ba khul sa gnas lo rgyus rtsom sgrig yu yon lhan khang. 1996. Tibetan for Vol. 1 only.
• Qinghai sheng min wei shao shu min zu gu ji zheng li gui hua ban gong shi. Qinghai di fang jiu zhi wu zhong. Xining: Qinghai ren min chu ban she : Qinghai sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1989.
• Cairang Zhecang, ed. Qing dai Qinghai Menggu zu dang an shi liao ji bian. Xining : Qinghai ren min chu ban she, 1994.
  _{Yongzheng to Xuantong emperors' reigns. Good source for compiling a list of the Qinghai amban. See charts from 2nd year Xuantong era for information on the Mongol banners distribution and leadership.}

*Note the occurrence of many early versions of proto-gazetteers in Qinghai, a genre of works called gaikuang 概 況 (situation/conditions). Though shorter than later gazetteers they are interesting historic documents, often with hand-drawn maps.

Chinese Fieldwork Reports (local surveys based on 1950s-60s fieldwork)

These are usually detailed studies of some particular community, monastery, estate, etc. So while the titles often indicate the broad region studied, the actual surveys were local history and society studies, conducted using anthropological and sociological methods. One of the few scholars to use these sources is Yasuhiko Nagano.

• TAR: Xizang she hui li shi diao cha zi liao cong kan bian ji zu bian; [cha tu Awanggesang]. Zang zu she hui li shi diao cha藏族社会历史调查. Zhongguo shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zi liao cong kan vols 1-6. Lasa : Xizang ren min chu ban she : Xizang xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1987-
• TAR: Stod lung bde chen county (west of Lhasa): Zhang Jianghua, Li Jianshang. Zhongguo she hui ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo bian. Duilongdeqing Xian Zang zu juan. Beijing Shi : Min zu chu ban she, 2003.
• TAR: Zhigatsé: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Xizang shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu. Jiangzi Zhuanqu Xianieru di qu diao cha bao gao 江孜专区下湼如地区調查报告. [Peking] : Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Xizang shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu, 1963.
• TAR: Chamdo: Changdu Diqu she hui diao cha cai liao zhuan ce (chu gao) 昌都地区社会调查材料专册 (初稿). [Beijing] : Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Xizang shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu, 1963.
• TAR: Rdo rje tshe brtan, ed. Xizang fengjian nongnu zhi she hui xingtai 西藏封建农奴制社会形态 (Social forms of Tibet's feudal serf system) Zhongguo Zangxue Chubanshi. 1996. (In 4 parts; part 3 includes organization of monasteries; Part 4 covers science and technology, including medicine and astrology)
• Rnga ba: Mdzod dge, Rnga ba, Rgya rong counties; tusi system in Rdzong 'gag, khro skyab, bstan lha, bkra shis gling [Lixian]. Sichuan sheng bian ji zu. Sichuan sheng. Aba zhou Zang zu she hui li shi diao cha. [Chengdu?] : Sichuan sheng she hui ke xue yuan chu ban she : Sichuan sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1985.
• Ngaba: 'bar khams county: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu li shi diao cha zu. Aba Zangzu Zizhizhou Ma’erkang ji Chuosijia di qu she hui diao cha cai liao hui ji. [Beijing]: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu li shi diao cha zu, 1963.
• Ngaba: mdzod dge, rnga ba, rka khog [Hongyuan] counties: Aba Zangzu Zizhizhou Ruo’ergai, Aba, Hongyuan diao cha cai liao. [Peking?]: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu, 1963.
• Ngaba: bstan lha/ mtsan lha [Xiaojin] & bkra shis gling [Li] Counties: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu. Aba Zangzu Zizhizhou Xiaojin, Li Xian she hui diao cha cai liao. [Beijing]: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu; 1963.
• Ngaba: Wenchuan [lung dgu] county & Yanmen township, Qiang [so not Tibetan]: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Sichuan shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu. Aba Zangzu Zizhizhou Wenchuan xian Yanmen Qiangzu xiang she hui diao cha bao gao (chu gao). [Peking? : s.n.], 1963.
• Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Xizang shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu. Dangxiongzong ['Dam gzhung rdzong?] diao cha bao gao 当雄宗調查报告. Beijing : Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo Xizang shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu, 1964.
• Khams (Kardze, etc.): Dkar mdzes, Sde dge, Li thang, Nyag chu, Dar rtse mdo, & nomadic areas, including Ser shul tribe in Shiqu county. Sichuan sheng bian ji zu. Sichuan sheng Ganzi zhou Zang zu she hui li shi diao cha. Chengdu : Sichuan sheng she hui ke xue yuan chu ban she : Sichuan sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1985.
• Khams (Dkar mdzes): Ganzi Zangzu Zizhizhou Yulong, Sexu, Changtai, Tagong, Datangba, Zongde deng mu qu cai liao/ Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo. Sichuan shao shu min zu she hui li shi diao cha zu. 甘孜 藏族 自治州 玉隆 [Yid lhung district in Sde dge], 色须 [Ser shul (or dza chu kha)], 昌台[Khrom thar in Dpal yul county], 塔公 ['Ba' lha gang], 大塘坝, 宗德 等 牧区 材料 / 中囯 科学院 民族 硏究所 四川 少数 民族 社会 历史 调查组. [Beijing: Zhongguo ke xue yuan min zu yan jiu suo], 1963. (Note: Economic conditions fieldwork investigations. Thanks to Jann Ronis for clarification of local terms in Tibetan.)
• Amdo: Qinghai sheng bian ji zu. Qinghai tusi she hui li shi diao cha.

• Amdo: Qinghai sheng bian ji zu. Qinghai sheng Zang zu Menggu zu she hui li shi diao cha. Xining : Qinghai ren min chu ban she : Qinghai sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1985.
• Khams (Yunnan), volume on religion in Yunnan, might cover Tibetan Buddhism: Yunnan sheng bian ji zu. Kunming min zu min su he zong jiao diao cha. Kunming : Yunnan min zu chu ban she : Yunnan sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1985.
• Khams (Yunnan) Naxi. Sichuan sheng bian ji zu. Sichuan sheng Naxi zu she hui li shi diao cha. [Chengdu] : Sichuan sheng she hui ke xue yuan chu ban she : Sichuan sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1987.

Locally Focused Historical Resources in Tibetan

• Mgo log rig gnas lo rgyus (v. 1-3)
  v. 1 Family (tshang) and tsho-ba histories; v. 2 Histories of Golok monasteries; v. 3 Mostly rnam thar.
• Mgo log deb ther has a section: tsho ba'i grub tshul dang sypi tshogs kyi ngo bo.
• Grags pa rgya mtsho. Mdo smad klu stod kyi lo rgyus dwangs gsal me long. Lanzhou: kan su'u mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 1997.
  Lists leaders and tribes of the southern part of Gannan/kan lho.
• Rgyal po, Brong pa; Tashi Tsering, Josayma. Bod ljongs Mdo khams Nang chen spyi dang bye brag gi byung ba brjod pa Ldong Brong pa'i deb gter smyug po. Dharamsala : A myes Rma chen Bod kyi rig gzung zib jug khang dang A-mi-ri-ka'i In-di-ya-na'i gtsug lag mtho slob kyi nang tshang E-sa-ya nang ma'i zhib 'jug slob gñer khang gñis zung 'brel byis spar bskrun zus pao, 2003.
  Historical account of Brong-pa tribes of the Ldong clan of Nangchen (Nanzheng) County in eastern Tibet; includes history of Nanzheng Xian.
• Lha sde, Dge min dpal. Lha sde tsho brgyad kyi lo rgyus kun 'dus gsal ba'i me long. 2005.
  Historical background and other topics concerning Lha sde tsho brgyad in Huangnan (Rma lho) Prefecture in Qinghai Province (Amdo).
• Nywa nag pa Ba res. Bon stag lo rgyus blo ldan 'jug ngogs. Chengdu : Si khron mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 1996.
  Genealogical account of Bon-stag family from Haixi Prefecture (Mtsho nub) in Qinghai Province.
   

On Tribal/Community Social Structure

Based on cursory overview of this literature it seems that connections between Tibetans and Mongols (first in Yuan but mostly from the seventeenth century) probably explains much of the tribal system of nomadic Tibet, which seems to have been ruled and structured by the Mongols from 1630s to 1720s. These systems were largely preserved by the Mongol and Manchu servants of the Qing court who were directed to manage relations with these peoples (first through the Xining Amban, later through the Lhasa Amban). In Sichuan, more control over Tibetans fell to the Chengdu-based governor-general and his administration there, which seems to explain the larger role of the tusi system in eastern Khams.

