Open Educational Resources (OER): Science and Engineering

Open access textbooks covering various topics in Biology. The LibreTexts libraries are supported by the Department of Education Open Textbook Pilot Project, the UC Davis Office of the Provost, the UC Davis Library, the California State University Affordable Learning Solutions Program, and Merlot.

The Open Textbook Library is part of the University of Minnesota and is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts.

Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.

Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter.

This Microbiology textbook, adapted from the Boundless version, is intended to provide health care professionals with a working knowledge of infectious disease. Much of the book is devoted to the structure/function relationships in pathogenic microorganisms and how these relationships are expressed in host-parasite interactions. The text also examines Microbial diseases of specific organ systems as well as host response mechanisms.

This text provides a series of laboratory exercises compatible with a one-semester undergraduate microbiology or bacteriology course with a three- or four-hour lab period that meets once or twice a week. The design of the lab manual conforms to the American Society for Microbiology curriculum guidelines and takes a ground-up approach — beginning with an introduction to biosafety and containment practices and how to work with biological hazards.

This college-level open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues from a biological perspective.

Open access textbooks covering various topics in Chemistry. The LibreTexts libraries are supported by the Department of Education Open Textbook Pilot Project, the UC Davis Office of the Provost, the UC Davis Library, the California State University Affordable Learning Solutions Program, and Merlot.

The Open Textbook Library is part of the University of Minnesota and is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

A collections of OA chemistry textbooks from BCcampus OpenEd

Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.

Chemistry: Atoms First 2e is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association.This text is an atoms-first adaptation of OpenStax Chemistry 2e. The intention of “atoms-first” involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters. This approach may be chosen as a way to delay the introduction of material such as stoichiometry that students traditionally find abstract and difficult, thereby allowing students time to acclimate their study skills to chemistry. Additionally, it gives students a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course. It also aims to center the study of chemistry on the atomic foundation that many will expand upon in a later course covering organic chemistry, easing that transition when the time arrives.

Although much of first-year chemistry is taught as a service course, there is no reason that the intrinsic excitement and potential of chemistry cannot be the focal point of the text and the course. We emphasize the positive aspects of chemistry and its relationship to students’ lives, which requires bringing in applications early and often.

The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities for individuals or teams. Students can review and learn chemistry concepts using our virtual labs, simulations, and tutorials. The ChemCollective is organized by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon who are interested in using, assessing, and creating engaging online activities for chemistry education.

A comprehensive survey of American Environmental History.

This college-level open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues from a biological perspective.

Study the environment and environmental science with this category of free eBooks. For instance, learn more about waste water treatment and atmospheric pollution.

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.

168 peer-reviewed Open Access books covering various topics in Earth Sciences.

This book describes how Earth's climate is changing, how it has been changing in the recent geological past and how it may change in the future. It covers the physical sciences that build the foundations of our current understanding of global climate change such as radiation, Earth's energy balance, the greenhouse effect and the carbon cycle. Both natural and human causes for climate change are discussed. Impacts of climate change on natural and human systems are summarized. Ethical and economical aspects of human-caused climate change and solutions are presented.

Written by faculty from Georgia College and State University, this open textbook for Introduction to Environmental Science was created under a Round Two ALG Textbook Transformation Grant.

Free Textbook for College-Level Introductory Geology Courses.

Open access textbooks covering various topics in Geosciences. The LibreTexts libraries are supported by the Department of Education Open Textbook Pilot Project, the UC Davis Office of the Provost, the UC Davis Library, the California State University Affordable Learning Solutions Program, and Merlot.

Thousands of discipline-specific educational materials and modules, provided by the California State University's Center for Distributed Learning.

A database of case studies covering a wide variety of scientific topics that can be used for pedagogical enhancement and enrichment. Cases are free, but access to answer keys and teaching notes requires an annual paid subscription fee. Use the Browse function to look for your field of interest.

Free Open Educational Resources for the Geosciences. Open Textbooks in the Geosciences including An Introduction to Geology, and Historical Geology.

Launched in 2007, the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences' OER initiative enables departments and individual faculty to provide resources free-of-charge under a Creative Commons license. As long as they adhere to the license, teachers and learners around the world are free to download, remix, translate, localize, and make these materials their own.

Free advanced level courses on a variety of scientific subjects from The Open University in the United Kingdom.

Looking for climate data? Need to compile a Climate Vulnerability Assessment or Adaptation Plan? This catalog of more than 200 digital tools can help you take steps to build resilience, from engaging a community to developing a climate action plan.

