• Almanac of American Politics. Annual. 1974-
Washington, D.C.: National Journal Inc.
Link or Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK 271 .A43
Particularly useful for the state-by-state, district-by-district analysis and commentary.
• The Campaign Legal Center is “a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that defends and protects our democracy in the areas of campaign finance, voting rights, political communication and government ethics.”
CQ.com is a comprehensive legislative information system, provided by Congressional Quarterly.
Provides access to full text of: Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report. 1969-
Link or Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK 1 .C15 - Lehman
• CQ Voting and Elections Collection
Integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America. From the American voter, to major and minor political parties, to actual races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships, the collection provides context-driven intelligence on the state of elections in America. Chronological coverage varies by office. Presidential coverage begins 1789. Election data can be downloaded.
• Database of Election Reform Legislation
A sophisticated database which allow searching by state for election reform legislation by specific subtopics, 2011-present, from the National Conference of State Legislatures.
• FairVote: Center for Voting and Democracy
A non-profit non-partisan educational organization which says: "FairVote advances systemic electoral reform to achieve a fully participatory and truly representative democracy that respects every vote and every voice in every election. We work toward these goals by providing advocates with innovative research and reform strategy. We promote ranked choice voting ("instant runoff"), a constitutionally protected right to vote, a national popular vote for president, and, most fundamentally, fair representation voting forms of proportional representation."
Opensecrets.org, the web site for the Center for Responsive Politics, is a non-partisan, non-profit research group based in Washington, D.C. "tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy." The Center "aims to create a more educated voter, an involved citizenry and a more transparent and responsive government." The Center's databases (Politicians & Elections, Influence & Lobbying) are available for searching at its site.
• The Oxford Handbook of American Elections and Political Behavior (May 2010) offers coverage of the various theoretical approaches to the study of American elections and political behavior.
• Public Citizen
A national, nonprofit consumer advocacy organization created to represent consumer citizen interests in Congress, the executive branch and the courts.
Campaigning to the new American electorate: advertising to Latino voters
Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, c2010
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK2281 .A26 2010
White voters in 21st century America.
New York: Routledge, 2014
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK1967 .H38 2014
Thernstrom, Abigail M.
Voting rights - and wrongs: the elusive quest for racially fair elections.
Washington, D.C.: AEI Press; Blue Ridge Summit, PA, c2009
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK1924 .T47 2009
The African American Electorate: a Statistical History.
Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE/CQ Press, c2012.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK 1924 .W36 2012 – digitally
• American Presidential Campaigns and Elections. 3 vols.
Armonk, N.Y. : Sharpe Reference, c2003.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK 1965 .A57 2003
• Bott, Alexander J.
Handbook of United States Election Laws and Practices.
New York: Greenwood Press, c1990.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. KF 4749 .B625 1990 - Offsite
• The Concise Encyclopedia of Ethics in Politics and the Media.
San Diego: Academic Press, c2001.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. PN 4756 .C66 2001g
Contains chapters on Campaign Journalism and Election Strategies. Available digitally.
• Deskins, Donald Richard.
Presidential Elections, 1789-2008: County, State, and National Mapping of Election Data.
Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, c2010.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK524 .D47 2010
• Dubin, Michael J.
United States Congressional Elections, 1788-1997.
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c1998.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. R328.73 D85
Election data for each Congress, arranged alphabetically by state and congressional district, giving candidate's names, party affiliation, popular vote, and percentage of the vote. Each election ends with a statistical summary, notes, and a bibliography.
• Election administration in the United States : the state of reform after Bush v. Gore
New York: Cambridge University Press, 2014.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK1976 .E437 2014
• Encyclopedia of Interest Groups and Lobbyists in the United States. 2 vols.
Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, c2000.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK 1118 .N47 2000
• Encyclopedia of U.S. Campaigns, Elections, and Electoral Behavior.
Los Angeles: Sage, c2008.
Link and Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. R324.73 En2.
• Evans, Heather K.
Competitive elections and democracy in America: the good, the bad, and the ugly
New York; Routledge, 2014.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK1976 .E83 2014 - Lehman
• Guide to U.S. Elections. 6th ed. 2 vols.
Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2010.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK 1967 .C662 2010
• Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections, 1788-2004
Washington, D.C.; CQ Press, c2006
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. G1201.F9 H5 2006 – Lehman
• Johnson, Dennis W.
Campaigning in the Twenty-First Century: A Whole New Ballgame?
New York: Routledge, 2011
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK2281 .J623 2011
• Martin, Fenton S.
How to Research Elections.
Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, c2000.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. Z 7164 .R4 M37 2000
• Martis, Kenneth C.
The Historical Atlas of United States Congressional Districts, 1789-1983.
New York: Free Press; London: Collier Macmillan, c1982.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. G 1201.F9 M3 1982
• Rusk, Jerrold G.
A Statistical History of the American Electorate.
Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2001.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK 1967 .R87 2001
• U.S. Election Campaigns: a Documentary and Reference Guide.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: Greenwood, c2011.
Columbia Libraries Catalog Call No. JK 2281 .U34 2011
• U.S. Geological Survey, National Atlas of the United States of America. Presidential elections, 1789-2008.
U.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, c2009. Lehman Map Room (Non-circulating) .
Page edited and updated by Julia Robbins, September 2015.