Research Guides: Chemical Engineering Research Guide: Journal Articles

Librarian

Library

Finding Articles

In addition to Scopus and Web of Science, you can also explore the following databases:

Compendex (Engineering Village)
Engineering Village is the database interface providing access to Compendex, the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world.
EBSCOhost Research Databases
Interdisciplinary database, useful for broad subject searches in popular media as well as academic sources
Materials Research Society (MRS) Proceedings Library Archive
Over 70,000 articles by some of the most eminent materials scientists who have been associated with the society over the years, including numerous papers by Nobel laureates such as Stoddart, Goodenough, Feringa, Geim, Whittingham, and more.
Materials Research Database (ProQuest)
Provides information on thousands of publications covering various materials sciences subfields
ProQuest Central
Interdiscipinary database which includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines such as business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science, as well as news and general interest items.
Reaxys
Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.
ScienceDirect
Elsevier's database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
SciFinder-n
SciFinder provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Users may search more than 27 million citations to the chemistry literature by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number, and CAS abstract number.

PLEASE NOTE: SciFinder-n requires its own user account (i.e. logging in with your UNI is not sufficient); if you have not used it before, you can register for a new account at the link below. If you have an existing account via a different institution, you will likely be asked to create a new one to access SciFinder-n via Columbia's subscription.
[NEW USERS] Register for a SciFinder-n Account
SpringerLink
Provides access to thousands of science and technology titles published by Springer. This platform also gives access to Springer's journal titles.
More Chemistry databases in CLIO
More Engineering databases in CLIO

Browse Journals

You can search for research journals in CLIO by searching for a title or keyword and selecting 'E-Journal Titles' from the left sidebar. You can also select 'Subject' from the drop-down menu to the right of the search box. Here are some sample journal searches for various subjects of interest:

Can't find the article you need?

We have access to millions of articles, but sometimes the item you need is not readily available online. When that happens, you can try the following:

Search for the article title in Google Scholar (via its CLIO link)
Request a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan
Ask us about it (see below)

Contact a Science Librarian

Questions? Suggestions? Email ref-sci@columbia.edu