This text is designed for a course in Aircraft Performance that is taught before the students have had any course in fluid mechanics, fluid dynamics, or aerodynamics. The text is meant to provide the essential information from these types of courses that is needed for teaching basic subsonic aircraft performance, and it is assumed that the students will learn the full story of aerodynamics in other, later courses. The text assumes that the students will have had a university level Physics sequence in which they will have been introduced to the most fundamental concepts of statics, dynamics, fluid mechanics, and basic conservation laws that are needed to understand the coverage that follows.

This free electrical engineering textbook provides a series of volumes covering electricity and electronics. The information provided is great for students, makers, and professionals who are looking to refresh or expand their knowledge in this field.

This textbook is based on a different paradigm for organizing an engineering science core --- a systems, accounting and modeling approach --- that emphasizes the common, underlying concepts of engineering science. By focusing on the underlying concepts and stressing the similarities between subjects that are often perceived by students (and taught by faculty) as unconnected topics, this approach provides engineering students a foundational framework for recognizing and building connections as they travel through their education.

Videos and simulations of Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering concepts, available for use under a CC-BY 4.0 license.

Engineering at Alberta is committed to providing engineering students with as many resources as possible to facilitate the students’ learning experience. With this in mind, this website was born to provide a platform for educators to publish their open educational resources to help our students and all engineering students around the world in their pursuit of knowledge. The website is arranged in books. Each book presents a set of open educational resources designed for a particular engineering course. The resources could include text, videos, interactive examples, or downloadable content such as code snippets.

A collection of learning modules in engineering computations for undergraduate studies, using Python and Jupyter Notebooks.

Engineering Statics is a free, open-source textbook appropriate for anyone who wishes to learn more about vectors, forces, moments, static equilibrium, and the properties of shapes. Specifically, it has been written to be the textbook for Engineering Mechanics: Statics, the first course in the Engineering Mechanics series offered in most university-level engineering programs.

814 peer-reviewed Open Access books covering various subfields of Engineering.

ntroduction to Biosystems Engineering can be used as a customizable text for university-level introductory courses in Biosystems Engineering. Written by an international team of authors, the book is divided into six sections aligned with technical communities within Biosystems Engineering: Energy Systems; Information Technology, Sensors, and Control Systems; Machinery Systems; Natural Resources and Environmental Systems; Plant, Animal, and Facility Systems; and Processing Systems. Within the sections, individual chapters focus on discrete topics that can be covered in one week of class. Each chapter contains the expected learning outcomes, key concepts, applications of the concepts, and worked examples.

LearnChemE features chemical engineering education resources prepared by faculty for use by students and instructors. The resources were produced by the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the University of Colorado Boulder (CU) and funded by the National Science Foundation.

Open access textbooks covering various topics in Engineering. The LibreTexts libraries are supported by the Department of Education Open Textbook Pilot Project, the UC Davis Office of the Provost, the UC Davis Library, the California State University Affordable Learning Solutions Program, and Merlot.

Thousands of discipline-specific educational materials and modules, provided by the California State University's Center for Distributed Learning.

Thousands of discipline-specific educational materials and modules, provided by the California State University's Center for Distributed Learning.

nanoHUB.org is the premier open and free platform for computational research, education, and collaboration in nanotechnology, materials science, and related fields. The site hosts a rapidly growing collection of simulation tools that run in the cloud and are accessible through a web browser. In addition, nanoHUB provides online presentations, nanoHUB-U short courses, animations, teaching materials, and more.

A database of case studies covering a wide variety of scientific topics that can be used for pedagogical enhancement and enrichment. Cases are free, but access to answer keys and teaching notes requires an annual paid subscription fee. Use the Browse function to look for your field of interest.

Established in 1998 by the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21), the National Transportation Library (NTL) provides national and international access to transportation information; it coordinates information creation and dissemination; and it offers reference services for the transportation community.

A partnership of the University Library and Health Information Technology and Services, this site hosts Open Educational Resources produced by the University of Michigan.

Open access textbooks covering various topics in Computer Science and Information Technology. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network of the University of Minnesota.

Open access textbooks covering various topics in Engineering. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network of the University of Minnesota.

Compiled by the Engineering Library Division of the American Society for Engineering Education, this is a large list of Open Resources available in various engineering fields.

OpenWetWare is an effort to promote the sharing of information, know-how, and wisdom among researchers and groups who are working in biology & biological engineering.

Simulation Modeling and Arena, by Dr. Manuel Rossetti, is an introductory textbook for a first course in discrete-event simulation modeling and analysis for upper-level undergraduate students as well as entering graduate students. The text is focused on engineering students (primarily industrial engineering); however, the text is also appropriate for advanced business majors, computer science majors, and other disciplines where simulation is practiced. Practitioners interested in learning simulation and Arena could also use this book independently of a course.