Large Regional Coverage

• Bkra shis rgya mtsho, Gyi lung & Thugs mchog rdo rje, Gyi-lung. Bod mi bu gdong drug gi rus mdzod me tog skyed tshal (Mgo log rus mdzod). Zi-ling : Mtsho-sngon mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 1991
• Dge shis chos grags, Ldong ka tshang; Skal bzang sgrol ma, Ldong ka tshang; Bsod names lha mo, Ldong ka tshang. Bod kyi gdung rus zhib 'jug. Pe cin: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2001.
  Fascinating treatment of Tibetan history by attending to clan/family names throughout history. Most of the book is introductions to and lists of the key players (not just prominent laymen but also religious figures, a virtual who's who) in Tibetan history by period (from pre-history, to Tibetan imperial period, and so on up toi the Ganden Podrang period and the present). Finally, there is an alphabetical list of clan names.
• Chen Qingying, He Feng & Qinghai sheng she hui ke xue yuan Zang xue yan jiu suo bian zhu. Zang zu bu luo zhi du yan jiu藏族部落制度硏究. Xian dai Zhongguo Zang xue wen ku. Beijing : Zhongguo zang xue chu ban she : Xin hua shu dian Beijing fa xing suo fa xing, 2002.  DS731 .T5 T78 2002
  Survey of the tribal/clan systems of the Tibetan Plateau.
• Chen Qingying. Qinghai sheng she hui ke xue yuan Zang xue yan jiu suo bian. 青海省社会科学院藏学研究所编 ; 陈庆英主编. Zhongguo Zang zu bu luo中国藏族部落. Beijing : Zhongguo Zang xue chu ban she: Xin hua shu dian Beijing fa xing suo fa xing, 1991.
  Survey of the various tribes/clans of the Tibetan Plateau.
• Wang Jiguang 王继光. Anduo Zang qu tu si jia zu pu ji lu yan jiu. 安多藏区土司家族谱辑录硏究. Beijing : Min zu chu ban she, 2000.
• Li Zonghua and Li Yanqi. Anduo zang zu shi lüe (Brief History of the Tibetans of Amdo). Xining: Qinghai minzu chubanshe, 1992.
  Several charts organized by region list the tribal names, numbers of myriarchs and chiliarchs, households under them, place of residence, and so forth p. 183-185.
• Zhouta. Gansu Zang zu bu luo de she hui yu li shi yan jiu 甘肃藏族部落的社会与历史硏究. Lanzhou: Gansu min zu chu ban she, 1996.
  Twelve chapters on the setting, history, and regional breakdown (by modern county, p 126-223) of the Tibetan tribes of Gansu (mostly Gannan/Gan lho, but also Tianzhu/ Dpa' ri), chapters on tribal religious beliefs, military system, cultural and eduction, and traditional customs. Omitted froom the Tibetan translation of the work (listed below) are chapters on economy and law, as well as the very useful charts at the end of the book listed tribes under the county/monastery headings.
• ’Brug thar. Mdo smad byang shar gyi Bod kyi Tsho ba shog pa'i lo rgyus dang rig gnas bcas par dpyad pa. Pe cin: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2002.
  Guide to the tribal communities of Gansu's Tibetan communities; see entry above for contents.
• Sangs rgyas rin chen & 'Brug thar. Bod Sog gi rig gnas 'brel ba'i zhib 'jug. Lanzhou : Kan su'u mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2003.
  Research on the Cultural connections between Tibetans and Mongols, which probably explains much of the tribal system of nomadic Tibet, which seems to have been ruled and structured by the Mongols from 1630s to 1720s, and whose systems were largely preserved by the Mongol and Manchu servants of the Qing court who were directed to manage relations with these peoples (first through the Xining Amban, later through the Lhasa Amban; in Sichuan, more control over Tibetans fell to the Chengdu based governor-general and his administration there, which seems to explain the larger role of the tusi system in eastern Khams).
• Bkra ba. "Hor tsho so dgu pa'i lo rgyus thor bu." In Bod kyi rig gnas lo rgyus dpyad gzhi'i rgyu cha bdams bsgrigs, 1st ser., vol. 5, 178-208. Lhasa: Bod-rang-skyong-ljongs chab gros rig gnas lo rgyus dpyad gzhi'i rgyu cha zhib 'jug u yon lhan khang, 1985.
  _{This article includes a chart of the various Nag chu and Chab mdo shog or dud -- including population, occupation and administrative significance.}

