Research Guides: Social Movements & Citizenship in Africa (REGN U6410): Home

General Reference

Africa contemporary record: annual survey and documents. (London: Africana Publishing, 1968/69-2002)

Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London : Europa, 1971-)

See also: Europa world plus (described below)

Africa yearbook online. (Leiden: Brill, 2004-)

The African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights: the system in practice, 1986-2000. 2nd edition. E-book. Edited by Malcolm Evans and Rachel Murray. (Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2008)

African disability rights yearbook, 2013--. Online. [Pretoria, South Africa] : Pretoria University Law Press (PULP).

The African Union and its institutions. Edited by John Akokpari, Angela Ndinga-Muvumba and Tim Murithi. (Auckland Park, South Africa : Fanele ; [Cape Town] : Centre for Conflict Resolution, 2008).
See also: E-book

L'Afrique des Grands Lacs Annual. (Paris: L'Harmattan, 1997--)

Area Handbook series [historical]. Prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the US Dept. of the Army. (Washington)

For the handbook of a country, search in CLIO: use country name and "area handbook".
For available online handbooks on Africa, see section on US Dept. of the Army in "US Organizations on Africa," compiled by Columbia University Libraries.

Compendium of elections in southern Africa. Ed. by Tom Lodge [et al.]. (Johannesburg, South Africa: Electoral Institute of Southern Africa, 2002).

Elections in Africa: a data handbook. Edited by Dieter Nohlen, Michael Krennerich, Bernhard Thibaut. (New York : Oxford University Press, 1999)
See also: E-book

Europa world plus. -- New York, NY : Routledge ; Taylor & Francis Group, 2007-
Detailed economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles, with directories of civil society groups, media, statistics, and bibliographic references.

Select "Africa South of the Sahara" or "Middle East and North Africa"

Governance in the Middle East and North Africa : a handbook. Edited by Abbas Kadhim. (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2013)

Handbook of African philosophy of difference. E-book. Edited by Elvis Imafidon. (Cham : Springer International Publishing : Imprint: Springer, 2020)

The handbook of civil society in Africa. Edited by Ebenezer Obadare. (New York : Springer, [2014]) E-book

Handbook of political science research on Sub-Saharan Africa: trends from the 1960s to the 1990s. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1992).

Handbook of political science research on the Middle East and North Africa. Ed. by Bernard Reich. (Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1998)

Historical Dictionary series. Scarecrow Press (Lanham, MD)
Most recent editions are in Lehman Library Reference, near "Global Studies". For a dictionary of one country, search in CLIO: use [name of country] and "historical dictionary"--as "All Fields".

Historical dictionary of civil wars in Africa. 2nd ed. (2008)
Historical dictionary of international organizations in Sub-Saharan Africa. 2nd ed. (2002)
Historical dictionary of women in Sub-Saharan Africa. 2nd ed. (2016)
--See also: E-book

Human rights in Africa : contemporary debates and struggles. Edited by Eunice N. Sahle. (New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, [2019])
--See also: E-book

Human rights law in Africa. 2 vols. Edited by Christof Heyns, Morne Vander Linde. (The Netherlands: Martinus Nijhoff, 2004)
See also: E-book (via HeinOnline)

Human rights manual and sourcebook for Africa. Compiled by Keir Starmer and Theodora A. Christou; edited by Kate Beattie...[et al.] (London: British Institute of International and Comparative Law, c2005).

The Middle East and North Africa. Annual. (London: Europa, 1995-)
See also: Europa world plus

New encyclopedia of Africa, 5 v. Editor in chief, John Middleton; editor, Joseph C. Miller. (Detroit: Thomson/Gale, c2008).
See also: E-book (via Gale Virtual Reference)

Okupa, Effa. International bibliography of African customary law . (Hamburg: LIT Verlag, 1998)

The Oxford encyclopedia of African thought. Editors in chief, F. Abiola Irele and Biodun Jeyifo.
2 vols. (New York : Oxford University Press, 2010).

The Oxford handbook of the sociology of Africa. E-book. Edited by R. Sooryamoorthy and Nene Ernest Khalema. New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2023]

The Palgrave handbook of African politics, governance and development. Edited by Samuel Ojo Oloruntoba and Toyin Falola. New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, [2017]
--See also: E-book

The Palgrave handbook of African women's studies. E-book. Edited by Olajumoke Yacob-Haliso and Toyin Falola. Cham : Springer International Publishing : Imprint: Palgrave Macmillan, 2021.

The Routledge handbook of democratization in Africa. Edited by Gabrielle Lynch and Peter Von Doepp. EBSCO E-book (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2020)
--See also: Taylor & Francis E-book

The Routledge handbook of Francophone Africa. Edited by Tony Chafer and Margaret A. Majumdar. (London : Routledge, 2023)
--See also: E-book

The Routledge handbook of public policy in Africa. E-book. Edited by Gedion Onyango. (New York : Routledge, 2022)
--See also: 2nd E-book

A political and economic dictionary of Africa. Compiled by David Seddon, with Daniel Seddon-Daines. (London: Routledge, 2005).

Political parties of Africa & the Middle East. Ed. by R. East and T. Joseph. (Harlow, England: Longman; Detroit, MI: Gale Research, distributor, 1993).

The Routledge handbook of African law. E-book. Edited by Muna Ndulo and Cosmas Emeziem. (London ; New York : Routledge, 2022)

Routledge handbook of African politics. E-book. Edited by Nic Cheeseman, David M. Anderson, and Andrea Scheibler. (New York : Routledge, 2013)

Routledge handbook of democratization in Africa. E-book. Edited by Gabrielle Lynch and Peter VonDoepp. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2020.

Routledge handbook on the modern Maghrib. Edited by George Joffé. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2024.
--See also: E-book

World Bibliographical Series CLIO Press (Oxford ; Santa Barbara, Calif.)
--For a country in the series, search in CLIO: use [name of country] and "world bibliographical"--as "All Fields".

Yearbook on the African Union, 2020--. E-book. (Leiden, The Netherlands: Brill, 2022-- )