South Asian Epics: Home
Introductory guide to South Asian epic literature, including links to original texts and English translations
Jayalalitha as Draupadi, 1991 elections
Reference Resources
- ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS. This link opens in a new window"Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with the 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. ATLAS PLUS offers users access to a growing list of more than 450 full-text titles, including all of the full-text titles in ATLASerials (ATLAS), in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in 16 languages from more than 30 different countries"--EBSCO website.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism (5 Vols) by Call Number: Butler Reference Bookcase BL1105 .B75 2009ISBN: 9004180478Publication Date: 2009-09-25v. 1. Regions, pilgrimage, deities
v. 2. Sacred texts, ritual traditions, arts, concepts
v. 3. Society, religious specialists, religious traditions, philosophy
v. 4. Historical perspectives; poets, teachers, and saints; relation to other religions and traditions; Hinduism and contemporary issues
v. 5. Religious symbols; Hinduism and migration: contemporary communities outside South Asia; Some modern religious groups and teachers
v. 6. Index / associate editors: Helene Basu, Angelika Malinar, Vasudha Narayanan.
- Buddhism. Oxford Bibliographies
This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic essays by subject experts - Hinduism. Oxford Bibliographies
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic essays by subject experts. For discussion of why the terms "Hinduism" and "Hindu" can be so difficult to define see the entry Defining Hinduism by Laurie Patton - Hindu Rituals Examples
- This link opens in a new window
Playlist of video clips illustrating different types of Hindu rituals, from Alexander Street Anthropology - Indica et Buddhica Publishers : Materials for Indology and Buddhology.
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Scholiast (a bibliographic database for Asian and Buddhist Studies), Tabulae (journals with Buddhist Studies material), Lexica (definitions from two Sanskrit-Tibetan word lists and a Sanskrit-English dictionary), and Repositorium (materials for Indology and Buddhology). - Islamic Studies. Oxford Bibliographies
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic essays by subject experts
- World religion database: international religious demographic statistics and sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world's religions for the period 1900 to 2050. The WRD also contains a feedback mechanism so that users can leave comments on sources or methodology related to any figure reported in the WRD. In addition, the WRD will be constantly updated with new sources of data as they become available, such as estimates of religious affiliation at the province level within countries and religious freedom information for all countries. "
Mahabharata Translation Versions
These are just a few representative books. For many others, search CLIO.
Beginning the Mahabharata: a reader's guide to the frame stories by Call Number: Electronic bookISBN: 9780983447221Publication Date: 2011
Bhagavad Gītā : home study course : text in Sanskrit with transliteration, word-to-word and verse meaning, along with an elaborate commentary in English based on Śaṅkara-bhāṣyam by Call Number: Offsite BL1138.66 .D39 2012gISBN: 9380049390Publication Date: 20129 volumes
The Complete Mahabharata by Call Number: Offsite BL1138.25.M46 C66 2010gISBN: 9788129115843Publication Date: 2010
Mahabharata by Call Number: Butler shelvesISBN: 0810130599Publication Date: 2015-03-30David R. Slavitt's new edition condenses the epic for the general reader.
The Ramayana, and The Mahabharata by Call Number: BL1138.25 .D88 1910Publication Date: 1910For other editions, search CLIO
The Mahābhārata by Call Number: PK3633.A2 B8ISBN: 0226846482Publication Date: 1973-1978v. 1. The book of the beginning; v. 2. The book of the assembly hall. The book of the forest; v. 3. Book 4: The book of Virata. Book 5: The book of effort; v. 7. 11, The book of the women. 12, The book of peace, part one.
Ramayana Versions & Translations
These are just a few representative books. For many others, search CLIO.
The Ramayana : a shortened modern prose version of the Indian epic (suggested by the Tamil version of Kamban) by Call Number: PR9499.3.N3 R36 2006ISBN: 0143039679Publication Date: 2006Other editions also available
Ramayana : [King Rama's way] by Call Number: PS3552.U335 R3 1981ISBN: 0520043944Publication Date: 1981 [c1976]
The Ramayana of Valmiki Balakanda by Call Number: BL1139.22 .E54 1984ISBN: 0691065616Publication Date: 1984-7 volume set (ultimately). v. 1. Bālakāṇḍa; v. 2 Ayodhyākāṇṇda; v. 3. Araṇyakāṇḍa; v. 4. Kiṣkindhākāṇḍa; v. 5. Sundarakanda; v. 6. Yuddhakāṇḍa
The Forest Book of the Ramayana of Kampan by Call Number: PL4758.9.K27 R35213 1988ISBN: 0520060881Publication Date: 1988
Many Rāmāyaṇas : the diversity of a narrative tradition in South Asia by Call Number: PK2907.R25 M36 1991ISBN: 0520075897Publication Date: 1991
Questioning Ramayanas : a South Asian tradition by Call Number: PK2907.R25 Q83 2001ISBN: 0520220749Publication Date: 2001
Ramayana stories in modern South India : an anthology by Call Number: PL4608.55 .E5 2008ISBN: 0253219531Publication Date: 2008Also available as electronic book
Reading the Rāmayāṇa : a bibliographic guide for students and college teachers : Indian variants on the Rāma-theme in English translations by Call Number: Z7049.I3 S6 1983ISBN: 0915984873Publication Date: 1983- The Ramayan and other oral narratives of the Kunknas byCall Number: DS432.K57 V33 2012gPublication Date: 2012
Breaking the bow : speculative fiction inspired by the Ramayana by Call Number: Offsite PR9492.2 .B74 2012gISBN: 9381017042Publication Date: 2012
Librarian
Library
Columbia South/Southeast Asia Libraries Newsletter
View archived newsletters and subscribe for new issues at this link.