African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (Banjul, The Gambia)
Includes an archive of documentation: reports and final communiques since 1987.
African International Courts and Tribunals (Duke University, Durham, North Carolina; New York University, New York)
Afrobarometer--Data and Publications (Institute for Democracy in South Africa, Cape Town; Ghana Centre for Democratic Development, Accra; and Michigan State University, Dept. of Political Science, East Lansing, Michigan)
Includes: sample surveys and selected abstracts from final reports, covering: Ghana, Uganda, Zambia, Nigeria, Botswana, Lesotho, and Zimbabwe.
Bonn International Center for Conversion--Publications (Bonn, Germany)
The Carter Center (Atlanta, Georgia)
Centre for Conflict Resolution, Cape Town, South Africa
The site offers general information about the research projects, other activities, and publications of the centre.
Center for Strategic & International Studies--Africa Program (Washington, DC)
--See especially: Governance and Elections
The Commonwealth Election Reports The Commonwealth iLibrary (London, UK)
--NOTE: Reports can be read online for free, but full text download requires a subscription.
Conciliation Resources (London, UK)
- "[Founded in 1994, with offices in London and Sierra Leone] ...provides practical and sustained assistance to people and groups in areas of armed conflict or potential violence. We specifically work with those working at community or national levels to prevent violence or transform conflict into opportunities for development."
- Accord: an international review of peace initiatives. (Online) -- London, UK: Conciliation Resources, 1997-- HTML format (Each issue offers analyses on conflicts and peace processes in a single country.)
- Learning Hub -- All publications, search by country or topic
- East and Central Africa
- Horn of Africa
- West Africa
Constitutions on the Internet
Data Africa (HarvestChoice, IFPRI-International Food Policy Research Institute, Washington, DC. ; University of Minnesota, Minneapolis)
'An open data platform designed to provide information on key themes, such as: agriculture, climate, poverty and child health.' Provides recent data on the following countries: Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Tanzania, Uganda, and, Zambia.
Documents of the African Commission on Human and People's Rights. 2 v. Ed. by Rachel Murray and Malcolm Evans. (Oxford : Hart, 2001)
EISA--Electoral Institute for Sustainable Democracy in Africa (Johannesburg, South Africa)
European Union--External Action: Election Observation Missions (Brussels, Belgium)
Gorée Institute (Gorée, Sénégal)
GRIP--Groupe de Recherche et d'Information sur la Paix et la Sécurité: Africa (Brussels, Belgium)
Full-length reports in French on the Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Central African Republic, and Darfur; plus analytical notes on Central African security issues.
Households in Conflict Network (University of Sussex, Brighton, UK)
The site features research papers, links to data sets for country case studies, conference announcements, and related information. '
Human Rights Studies Online (Alexander Street Press)
A searchable database of documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide...including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects.
Impact (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)
Formerly Partnership Africa Canada: This website outlines the programs and posts related links to documents on Sierra Leone, Liberia, elsewhere in West Africa; Congo, Angola, Rwanda, elsewhere in Central and Southern Africa.
Institute for Peace and Security Studies, Addis Ababa University (Addis Ababa, Ethiopia)
Institute for Security Studies (Pretoria, South Africa)
IDMC--Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre in Sub-Saharan Africa -and- Middle East & North Africa Originally founded by the Norwegian Refugee Council (Geneva, Switzerland)
"...a premier institute for peace and security studies in Africa. Its mission is to promote peace and security in Ethiopia and Africa at large through education, research and professional development.."
--See especially: IPSS publications
Current news on refugees and humanitarian crises, a survey of the literature and projects on internal displacement, and country case study reports.
International Boundaries Research Unit, University of Durham, UK
Home page of the center, its programs, and its publications; also includes a searchable news database: International Boundary News Database (News briefs compiled from around the world since 1991).
International Center for Transitional Justice (New York, USA ; Geneva, Switzerland)
"[Since 2001] The Center is committed to building local capacity and generally strengthening the emerging field of transitional justice, and works closely with organizations and experts around the world to do so."
International Coalition for The Responsilbility to Protect (New York)
International Committee of the Red Cross (Geneva, Switzerland):
International Court of Justice (of the United Nations) (The Hague, The Netherlands)
"...ICRtoP was founded on 28 January 2009...brings together NGOs from all regions of the world to strengthen normative consensus for RtoP, further the understanding of the norm, push for strengthened capacities..."
See also: ICRtoP Publications
The website features an archive of recent and past court decisions and press releases.
International Criminal Court (The Hague, The Netherlands)
The website includes information on situations and cases, plus related information. "...The ICC is the first ever permanent international institution, with jurisdiction to prosecute individuals responsible for the most serious crimes of international concern : genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes."
International Crisis Group (Washington, DC ; Brussels, Belgium)
"The ICG is a private, multinational [policy research] organisation...grounded in field research ... and advocacy."
International Documentation Network on the Great African Lakes Region = Réseau documentaire international sur la région des Grands Lacs africains (via Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva, Switzerland)
IFES--International Foundation for Electoral Systems: Africa (Washington, DC)
- NOTE: For best results, select Categories and Keywords; do not try to use "Fulltext" search.. An archive of documents -- mostly in French and some in English-- from governments, local and international NGOs, scholars, and other individuals from the early 1990s to 2009.
