Cultural Anthropology: Getting Started

This guide provides resources for your cultural anthropological research

Getting Materials

If we don't have a resource you need:

 

 

How to Find

Use CLIOthe libraries' primary search interface to find: books, databases, journals, newspapers, and DVDs. For guidance about finding scholarly articles go to the "Find Articles" tab.

For Anthropology students, one way to find books is to consult Reviews in Anthropology, the only anthropological journal devoted to lengthy, in-depth review commentary on recently published books.

Other Catalogs that may be helpful:

  • EDUCAT the online catalog of the Milbank Memorial Library of Teachers College. Contains records for all materials cataloged since 1975, except current periodicals; selected educational materials published between 1900-1960; the Adelaide Nutting History of Nursing Collection; the American Curriculum Collection; the David Eugene Smith Collection in Mathematics Education.
  • Pegasus : catalog of the Arthur W. Diamond Law Library. the online catalog of the Arthur W. Diamond Law Library of the Columbia University School of Law. Contains U.S. federal and state law, selected commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections (e.g., the legal literature of Germany, France, Italy and Argentina) and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Republic of China.
  • WorldCat. Contains over 48 million records, covering all materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world.

Research Support

Don't Forget

As a Columbia University student you have access to several magazines and newspapers:

Librarian

Library