Campaigns & Elections: Campaigns

This page shows resources for exploring different aspects of federal electoral campaigns and elections.

Campaigns

  • Campaigns and elections American style, edited by James A. Thurber and Candice J. Nelson.
    Fourth edition.
    Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, a member of the Perseus Book Club, [2014]
    Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK2281 .C353 2014

     
  • Campaign Speeches of American Presidential Candidates.
    New York: Ungar 
    1928-1972; c1976. Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. E 743 .C235
    1948-1984; c1985. Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. E 743 .
    C236 1985

     
  • Cohen, Michael A.
    Live from the campaign trail : the greatest presidential campaign speeches of the twentieth century and how they shaped modern America 
    New York: Walker & Co.(2008).
    Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. E743 .C57 2008
  • Cook, Rhodes
    Race for the Presidency: Winning the 2000 Nomination. 
    Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, c2000
    Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No.  JK526 2000g
    This collection also includes geographic boundary files so users can easily draw maps with these data. 
  • ​​Dittmar, Kelly
    Navigating gendered terrain : stereotypes and strategy in political campaigns
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: Temple University Press, 2015.
    Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK2281 .D57 2015
  • Library of Congress Web Archives – U.S. Elections 2000-2010
    The LOC United States Election Web Archive contents vary from year to year.  The 2010 Web Archive is a selective collection of approximately 1,250 sites produced by congressional and gubernatorial candidates whose names appeared on ballots for the November 2, 2010 midterm election, archived between July 2010 and December 2010. Candidate campaign websites for 2010 featured links to (and from) social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, LinkedIn and others – the Library’s web archive for Election 2010 typically includes such social media channels in the scope for each website’s archiving in order to provide a fuller representation of how candidates presented themselves via the Internet to the electorate.

    In previous United States Election web archive collections the LOC included websites of political parties, government, advocacy groups, bloggers, and other individuals and groups expressing relevant views – these types of websites are now collected and presented separately in the ongoing Web Archives (search for Public Policy).

  • The Elections of 2008.
    Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, c2009.

    Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK 1968 2008 .E54 2009
  • The Elections of 2000: Politics, culture and economics in North America, edited by Mary K. Kirtz ... [et al.]
    Akron, OH: University of Akron Press, 2006.
    Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No.
    JJ1018 .E44 2006

For specific campaigns, see news coverage in these

Edited

Page edited and updated by Kristina Williams, November 2017.