Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Humanities &amp; History

Humanities & History Open Access Textbooks

BCcampus OpenEd: Find Open Textbooks
Search for quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats. Search by subject and download them to your computer.
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
MERLOT Open Access Textbooks
Thousands of discipline-specific educational materials and modules, provided by the California State University's Center for Distributed Learning.
OER Commons: Arts and Humanities Textbooks and Full Courses
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
OER Commons: History Collection
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
Ohio State University Press Open Access Initiative
From the website: The mission of The Ohio State University Press is to disseminate the best scholarship as widely as possible. Towards that end, we are making the complete texts of certain books available from our website. You will need the free Adobe Reader or some other PDF-enabled program to read the text. All titles available this way, whether old or new, have gone through the exact same peer review process as our printed books. Any book that carries our imprint—no matter what medium is being used—has been approved by our Editorial Board after a thorough vetting process.
Open Book Publishers
UK publishing imprint that provides free online access and low cost formatted and print access to titles with a special emphasis on humanities, digital humanities, and social sciences.
Open Textbook Library: Humanities Textbooks
Open access textbooks covering various topics in the Humanities. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network of the University of Minnesota.
OpenStax Humanities
Peer-reviewed open access textbooks. Faculty members can make an OpenStax account to access faculty-only materials.
Ubiquity Press: Books
Ubiquity Press is an open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals, books, and next-generation institutional repositories.

Journals and Other Resources

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Directory lists a wide range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that textbooks in the B.C. Open Textbook Collection are not included in this directory.
Digital Commons Network: Arts and Humanities Commons
The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Online directory that indexes and provides access to open access peer-reviewed journals.
MDPI Open Access Journals: Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities
Open Humanities Press
Open Library of Humanities
From the website: The OLH publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal.
Ubiquity Press: Journals
Ubiquity Press is an open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals, books, and next-generation institutional repositories.

Language Resources

BCcampus OpenED: Find Open Textbooks
Use menu on the left to navigate to Language Learning.
Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL)
From the website: The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.
MERLOT World Languages Community Portal
Thousands of discipline-specific educational materials and modules, provided by the California State University's Center for Distributed Learning.
OER Commons: Language Textbooks
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
Open Textbook Library: Language Textbooks
Open access language textbooks. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network of the University of Minnesota.
Project Gutenberg: Books in Language Education
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks.