War, Peace, and International Interventions in Africa (POLS UN3604): Home

General Reference

  • Africa confidential who's who of Southern Africa. Ed. by Patrick Smith. Oxford; Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1998.

  • Africa contemporary record. Annual. (London: Africana Publishing, 1968/69-2002)

  • Africa south of the Sahara. Annual. (London : Europa, 1971-) Print

  • L'Afrique des Grands Lacs Annual. (Paris: L'Harmattan, 1997--)

  • Area Handbook series. Prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the US Dept. of the Army. (Washington)

  • Delancey, Mark W. [et al.]. African international relations: an annotated bibliography. 2nd ed. (Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1997)

  • Europa world plus. -- New York, NY : Routledge ; Taylor & Francis Group, 2007-
    • Select "Africa South of the Sahara" or "Middle East and North Africa"

  • Fredland, Richard. A guide to African international organizations. (London : Hans Zell, 1990)

  • Hale, Terrel D. United States sanctions and South Africa : a selected legal bibliography. (New York : Greenwood Press, 1993)

  • Handbook of Africa's international relations  Editor, Tim Murithi. (Oxfordshire, England; New York: Routledge, c2014).
    -- See also: E-book (via ProQuest)

  • Historical Dictionary series. Scarecrow Press or Rowman & Littlefield. (Lanham, MD)
    Most recent editions are in Lehman Library Reference, near "Global Studies". For a dictionary of one country, search in CLIO: use [name of country] and "historical dictionary"--as "All Fields".

  • Okupa, Effa. International bibliography of African customary law . (Hamburg: LIT Verlag, 1998)

  • Omitoogun, Wuyi. Military expenditure data in Africa: a survey of Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria and Uganda. SIPRI research report; no. 17. (Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003)

  • The Oxford handbook of the responsibility to protect. E-book. Edited by Alex J. Bellamy and Tim Dunne. (Oxford, United Kingdom : Oxford University Press, 2016)
    --See also: Print copy in Law

  • The Palgrave handbook of African politics, governance and development. Edited by Samuel Ojo Oloruntoba and Toyin Falola, (New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, c2018)
    --See also: E-Book

  • The Palgrave handbook of peacebuilding in Africa. Edited by Tony Karbo, Kudrat Virk. (Cham, Switzerland : Palgrave Macmillan, Centre for Conflict Resolution, [2018])
    --See also: E-Book

  • Routledge handbook of African politics. Edited by Nic Cheeseman, David M. Anderson, and Andrea Scheibler. (New York, NY : Routledge, 2013)
    --See also: E-Book

  • The Routledge handbook of the responsibility to protect. Edited by W. Andy Knight and Frazer Egerton. (New York : Routledge, 2012)
    --See also: E-book

  • Schoeman, Elna. South Africa's foreign relations in transition, 1985-1991: a select and annotated bibliography. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1992)

  • Searching for peace in Africa : an overview of conflict prevention and management activities. Ed. by Monique Mekenkamp, Paul van Tongeren, and Hans van de Veen. (Utrecht : European Platform for Conflict Prevention and Transformation, 1999)

  • Siler, Michael J. Strategic security issues in Sub-Saharan Africa: a comprehensive annotated bibliography. (Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2004)

  • Souto, Améia Neves de and António Sopa. Samora Machel: bibliográfia (1970-1986). (Maputo : Centro de Estudos Africanos, Universidade Eduardo Mondlane, 1996)

  • Strachan, Beth. Angola, the struggle for power : the political, social and economic context, 1980-1993 : a select and annotated bibliography.(Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1994)

  • Strachan, Beth. Mozambique, the quest for peace : the political, social and economic context, 1980-1994 : a select and annotated bibliography. (Johannesburg : South African Institute of International Affairs, 1996)

  • Treaties and alliances of the world. 7th ed. Ed. by Peter Calvert et al. (Farmington Hills, Mich.: Gale Group, 2002)

  • Tvedt, Terje. The Nile : an annotated bibliography. (London ; New York : I.B. Tauris, 2004)

  • Tvedt, Terje [et al.] Southern Sudan : an annotated bibliography. 2nd ed. (London ; New York : I.B. Tauris, 2004)

  • United States. Central Intelligence Agency. Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of African Governments. (Washington, DC : The Agency, 2001--)

  • World Bibliographical Series CLIO Press (Oxford ; Santa Barbara, Calif.)
    For a country in the series, search in CLIO: use [name of country] and "world bibliographical"--as "All Fields".

    • Library Catalogs

  • CLIO
    (All CU libraries EXCEPT Law Library & Teachers College)

  • Pegasus (Law Library)
  • Educat (Teachers College)
  • More Catalogs
  • WorldCat

    • Index Databases

    Maps

  • Columbia University
  • Griffiths, Ieuan Ll. Atlas of African affairs. (New York : Routledge, 1994)

  • Mapping specialists, Inc. Africa on file.
    2 vols. (New York : Facts on File, 1995)

  • University of Texas at Austin, Perry Castañeda Library: Maps of Africa

    • African Studies Librarian

    Global Studies Library

    African Studies Librarian

    Contact: Yuusuf S. Caruso, Ph.D.
    E-mail: caruso@columbia.edu
    Phone: 212-854-8045
    Office: Global Studies, 309 Lehman Library, 420 West 118th Street, New York, NY 10027

    Citation Management

  • The Chicago manual of style. 17th ed. E-book. (Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, [2017])

  • Columbia University: Citation Management Software (EndNote & Zotero)

  • Columbia Guide to Online Style. (2006) E-book.

  • Guide to Citing Government Documents

  • Hacker, Diana. The Bedford handbook.
    5th ed. Boston : Bedford Books, c1998.
    --See also: 6th ed.
    • Last Updated: Jan 12, 2023 5:13 PM
    • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/POLS-UN3604-001
    • Print Page
    Columbia University Libraries
    535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
    Phone
    212-854-7309
    Contact Us
    lio@columbia.edu
    Follow Us