On Tribal Customary Laws

• Zhouta. Gansu Zang zu bu luo de she hui yu li shi yan jiu甘肃藏族部落的社会与历史硏究. Lanzhou: Gansu min zu chu ban she, 1996.
  Chapter 9 on law among the Gansu tribal Tibetans.
• Zhang Jimin. Qinghai Zang qu bu luo xi guan fa zi liao ji (Materials on the laws and customs of the tribes of the Tibetan regions of Qinghai). Xining : Qinghai ren min chu ban she. 1993.
  *Arranged in three sections: first, by Chinese administrative regions of Qinghai—Huangnan, Guoluo, Yushu, Hainan, Haixi, and Haibei; second, by out-of-province Tibetan regions—Xizang, Sichuan (Ganze), and Gansu (Southern Gansu); specific cases for certain crimes, such as intentional murder. Appendices: terminological glossary with Tibetan translation of terms and a transcription of a sixty-six point Qing document . Includes bibliographical references.
• Zhang Jimin. Zang zu bu luo xi guan fa yan jiu cong shu (Collected Research on Tibetan Tribal Customary Laws). Xining : Qinghai ren min chu ban she, 2002.
  Vol. 1. 渊源流近 : 藏族部落习惯法法规及案例辑录
  Vol. 2. 寻根理枝 : 藏族部落习惯法通论
  Vol. 3. 诸說求真 : 藏族部落习惯法专论.

Sources on Tusi

Tusi is a generic term for local rulers, including most of the leadership discussed above.

• Gong Yin 龚荫. Zhongguo tu si zhi du. 中国土司制度. Kunming Shi : Yunnan min zu chu ban she, 1992.
  Gives all the known tusi (local rulers) in TAR, Sichuan, Qinghai, Gansu, Yunnan (and Hubei, Guizhou, etc.). Especially useful to build upon Chen Qingying's Zhongguo Xixang Buluo because when it lists the tusi Chen covers in his book, it adds (buluo, meaning "tribe/clan") in parentheses after the name, but when it lists the 'regular' tusi like in Songpan ting, Xining, etc. it just lists them as tusi. Good for the TAR, because it makes clear which tusi in the upper Salween became the '39 tribes' ruled by the Lhasa Amban, and which became the '40 tribes' ruled by the Xining Amban. This text just lists which Yuan, Ming, or Qing text the tusi is recorded in, and about where in which present-day county the tusu was located, not much else (description from Karl Ryavec).
• Qinghai sheng zhi bian zuan wei yuan hui. Qinghai li shi ji yao. Xining Shi : Qinghai ren min chu ban she : Qinghai sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing, 1987.
  See lists of the generations of the 16 Qinghai tusi oriented toward Xining from the 1370s-1931, including Xining xian, Ledu xian, Minhe xian. Includes family names, some demographic information prior to 1930, and so forth. p. 635-656. See also the tables of the Qing (and later, to 1949) appointed leaders based in Xining from 1644, including all the ambans from 1724-1911 p. 658-681.
• Took, Jennifer. A Native chieftaincy in Southwest China : franchising a Tai chieftaincy under the Tusi system of late imperial China. Leiden; Boston : Brill, 2005.
  Excellent study of the tusi system, outside the politically charged context of Tibetan studies. Demonstrates what a flexible but enduring Chinese system of managing relations with different bordering peoples this tusi institution really is. Took made good use of modern investigations and older gazetteers to construct this narrative.

Other Related

四川省地方志聯合目錄 = Sichuan sheng di fang zhi lian he mu lu / 四川省中心图书馆委员会编印. Hong Kong : [publisher not identified], 1990.

