Research Guides: Nonprofit Organizations: Home

Research Support & Collection Development Librarian

Nonprofit Professional Organizations

Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action (ARNOVA)
Founded in 1971 as the Association of Voluntary Action Scholars, ARNOVA is a neutral, open forum committed to strengthening the research about and helping shape better practice in these realms. We bring together both theoretical and applied interests, helping scholars gain insight into the day-to-day concerns of third-sector organizations, while providing nonprofit professionals with connections to research they can use to improve the work of their organizations and the quality of life for citizens and communities. [from ARNOVA website]
Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP)
The Association of Fundraising Professionals empowers individuals and organizations to practice ethical fundraising through professional education, networking, research and advocacy. [from AFP mission statement]
International Society for Third Sector Research (ISTR)
Founded in 1992, the International Society for Third-Sector Research promotes the study of civil society, philanthropy and the nonprofit sector. ISTR brings together scholars, researchers and practitioners from many backgrounds in a wide variety of disciplines from over 80 countries around the world. [from ISTR website]
Philanthropy New York
Since 1979, Philanthropy New York has worked to enhance the ability of philanthropic organizations and individual donors in the New York region to serve the public good. Our membership comprises 280+ grantmaking organizations — the world’s leading private, corporate, family and public foundations. Collectively, they provide $6 billion in annual support to thousands of nonprofits and NGOs located in New York, the U.S. and around the world. [from website]

Directories

Q180.A1 A5 (Reference, Butler Library)

Provides descriptions of over 3,200 organizations in 12 categories ranging from the humanities to technology and industry.

Associations Unlimited

The Encyclopedia of Associations contains over 120,000 entries for regional, national, and international nonprofit organizations. The Encyclopedia provides directory (e.g., phone, address) and descriptive (e.g., organization profile, conference schedule) information. The database also provides links to each organization's home page.

Corporate Giving Directory

HV97.A3 T29 (Reference, Watson Library)

Corporate Giving Directory is a leading source of information on corporate philanthropy. Fundraisers and other nonprofit executives seeking a share of corporate funding depend on CGE as a primary tool in finding and securing charitable support for their nonprofit organizations. This unique, single-volume source provides detailed descriptive profiles of over 1,000 of the top corporate charitable giving programs in the United States.

Foundation Directory Database

Database of U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant making public charities, plus a growing number of non-U.S. grant makers; a database of sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.