University Writing CC1010: Medical Humanities
Databases
The Literature, Arts and Medicine Database (LitMed) is a collection of literature, fine art, visual art and performing art annotations created by faculty of the NYU School of Medicine as a resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others interested in medical humanities. "Medical humanities" as used here broadly includes an interdisciplinary field of humanities (literature, philosophy, ethics, history and religion), social science (anthropology, cultural studies, psychology, sociology), and the arts (literature, theater, film, multimedia and visual arts) and their application to healthcare education and practice.
- In response to the AIDS crisis : records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994Briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings document the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome from 1983-1994.
- History of science, technology, and medicine . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
History of science and technology and allied historical fields. Articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations in the history of science and technology and allied historical fields. It covers the contents of over 600 journals, and the partial contents of several hundred more.
Encyclopedias and Bibliographies
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
- Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
- Oxford Bibliographies: Search: Contemporary Philosophy of Medicine
- Search within this for Narrative Medicine, Health
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (Search Health and disease)
- Science, Religion, and Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Controversy
- Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
- Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures