Art History S3010 - Evaluating the Evidence of Authenticity: Biographical Information
Biographical Information
Subscription Resources
-
Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon = Artists of the world. This link opens in a new windowDatabase contains biographical information on more than 1 million artists. Incorporates the print publications: Thieme-Becker/Vollmer Gesamtregister, the Nürnberger Künstlerlexikon and the Lexikon der Künstlerinnen.
-
AncestryLibrary.com This link opens in a new windowWide-ranging collections of information for conducting genealogical and local history research. Includes: digitized images of the United States Federal Census from 1790 forward; the American Genealogical Biographical Index; Passenger and Immigration Lists Index; United Kingdom and United States Directories 1680-1830; court, land, and probate records; and many other resources.
-
Dictionary of artists / Benezit. This link opens in a new window(A choice within Oxford Art Online) First English-language edition of the classic work of reference. Incomparable source of art-historical information. Revised and expanded for a wider audience. Over 170,000 entries. Includes artist's signatures.
-
Oxford dictionary of national biography This link opens in a new windowThe first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the 4th century B.C. to the year 2002. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the DNB's articles are confined to people who died in or before 2002.
Non-Subscription Resources
- Getty Union List of Artist Names Online
"The Union List of Artist Names ® (ULAN), the Art & Architecture Thesaurus ® (AAT), the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ® (TGN). the Cultural Objects Name Authority ® (CONA), and the Iconography Authority (IA) are structured resources that can be used to improve access to information about art, architecture, and material culture. Through rich metadata and links, it is hoped that the Getty vocabularies will provide a powerful conduit for research and discovery for digital art history and related disciplines."
- Library of Congress Name Authority File
"The Library of Congress Name Authority File (NAF) file provides authoritative data for names of persons, organizations, events, places, and titles. Its purpose is the identification of these entities and, through the use of such controlled vocabulary, to provide uniform access to bibliographic resources."
- VIAF: The Virtual International Authority File
"The VIAF® (Virtual International Authority File) combines multiple name authority files into a single OCLC-hosted name authority service. The goal of the service is to lower the cost and increase the utility of library authority files by matching and linking widely-used authority files and making that information available on the Web."