--See also: Resources: publications, surveys, election FAQs
International IDEA--International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance: Africa (Stockholm, Sweden)
IPIS--International Peace Information Service (Antwerp, Belgium)
- Women's political participation: Africa barometer 2021. -- Stockholm, Sweden: International IDEA, c2021. 236 pages in PDF format.
- Emerging trends and challenges of electoral democracy in Africa. International IDEA policy dialogue, 25-27 May 2016, Abuja, Nigeria. (September 2016) -- Stockholm: International IDEA, 2016. 68 pages in PDF format
- Judicial review systems in West Africa: a comparative analysis. (July 2016) by Markus Böckenförde, Babacar Kante, Yuhniwo Ngenge, H. Kwasi Prempeh. -- Stockholm: International IDEA, 2016. 182 pages in PDF format
- All online IDEA publications
Reports mostly on the Democratic Republic of Congo--especially Katanga and Eastern DRC.
International Peace Institute. (New York and Vienna) Formerly International Peace Academy
"The IPI is an independent, non-partisan, international organization dedicated to promoting the peaceful settlement of armed conflicts between and within states."
International Rescue Committee (New York)
The website offers information about IRC activities, selected news reports on emergency situations and conflict zones, and an extensive library of resources--SEARCH for reports on individual countries or regions.
Inter-Parliamentary Union (Geneva, Switzerland)
Current and recent information on parliaments around the world, with news, event announcements and reports, web links, features on women, and databases.
Interpeace -- Publications (Geneva, Switzerland; Brussels Belgium; Guatemala City, Guatemala; Nairobi, Kenya; New York, USA)
This site features publications on peacebuilding efforts in Central America, Cyprus, Israel, Palestine, Timor-Leste, Burundi, Liberia, Rwanda, & the Somali region between 2006 and 2012
The Kenya National Dialogue and Reconciliation (2007-2010) (Nairobi)
As of early March 2015, this site was OFFLINE. It featured information about and reports from The Independent Review Commission on the General Elections -and- The Commission of Inquiry into Post-Election Violence, chaired by Mr. Justice Philip Waki, a judge of Kenya’s Court of Appeal.
Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre (Accra, Ghana)
-- Independent Review Commission Report on the General Elections held in Kenya on 27 December 2007 164 pages (plus annexes) in PDF format ; via ACE--The Electoral Knowledge Network, USA and Canada
-- Report of the Commission of Inquiry into Post-Election Violence (CIPEV), October 15, 2008 529 pages in PDF format; via South Consulting, Nairobi, Kenya
-- KNDR Monitoring Project Reports, 2009-2013
(South Consulting, Nairobi, Kenya)
-- The Kenya National Dialogue and Reconciliation: Building a Progressive Kenya--Background Note (December 2011)
By South Consulting, Nairobi, Kenya. 12 pages in PDF format
-- See especially, Research publications (since 2004).
Kujenga Amani (New York)
A digital forum of the African Peacebuilding Network (APN) of the Social Science Research Council (SSRC). This blog offers scholarly opinion and analytical essays on conflict and conflict resolution in Afirca.
Life & Peace Institute (Uppsala, Sweden)
Program information and downloadable reports and papers are available from the Institute, whose parent body is The Christian Council of Sweden; includes reports on the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, and Sudan.
--See especially: Horn of Africa bulletin. (Online) -- Uppsala, Sweden: Life & Peace Institute, 2007--
London School of Economics and Political Science: Crisis States Research Centre--Publications (London, UK)
Makerere University, Faculty of Law (Kampala, Uganda)
Minorities at Risk Project - Group Files: Tracking Ethnopolitical Conflict Worldwide (Center for International Development and Conflict Management, University of Maryland, College Park)
Selected country profiles and minority ethnic group reports. Access to some project data may require registration.
Open Society Initiative for West Africa (OSIWA) (Dakar, Senegal ; Abuja, Nigeria ; Monrovia, Liberia)
Search for Common Ground (Washington, DC, USA ; Brussels, Belgium)
Sierra Leone Truth & Reconciliation Report (2007) (Freetown, Sierra Leone)
Special Court for Sierra Leone -- Official Website (New York ; Freetown, Sierra Leone)
"The Special Court for Sierra Leone was set up jointly by the Government of Sierra Leone and the United Nations. It is mandated to try those who bear the greatest responsibility for serious violations of international humanitarian law and Sierra Leonean law committed in the territory of Sierra Leone since 30 November 1996."
Tufts University--Feinstein International Center: Publications (Medford, Massachusetts)
University of Edinburgh: Peace Agreements Database on Sub-Saharan Africa (Edinburgh, Scotland, UK) 614 agreements
--Search also By Country
University of Texas at Austin: Climate Change and African Political Stability -- Publications The Robert S. Strauss Center for International Security and Law (Austin, Texas)
"The Social Conflict in Africa Database (SCAD)...covers all countries in Africa with a population of over 1 million from 1990 until 2010...data [compiled mostly] from Associated Press (AP) and Agence France Presse (AFP) news wires."
West African Network for Peacebuilding (WANEP)--Publications (Accra, Ghana)
Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars--Africa Program (Washington, DC)
The World Bank: Worldwide Governance Indicators, 1996-2014 (Washington, DC)
Data on 215 countries and territories, with charts and tables for 6 major "governance indicators" recognized by the Bank.
World Health Organization -- Humanitarian Health Action (Geneva, Switzerland)
WHO documents and links to other sources on current health and humanitarian situations around the world.