Catalog of local histories written for every county in Sichuan Province, during the reigns of the Qianlong, Jiaqing, & Daoguang emperors (roughly: 1711-1850)

Greater Tibet

• Martin, Dan. Tibetan Histories: A Bibliography of Tibetan-Language Historical Works. London: Serindia Publications, 1997.
  Annotated bibliography of historical works.
• Sde srid sangs rgyas rgya mtsho. Dga’ ldan chos ‘byung beedurya ser po. rdo rje rgyal po, ed. Krung go’i bod kyi shes rigs dpe skrun khang, 1989.
  Survey of Geluk monasteries written in 1698.
• Sum pa mkhen po. ‘Dzam gling spyi bshad. Lhasa: Bod rang skyong ljongs spyi tshogs tshan rig khang. 1986.
  Earliest world geography in Tibetan [1777], written by a Mongol.
• Btsan po bstan ‘dzin ‘phrin las. ‘Dzam gling rgyas bshad. Lhasa: Bod rang skyong ljongs spyi tshogs tshan rig khang, 1986.
  Tibet section translated in following publication:
• Wylie, Turrell V. The Geography of Tibet according to the 'Dzam gling rgyas bshad. Edited by Giuseppe Tucci, Serie Orientale Roma. Roma: Instituto Italiano per il Medio ed Estremo Oriente, 1962.
  Transliterated Tibetan text along with an annotated and indexed (including Chinese characters) translation of a Tibetan geography written in the first decades of the nineteenth century.
• Ferrari, Alfonsa. Mk'yen Brtse's Guide to the Holy Places of Central Tibet. Edited by Luciano Petech. Vol. XVI, Serie Orientale Roma. Roma: Instituto Italiano per il Medio ed Estremo Oriente, 1958.
  Annotated and indexed translation of a Tibetan geography written in 1892. New version in press, with contemporary notes.
• Skal bzang chos kyi rgyal, Shing bza'. Bod Sog chos 'byung. vol. 18 of Krung go Bod brgyud Mtho rim Nang bstan Slob gling. Gangs can rig brgya'i sgo 'byed lde mig. Chinese colophon title: Zang wen wen xuan. Pe cin: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 1992.
  See Dan Martin, Tibetan Histories #595. Especially strong for Eastern Tibet, as this monk is from Rwa rgya, on the Rma chu near Mgo log. Major Central Tibetan monasteries covered (761-812), Lower Mdo khams covered (812-830); also deals how the teachings spread in Sog yul & the Hor chos rgyal rgyal rabs (867-899), and how the teachings spread in Hor yul (899-1032).
• Chinese local place name concordances giving Chinese and Tibetan equivalents, printed and distributed for "internal use (neibu)" only, but circulating abroad as well. TBRC has some, Gray Tuttle has some. Titles are: {Place-name, e.g. Ganzi} di ming lu.
• Karmay, Samten G. and Nagano, Yasuhiko. 2003. A Survey of Bonpo Monasteries and Temples in Tibet and the Himalaya. Bon Studies 7. Senri Ethnological Reports 38. Osaka: National Museum of Ethnology. (includes Kham and Amdo).
• Paltrul Jampal Lodoe. Bod na bzhugs pa'i rnying ma'i dgon deb = Record of Nyingma monasteries in Tibet. Dalhousie : Paltul Jampal Lodoe, [1965].
• Gyurme Dorje. Footprint: Tibet. 3^rd Edition. Bath, UK: Footprint. 2004.
  The only guidebook to cover all of Tibet (including Amdo).
• Collections of Tibetan gazetteers in Chinese: 中国西藏及甘青川滇藏区方志汇编, 54 vols; and Xizang jiu fang zhi, 30 vols.
  The C.V. Starr East Asian Library holds the latter.  See Local History Resources for more details.

