Campaigns & Elections: News and Commentary

This page shows resources for exploring different aspects of federal electoral campaigns and elections.

News and Commentary

In addition to the main newspapers with extensive coverage of politics and political campaigns (the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Wall Street Journal), here are other sources of news and commentary:

Atlantic Unbound: Politics
The emphasis at this site is on analysis; searchable full text articles from past issues on political issues.

Campaigns & Elections. Monthly.
Describes itself as: "a must-read for the political campaign industry, bringing readers inside the world of campaign strategy, tactics and management."
Washington, D.C., Campaigns & Elections Pub. Corp., 1984-
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK 1976 .C6

The Cook Political Report
The Cook Political Report "is an independent, non-partisan newsletter that analyzes elections and campaigns for the the US House of Representatives, US Senate, Governors and President as well as American political trends."   A distinctive analysis of the American political scene - with texts, maps and a variety of other colorful graphics that seek to put current elections into a broader historical context. Some material available only by subscription. 

CNN Politics - Turner Broadcasting's Cable News Network political coverage.

C-SPAN Online - C-SPAN is created by the American Cable Television Industry to provide access to the live "gavel-to-gavel" proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, and to other forums where public policy is discussed, debated and decided, "all without editing, commentary or analysis and with a balanced presentation of points of view." It also provides the audience, through the call-in program, direct access to elected officials, other decision makers and journalists on a frequent and open basis. 

Freedom Forum Online describes itself as "a nonpartisan foundation that champions the First Amendment as a cornerstone of democracy, and is the principal funder of the Newseum and Newseum Institute."

Fusion - a news and cable company started by Univision and Disney to appeal to younger English-speaking Latinos. They will be covering their first political campaign in the 2016 presidential election.

Money in Politics - Brennan Center for Justice at NYU School of Law
This project, from the Brennan Center at New York University School of Law, seeks to strike a balance between the need for candidates to raise sufficient funds, and other interest, such as ensuring that elected officials are not unduly influenced by donors.

Mother Jones is a “nonprofit news outlet that delivers bold and original award-winning reporting on the urgent issues of our day, from politics and climate change to education and the food we eat. We investigate stories that are in the public and the nation's interest.” Available by subscription or through Columbia’s paid ProQuest database.

National Journal. Weekly. 1981-
The magazine describes itself as the most influential publication in Washington, and says it “helps corporations, trade associations, non-profits, and advocacy groups impact the conversation in Washington and connect with the foremost decision makers in policy and politics.” Available online or through Columbia Libraries Catalog here.

National Review. Weekly. 1955-
The website of the magazine includes selected material from the current issue, including full text of the lead article and columns, plus info exclusive to the web site. Available online or through Columbia Libraries Catalog here.

The New Republic. Weekly. 1948- .
Self-described as “providing context and analysis beyond the daily headlines,” available online and by subscription or through Columbia Libraries Catalog here.

The Patriot Post: the Conservative Journal of Record
Endorsed by conservative Senator Rand Paul, the Patriot Post describes its mission as: "advocating individual rights and responsibilities, the restoration of constitutional limits on government and the judiciary, and the promotion of free enterprise, national defense and traditional American values. Requires a free subscription to access the full text."

The Pew Research Center is a private foundation that studies issues relating to U.S. politics and publishes reports.

Politico - This website, started in 2009, bills itself as " tough, fair and fun coverage of politics and government."

Roll Call Online - Web version of the CQ-published "newspaper of Capitol Hill", including News, Opinion, Politics, Vested Interests, Around the Hill, Congressional Clearinghouse, and Special Features. Available online or through the Columbia Libraries catalog here.

Slate - Slate is a daily magazine on the Web. Founded in 1996, it is a general-interest publication offering analysis and commentary about politics, news, business, technology, and culture. Slate is owned by The Washington Post Company.

Edited

Page edited and updated by Julia Robbins, September 2015.