Structural Analysis by Felix Udeyo is intended to teach students the methods and techniques for the analysis of structures. A sound knowledge of structures is a prerequisite for their proper design and ensures the structural integrity of civil engineering infrastructural systems. This textbook is designed for upper-level undergraduates studying civil engineering, construction engineering and management, and architecture.

The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.

Written by Howard DeVoe, Associate Professor Emeritus, University of Maryland, this free ebook in PDF format is a revised and enlarged version of the first edition that was published in hard-cover format in 2001 by Prentice Hall. Thermodynamics and Chemistry is designed as a textbook for a one-semester course in classical chemical thermodynamics at the graduate or undergraduate level, and can also serve as a supplementary text and thermodynamics reference source.

Free open content textbooks available under a CC-BY SA 3.0 license.

Free open content textbooks available under a CC-BY SA 3.0 license.

This site groups open textbooks by course title. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.

AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout.

51 peer-reviewed Open Access books on various topics in Mathematics

Learning Statistics with R covers the contents of an introductory statistics class, as typically taught to undergraduate psychology students, focusing on the use of the R statistical software. The book discusses how to get started in R as well as giving an introduction to data manipulation and writing scripts. From a statistical perspective, the book discusses descriptive statistics and graphing first, followed by chapters on probability theory, sampling and estimation, and null hypothesis testing. After introducing the theory, the book covers the analysis of contingency tables, t-tests, ANOVAs and regression. Bayesian statistics are covered at the end of the book.

Open access textbooks covering various topics in Mathematics. The LibreTexts libraries are supported by the Department of Education Open Textbook Pilot Project, the UC Davis Office of the Provost, the UC Davis Library, the California State University Affordable Learning Solutions Program, and Merlot.

Open access textbooks covering various topics in Statistics. The LibreTexts libraries are supported by the Department of Education Open Textbook Pilot Project, the UC Davis Office of the Provost, the UC Davis Library, the California State University Affordable Learning Solutions Program, and Merlot.

The MIT Mathlets constitute a suite of carefully designed and highly interactive Javascript applets designed to enhance selected university level STEM classes. They were initially developed under a generous grant from the d'Arbeloff Fund for Excellence in Education. Subsequent support came from the MIT Office of Digital Learning.

A database of case studies covering a wide variety of scientific topics that can be used for pedagogical enhancement and enrichment. Cases are free, but access to answer keys and teaching notes requires an annual paid subscription fee. Use the Browse function to look for your field of interest.

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open educational content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records. The list includes textbooks as well as interactive content. OASIS is maintained by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.

A partnership of the University Library and Health Information Technology and Services, this site hosts Open Educational Resources produced by the University of Michigan.

A partnership of the University Library and Health Information Technology and Services, this site hosts Open Educational Resources produced by the University of Michigan.

Open access textbooks covering various topics in Mathematics. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network of the University of Minnesota.

Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.

SageMath is a free open-source mathematics software system licensed under the GPL. It builds on top of many existing open-source packages: NumPy, SciPy, matplotlib, Sympy, Maxima, GAP, FLINT, R and many more. Access their combined power through a common, Python-based language or directly via interfaces or wrappers.

Open access textbooks from Grand Valley State University.

The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.

Free open content textbooks available under a CC-BY SA 3.0 license.

Open access textbooks covering various topics in Physics. The LibreTexts libraries are supported by the Department of Education Open Textbook Pilot Project, the UC Davis Office of the Provost, the UC Davis Library, the California State University Affordable Learning Solutions Program, and Merlot.

The Open Textbook Library is part of the University of Minnesota and is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves. Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism, and Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics. This textbook emphasizes connections between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigor inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.

College Physics meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts. It requires knowledge of algebra and some trigonometry, but not calculus. College Physics includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities for traditional physics application problems.

Astronomy is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of one- or two-semester introductory astronomy courses. The book begins with relevant scientific fundamentals and progresses through an exploration of the solar system, stars, galaxies, and cosmology. The Astronomy textbook builds student understanding through the use of relevant analogies, clear and non-technical explanations, and rich illustrations. Mathematics is included in a flexible manner to meet the needs of individual instructors.

This textbook emphasizes connections between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigour inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.

College Physics is organized such that topics are introduced conceptually with a steady progression to precise definitions and analytical applications. The analytical aspect (problem solving) is tied back to the conceptual before moving on to another topic. Each introductory chapter, for example, opens with an engaging photograph relevant to the subject of the chapter and interesting applications that are easy for most students to visualize.

Stellarium is a free open source planetarium for your computer. It shows a realistic sky in 3D, just like what you see with the naked eye, binoculars or a telescope.