Eastern Tibet

Amdo

• Andreas Gruschke. The cultural monuments of Tibet’s outer provinces: Amdo. Vol. 2: The Qinghai  Part of Amdo. Bangkok, Thailand: White Lotus Press. 2001.
  Based on Chinese sources and extensive fieldwork and travel in these regions.
• Andreas Gruschke. The cultural monuments of Tibet’s outer provinces: Amdo. Vol. 2: The Gansu and Sichuan Parts of Amdo. Bangkok, Thailand: White Lotus Press. 2001.
• Rock, Joseph F. The Amnye Ma-Chhen Range and Adjacent Regions. Edited by Giuseppe Tucci. Vol. XII, Serie Orientale Roma. Roma: Instituto Italiano per il Medio ed Estremo Oriente, 1956.
  Monograph on the Tibetan regions southern Amdo (Qinghai).
• Pu Wencheng. Gan-Qing Zangchuan Fojiao siyuan. Xining: Qinghai Minzu Chubanshe, 1990.
  Survey of Gansu and Qinghai monasteries, from 1950s & 1980s surveys.
• Nian Zhihai and Bai Gengdeng, eds. Qinghai Zangchuan Fojiao siyuan ming jian (The Clear Mirror of Tibetan Buddhist Temples of Qinghai). Lanzhou: Gansu minzu chubanshe, 1993.
  Survey of Qinghai monasteries, from 1950s & 1980s surveys.
• Zhongguo renmin zhengzhixie shanghuiyi Gannan Zangzu zizhizhou weiyuanhui wenshi ziliao weiyuanhui. Kan lho'i Bod brgyud Nang bstan sde so so'i lo rgyus mdor bsdus/ Gannan Zangzhuan Fojiao siyuan gaikuang. 3 vols. Kan lho'i lo rgyus Gannan wenshi ziliao, vol. 9, 10, 12. 1991-1995. Gannan baoshe yinshuachang.
  Chinese text with proper names given in Tibetan script, covers southern Gansu monasteries.
• Zhongguo renmin zhengzhixie shanghuiyi Tianzhu Zangzu zizhizhou weiyuanhui wenshi ziliao weiyuanhui. Dpa' ris kyi Bod brgyud Nang bstan sde lo rgyus mdor bsdus/ Tianzhu Zangzhuan Fojiao siyuan gaikuang. Tianzhu Zangzu zizhixian minzu yinzhuachang. 2000.
  Chinese text with proper names given in Tibetan script, covers the northern Gansu Tibetan county of Dpa' ris monasteries.
• Dbyang Hphu-hwa; Dbang stobs, Nor-sde. Mgo-log rig gnas lo rgyus. 3 vols. Qinghai : Srid gros Mgo log khul u rig-gnas lo rgyus rgyu cha zhib 'jug u yon lhan khang, 1991-1999
• 'Brug thar & Sangs rgyas tshe ring. Mdo smad rma khug tsha 'gram yul gru'i lo rgyus deb ther chen mo. Pe cin: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2005.
• Jo nang mdza' mthun lo rgyus phyogs bsgrig tshogs, ed. Jo nang ba'i gdan rabs mdor bsdus drang srong rgan po'i zhal lung/ Juenang si yuan jian jie. Pe cin: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang, 2005.
  Short intro to Jonang monasteries in Utsang, but focus on monasteries in Mdo smad (39-146) & Mgo log (147-192); concluding section on monasteries in China, Mongolia, America.

Khams

This section offer surveys of larger areas in Khams. For additional titles, see the Ph.D. dissertation of Karl Debreczeny. Also see Local Histories.

• Andreas Gruschke. The cultural monuments of Tibet’s outer provinces: Kham. 2 vols. Bangkok, Thailand: White Lotus Press. 2004.
• Bstan pa rgyal mtshan. Rgyal thang yul lung dgon gnas dang bcas pa’i byung ba mdo tsam brjod pa blo gsal mgul pa mdzes paʼi rgyan = A History of the Rgyal-thaṅ Dgon-pa Monastic Complex and its Environs. Dharamsala, H.P., India: Rgyal thaṅ Bya ʼthab, Ṅag dbaṅ Thabs mkhas, 1985. Details about Ganden Sumtseling prior to its destruction. Thanks to Eric Mortensen for this reference.
• Zhongguo Zang xue yan jiu zhong xin. Khams phyogs Dkar mdzes khul gyi dgon sde so so'i lo rgyus gsal bar bsad pa nan bstan gsal ba'i me long. 3 vols.[Lha sa : Krung go'i Bod kyi shes rig dpe skrun khang] 1995.
  History of Buddhist monasteries in Dkar mdzes/Ganzi prefecture in eastern Tibet.
• Nang chen rdzong srid gros rig gnas lo rgyus gzhung don khang. Khams sgom sde nang chen pa'i dgon khag rnams kyi byung ba phyogs bsgrigs rin chen sgrom brgya 'byed pa'i deb ther gser gyi lde mig. [Skye rgu mdo?] 1999.
  Historical survey of monasteries in Nang chen rdzong of Yus hru'u (Yul shul, Yushu) prefecture, Qinghai province. Held and outlined at TBRC.
   

Central Tibet & Mnga' ris

This section offer surveys of larger areas in Central and Western Tibet. For Mnga' ris, see the Roberto Vitali's bibliography.  For the few local histories that are published, see Local Histories.

• Wu, Zhenhua, ed. Xizang di ming. Beijing: Zhongguo zangxue chubanshe, 1995.
  Chinese names of the Tibetan Autonmous Region (TAR) places arranged according to the English alphabet. Tibetan, pinyin, and some details of the place are given for each entry (i.e. whether the place is a mountain, village, temple, etc.)

CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/3853824

• Chos 'phel, etc. 2002- Gangs can ljongs kyi gnas bshad lam yig gsar ma. [New Guide to Temples in the Land of Snows]. Beijing: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang. 

v.1: Lho-kha sa khul kyi gnas yig; v.2: Lha sa sa khul kyi gnas yig; v.3: Gzhis-rtse sa khul gyi gnas yig; v.4: Mngaʼ-ris khul gyis gnas yig

CLIO LINK:  http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/5338918

• Mkhas grub. 2005. Lho kha'i chos 'byung skyes ma'i nu rin. Pe-cin: Mi rigs dpe skrun khang.
  Short religious history, list of Tibetan "firsts" in Lho kha history (first king of Tibet, first castle, etc.), lists places, monasteries, and people of importance.

            CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/6191152

• Spen-pa-tshe-riṅ. Ngam-ring rdzong gi dgon sdeʼi lo rgyus dang da ltaʼi gnas babs. Lha-sa : Bod-ljongs Bod yig dpe rnying dpe skrun khang. 2013. Brief histories of 22 Tibetan Buddhist monasteries in Ngamring County (Ngam-ring; Ch. Angren), located in the Shigatse District of what is now the Tibet Autonomous Region; also includes biographies of 11 historical figures from the area. 

CLIO LINK: http://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/10800348

Inner Mongolian Tibetan Buddhist Monasteries

• Isabelle Charleux. Temples et monastères de Mongolie-intérieure. Paris : Éditions du Comité des travaux historiques et scientifiques : Institut national d’histoire de l’art, 2006.
  List of 157 major monasteries, CD of plans, photos, etc. of some 150 of these.

Tibetan Oral History Project

The Tibetan Oral History Archive Project, developed by Case Western University and the Library of Congress, is a digital archive of oral history interviews with accompanying written transcripts (translated into English) documenting the social and political history of modern Tibet. The first installment, available now, makes available 60 interviews conducted in the 1980s and 1990s with Tibetan aristocratic family members from Central Tibet and religious teachers. Future releases will include interviews with "common folk" and monks, especially those living in Drepung Monastery before 1959.

This archive, the largest of its type in the world, contains three collections: the Common Folk Oral History collection, the Political Collection and the Drepung Monastery Collection. With interviews of almost 700 Tibetans (and a few Chinese) living in the Tibet Autonomous Region of China and in exile in India and the West, the entirety is being published in a series of installments over the next few years.  

Tibet Oral History Project

The Tibet Oral History Project, produced by a non-profit organization based in Moraga, California, offers around 300 interviews recorded in 2007 and 2010 with primarily eldertly Tibetan refugees living in Bylakuppe, Mundgod, and Dharmsala, India, and in North America. The interviewees discuss their experiences of daily life in Tibet, the impact of Chinese Communist rule, and life in exile.  The full set of interviews, together with (searchable) English transcripts, is available for loan through the C.V. Starr East Asian Library. For holdings information about the DVDs, and the print and digitized transcripts, see CLIO. Videos with transcripts can also be viewedonline through the Project's website.

