Indian Music: Home
Guide to Indian music collections in Columbia University Libraries
India Music Week NYC
Introductory
This research guide was prepared in conjunction with India Music Week (October 6-13, 2013) to highlight resources available in Columbia University Libraries.
Reference Resources
Bharatiya sangeet: raga nidhi; encyclopedia of Indian ragas, a comparative study of Hindustani & Karnatak ragas by
Call Number: South Asian Studies Reading Room ML338 .S78Publication Date: 1956-[66]4 volumes.
- Bibliography of Asian studies . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Ann Arbor, MI: Association for Asian Studies, 1998- Search by combining subject and country/region facets; here is a sample search that combines a country/region facet ("India") with a keyword facet ("music"). Try others.
Companion to North Indian Classical Music by Call Number: Butler Stacks ML102.H56 C454 2004ISBN: 8121510902Publication Date: 2013-03-14
- Garland encyclopedia of world music online / [Advisory editors, Bruno Nettl and Ruth Stone ; founding editors, James Porter and Timothy Rice]. This link opens in a new windowAlexander Street Press. See especially Volume 5 South Asia: The Indian Subcontinent.
- International bibliography of theatre & dance . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs.
The Oxford Encyclopaedia of the Music of India by Call Number: Online and Music Reference ML102.H56 O94 2011gISBN: 0195650980Publication Date: 2011-03-04This 3-volume encyclopaedia consists of 5,000 entries, spanning musical genres from classical to film, and covering all forms of dance, across all regions of India.
Music Archives
- Mary Frances Dunham papers, 1964-2002The research files of Mary Frances Dunham relating to her study and recording of Bangladeshi and Bengali folk songs.
The reaserach files of Mary Frances Dunham include musical examples with notations, audio cassettes, notes, maps, charts, slides, photographs, and printed material.
South Asia Librarian
Global Studies
Columbia South/Southeast Asia Libraries Newsletter
View archived newsletters and subscribe for new issues at this link.