Library of Tibetan Works and Archives

The Oral History Department of the Library of Tibetan Works and Archives in Dharamsala, India, has published more than 40 volumes of oral histories and recounted by a range of Tibetans with first-hand experience of Tibetan society and life in the mid-twentieth century.  The series title is "Ngag rgyun lo rgyus deb phreng" and the many first-hand accounts cover a vast range of topics: religious life and retreat, the Ganden Phodrang administration, geography and family lineage, artisanship, trade, excape into exile, militia, local history, imprisonment, etc.) In North America, the volumes are available for circulation at Columbia and other university libraries.

World Oral Literature Project

The World Oral Literature Project hosts Online Collections of materials collected by grantees, as well as other heritage recordings.  Among these are several Tibetan-related collections, especially from the Amdo region.

• Arnold von Bohlen und Halbach: Tibetan Death Rites, 1979
  Dorji (Rdo rje don 'grub): Tewo County Collection, 2011
• G.yung 'brug: Danba Tibetan Culture Collection, 2008-2010
• Katey Blumenthal and Andrea Clearfield: The Folk Music of Lo Monthang, 2008-2009
• Kha Bum: Xunhua Tibetan Folk Culture Video Collection, 2008-2010
• Molly Loomis: Himalayan Sherpa Collection, 2011
• Plateau Culture Heritage Protection Group: Collections from the Tibetan Plateau, 2006-2012
• Rdo rje don 'grub: Rka phug Tibetan Village Cultural Materials, 2010
• Robert Mayer: Bon po Phur pa Rites at Triten Norbutse, 2010
• Yangdon Dhondup: Tantric practitioners from Reb kong, Amdo, Tibet, 2010
• .... and more
• See also the Plateau Culture Heritage Protection Group: Collections for the Tibetan Plateau 2006-2012 for oral traditions collected from across the Tibetan plateau 
   

Minnesota Tibetan Oral History Project

This project, started in 2005, make available oral history interviews with 22 members of the Tibetan population living in Minnesota, including youth and elders. View the collection's Finding Aid accessible through the Minnesota Historical Society's catalog. 

Oral History of Tibetan Studies བོད་རིག་པའི་ངག་རྒྱུན་ལོ་རྒྱུས།

The Oral History of Tibetan Studies records and collects oral memories of those who have contributed to the establishment of Tibetan and Himalayan Studies as a recognised independent academic discipline.

Related Links

Melvyn Goldstein & David Germano discuss Oral History Digitization project (2008)
This project became the source material for the Library of Congress project, as explained by Prof. Goldstein here. He also mentions that LOC has digitized Tibetan newspapers since the 1950s.

Smithsonian Folklike and Oral History Interviewing Guide in Tibetan
Training guide for documenting folklife and conducting oral histories from the Smithsonian Center for Folklife & Cultural Heritage, translated into Tibetan.

Subscription databases are marked by a "key" indicating that a Columbia campus computer, or remote proxy log-in is required. All other are open-source, though some sort of registration or account might be necessary.

Buddhist Digital Resource Center (BDRC) & BUDA

The single richest resource of Tibetan-language electronic texts, including many rare manuscripts and woodblock prints, as well as modern publications. Formerly the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center, this organization founded by E. Gene Smith in 1999 expanded its mission to include texts in Sanskrit, Pali, Chinese, etc. and accordingly changed its name. Columbia University has long supported this organization and provides ready access to all 16 "Core Text Collections". Several thousand of these titles are also discoverable in CLIO, with links to BDRC's new Buddhist Universal Digital Archive (BUDA) interface.

Tibetan Studies Special Collections at Columbia University

Digital collection of archival and other rare Tibetan Studies holdings, primarily in the C.V. Starr East Asian Library at Columbia University; includes documents and photographs from the Tharchin Collection and the Lama Anagarika Govinda papers, 1945-1993, as well as some materials from the Tibet Information Network (TIN) Archives and the Meg McLagan Collection. Additionally, the Collection includes digital images of some fifty rare books and a limited amount of audio-visual materials, such as lectures by Tibetan Buddhist teachers, and oral-history and related interviews with Tibetan and Chinese scholars and cadres in China and with Tibetans living in exile on their lives and historical events in the 20th century.

EBSCO database : Historical Abstracts

Offers citations, abstracts, and links for publications related to world history, excluding the U.S. and Canada, from 1450 to the present, including many dissertations and articles related to Tibet.